Back to All Courses

Myrtle Beach National - King’s North Course

Myrtle Beach National - King’s North Course

Upon completion in 1995 King’s North at Myrtle Beach National immediately became one of the Grand Strand’s go to premium golfing options. 1-866-694-2448
4900 National Dr Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 9/5 based on 1127 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Upon completion of this course’s 1995 transformation from its original North Course roots, King’s North at Myrtle Beach National immediately became one of the Grand Strand’s “go to” premium golfing options.

Iconic holes abound in Arnold Palmer & Francis Duane’s redesign – including the island green, par-3 12 hole that pays homage to its home state with bunkers shaped like its initials; the par-4 18th hole, with 40-plus bunkers lining the route from tee to green; and the ever-popular par-5 6th hole, known to all who test it as “The Gambler.”
Featuring an island fairway option, the hole that pays homage Kenny Rogers’ hit song teases you with obvious “know when to hold ‘em … know when to fold ‘em” options. Take the long route, and “The Gambler” plays as a more conventional 3-shot hole that wraps from right to left around the water; or take the ultimate risk by hitting your driver long enough onto the island fairway to give you a shot at getting up in two – but with an expansive water hazard separating you from the story you’ll be sharing with your golf buddies for a lifetime.

Are you ready?

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Myrtle Beach National - King’s North Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Jason

8/2/17

King's North in great shape, always enjoy playing here with my group

Jong

06/16/2016

Love playing this course. Was a little disappointed with the greens. Several thin areas and a little bumpy. Usually the greens are in very good shape, but not on the day we played. Staff was very helpful. Really like the layout of the course. Will continue to play the course in the future. Just hope that greens will be in a little better shape.

W

06/07/2016

Was a wet day but what a great day at MBN Kings North. I'm a little partial having my 1st hole in one on #12. Best part was having my friend Paul witness the shot :) will return.

Paul

03/19/2016

Continues to be a favorite,staff was outstanding and course in great shape. Will continue to be a must play.

Tom

11/18/2015

Course was well maintained and cart path only because of the recent rain and watering from growing season. We may need to schedule in different time frame because of the age groups. Too much to walk for the older folks. :-) Loved the course but couldn't justify cost with so many courses here and needing to walk.

Sean

07/17/2015

It was great experience.

Jim

07/13/2015

Enjoyed the course very much. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach for over 30 years, and the greens at King's North today were the best I have ever seen in Myrtle Beach. The starter was extremely friendly. Started at 7:45 and finished in less than 4 hours. Carts were allowed on fairways. Bunkers were in excellent condition. In summary, I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

Phil

05/09/2015

For 3 course facility called MB National, I expect adequate bathrooms and a much better grill and pro shop.

Nick

05/04/2015

Great experience from parking the car to pulling out of the driveway. Staff was excellent, well organized and friendly. Huge clubhouse with plenty of merchandise. Course was fantastic...greens perfect, many memorable holes, i.e. The Gambler, island green. Top notch will be back for years to come.

Greg

12/07/2014

Great.

Tom

12/05/2014

Enjoy the layout and challenge of the course. The location is convenient when staying at the beach.

Gilbert

12/03/2014

Very good.

Bob

12/03/2014

Living in Myrtle Beach, I have played King's North several times this year. As always, the course is well manicured, although the greens were not as fast as expected...not that they were slow by any means. However, surprisingly, the cover of winter rye grass is not as good as would be expected at a premium course. A word of caution from a single digit handicapper....you will find more than a few forced carries over water, which can wear you out with the significant fairway irrigation required to keep winter rye grass healthy. So, give the tees you select to play from due consideration.

Rick

11/23/2014

We were playing a twosome and were trying to play quickly to beat the rain. Caught up to the threesome ahead by the sixth hole and had to wait on every hole. Missed the last three holes do to a storm. Never saw a ranger the whole time on the course.

Mike

11/23/2014

Very challenging but well maintained course.

Tom

11/15/2014

Very good.

