Big Break Myrtle Beach Returns?! Yes, We Have Details

The COVID-19 pandemic spiked live sports, forcing television networks to get creative in filling airtime. With holes in the programming lineup, executives at Golf Channel decided to revive one of the network’s most popular franchises – Big Break – to entertain viewers.

You know what that means – a Big Break Myrtle Beach marathon. On Monday, June 22, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m., Golf Channel will run all 11 episodes of Big Break Myrtle Beach, allowing fans to relive the fun.

Filmed primarily at Barefoot Resort, Big Break Myrtle Beach premiered in 2014 as a cast of 12 golfers competed for the $100,000 first prize and a PGA Tour/LPGA Tour tournament exemption. Highlighting the quality and diversity of Myrtle Beach’s offerings, it was the only season of Big Break filmed across multiple properties.

Three of Barefoot’s four courses – Fazio, Love and Dye – were the primary hosts, but in episode 6, the hit show headed south to film at Pawleys Plantation, where contestants were surrounded  by the beauty of the saltwater marsh that defines the course.

At the time of the production, several contestants were playing full time on the Symetra Tour and various mini tours throughout North America, while others turned professional solely to compete on Big Break Myrtle Beach. The players competed for a sponsor exemption to either the PGA TOUR’s Valspar Championship or the LPGA Tour’s Portland Classic and more than $100,000 in cash and prizes.

The finale featured an 18-hole championship match on the Fazio Course at Barefoot Resort & Golf between Jimmy Brandt and Toph Peterson. All square through the first nine, with Brandt winning three of the next five on the second nine to take a commanding lead. After Peterson failed to convert for par on 17, the match was conceded, with Brandt winning 3&1.

Members of the cast, as well as hosts Tom Abbott and Paige Mackenzie are scheduled to engage on Twitter throughout the day on Monday using #BigBreak.

The cast of Big Break Myrtle Beach include:

Jimmy Brandt (winner)

Katie Detlefsen

Katy Harris

Charlie Harrison

Christian Heavens

Dave Markle

Toph Peterson (runner-up)

Carolin Pinegger

Krista Puisite

Anthony Quezada

Tessa Teachman

Emily Tubert

Related Courses:

$188 early am
$190   am
$195   pm
$194 late pm
View Profile
$195 early am
$188   am
$195   pm
$195 late pm
View Profile
early am
late pm
View Profile
early am
$162 late pm
View Profile