Paul-Andre

11/13/2014

Loved the starter who gave us the opportunity to play alone (our twosome) with out being paired up to strangers, really appreciated that. The most beautiful course and clubhouse seen, within the 5 different clubs we visited in our trip to Myrtle Beach.

Stephen

11/11/2014

Wonderful experience. I highly recommend it.

Gary

11/08/2014

Very good.

Neil

11/06/2014

Nice course, good experience, again.

Bob

10/31/2014

Nice course.

Chris

10/28/2014

Had a great time at King's North. That's one tough course to play. I will be back. Thank you!

Tom

10/21/2014

Great course.

Ed

10/17/2014

Excellent.

Richard

10/16/2014

Pace of play too slow, too many golfers.

Michael

10/15/2014

Our favorite course to play...challenging..lots of water holes, tons of traps, hilly fairways, dog legs fun to play...I refer to it as a strategy course, where have to pick your landing spots...IF one can execute them!

Vince

10/11/2014

Good.

Reco

10/03/2014

Great course!

Robert

09/28/2014

It had rained all week before so it was a bit soggy, understandably cart paths only but very nice course. Would never pay the $120 fees here again though. This is NOT Tru Blu or Caledonia. $70 course in its best condition.

Rick

09/28/2014

Too wet.

John

09/26/2014

Great shape every year.

Gerry

09/26/2014

Rain

Joe

09/26/2014

Kings North - Impeccable!

Richard

09/22/2014

Beautiful course, like new top line rental clubs. Pro shop excellent staff. At special rate of $55 would play again and again.

Ed

09/18/2014

Outstanding.

Cal

09/17/2014

Great course.

Chris

09/09/2014

Great greens & fairways, very playable. Will definitely be back next trip.

M/M

09/08/2014

(Would like to have know prior to play) that greens were recently aerated.

Paul

08/30/2014

While very playable course still recovering from punching and top dressing of greens.

Noel

08/13/2014

Very beautiful and challenging course I will surely recommend to whoever I talk to ... Staff are very cordial and very considerate, they know that a good number of people who play here are from other states. I really appreciate the STARTER because after the hold due to rain the starter before we continued on the 10th, he greeted me and addressed me by my name, and that was really something. Bless his heart ... And because of that I shoot 3 over on my back nine! And almost birdied the last hole by only an inch! See what this SIMPLE THING WILL CHANGE SOMEONES GAME! Or I may also say someONE'S DAY! ...

Jeffrey

07/24/2014

For $85, the customer service could have been much better. The starter and beverage cart ladies were surly. Little course information was provided by the starter. Much of the course had been top dressed with something resembling a mixture of mulch and mud. The greens were incredibly slow and vertical cut markings were still evident. And we were told the course condition was an 8 out of 10. Hardly.

Chris

07/24/2014

Course was in good shape. Loved the layout, true Carolina course. I would definitely play here again during my next trip to the area.

Stephen

06/24/2014

This course has a great layout; however, sadly we will not be playing this course again. The first problem was with the course conditions. I would expect a company with any integrity would notify customers of the course conditions. We booked our rounds online in May; however, there was no mention of the aerification of the course. The course was punched 3 days before we played. Had we been notified, we would have played another MBN course. To add insult to injury, the service was appalling. We had to get our bags out of the car and request the clubs be loaded on a cart. The shop attendant's service was surly at best. We will never be playing another course owned or managed by Myrtle Beach National.

Steve

06/13/2014

Service in the grill was great. One of the best turkey and Swiss on marbled rye I've had in a long time. Encountered a rude-unaware course attendant that encroached upon us unnecessarily during our finishing hole. His incompetence was not enough to damping our overall great experience at MBNKN

Josh

06/12/2014

Excellent!! Me and my 12 year old daughter played today, and course was in great shape. Very enjoyable experience. Only complaints would be water on course is not very cold and cart girl, while we seen twice, said she was heading in for the day at 330 or so. Still quite few playing at that time it seemed. Other than that a very fair, beautiful golf course!

Richard

06/09/2014

Best course ever

James

06/09/2014

No rangers took 5 1/2 htd to play very slow group in front would not let I'd play thru. Beverage cart came around after 13 holes

Art

06/09/2014

Played the King's North course and really enjoyed the new greens. Firm and fast and really improved the course when they switched. The course overall was excellent it really is a good test of golf and requires every club in the bag. Art from Lindenhurst NY

Christopher

06/06/2014

Great

Corey

06/05/2014

Nice course, would definately golf it again.

Page 1 of 10 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Myrtle Beach National - King’s North Course Articles

Fun Retail Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

Meredith catches up with Casey Cook, Director of Retail for Founders Group International. Casey showcases some of the fun new merchandise items that you will find throughout the golf shops in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

Holliday Junior Tournament in 49th Year Past Participants Include PGA and LPGA Players

The George Holliday Memorial Junior Golf Tournament in its 49th year is hosted at Myrtle Beach National’s King’s North, SouthCreek and West Course. The event has become one of the nation’s premier junior golf competitions, and includes PGA and LPGA Tour stars. Brad Crumling, Head Golf Professional at Myrtle Beach National Golf Club details this premier junior event. - Read More

Play In The Shade - Five Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Where The Sun Won’t Beat You Down

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has a large number of courses where the layouts were built throughout magnificent tree lines offering some shade. What’s more, many of them are situated in natural breezeways that give players some reprieve from the summer heat. - Read More

King’s North’s Short Holes Hold Their Own

For all of the talk of some of the imposing longer holes at Myrtle Beach National’s King’s North, the course’s four par 3s more than hold their own with an identity firmly planted in Arnold Palmer’s image. - Read More

Kid-Friendly Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has crafted itself into a dual golfing identity - one where adults have their fun and another where parents can bring the kids and still enjoy every minute of the vacation. This will help those who want to achieve the latter. - Read More

King’s North Golf A Tribute To The King

The game of golf has spent countless hours honoring Arnold Palmer, the legend who helped bring the sport to numerous generations. That hasn’t stopped since his passing in September of 2016. His King’s North design at Myrtle Beach National is another celebration of his life and contributions. - Read More

Master Your Game In Myrtle Beach This April With Special Golf Packages

In case you haven't heard, April is the time to get swinging with golf packages offered by Myrtle Beach Golf Trips. As the golf season bursts into full bloom this April with The Masters Tournament, golfers can begin to master their own 2017 games through the Azalea Golf Package or the April 2-Round Package. - Read More

Grand Plan-4 Days of Golf, Food & Fun in Myrtle Beach

With 100 golf courses, 18 times as many restaurants, and countless other activities, figuring out a Myrtle Beach itinerary isn’t easy, so we’ve done it for you. - Read More

5 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Where Golf and History Meet

Recognizing the golf output South Carolina’s Grand Strand has each year is one thing. Realizing how closely the game is tied to the area’s past is another. - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

4 of South Carolina’s “Best You Can Play” Jockeying for Position

Founders Group International manages 22 of Myrtle Beach’s most respected courses, four of which have recently been named to Golf Magazine’s list of best courses you can play in South Carolina. - Read More

Golf Magazine Says 13 of SC’s Best Courses You Can Play Are in Myrtle Beach

When Golf's editors recently released their 2016/2017 “Top 100 Courses You Can Play” list and “Best In State” rankings, they confirmed the Myrtle Beach area has the best collection of golf courses in the country. - Read More

Outstanding Myrtle Beach Designs By Golf’s Greatest Players: Take On The King and The Bear

Ever wanted to get into the minds of golf's greatest players? Now is your chance to take on Myrtle Beach designs by golf's King and Golden Bear. - Read More

5 Reasons Why Myrtle Beach Would Be a Better Olympics Golf Venue Than Rio

If we’re talking great golf destinations to host a future Olympics golf event, the author nominates Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Here's why. - Read More

The Best of the Best at the Beach: The Top 10 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses

Getting to the top of the Grand Strand golf echelon isn’t easy. Competition is fierce. Different courses have varying selling points. And let’s not forget that personal taste always prevails. - Read More

The Big Three’s Impact on Myrtle Beach Golf

From the July/August 2016 issue of Golf Georgia Magazine - How The King, The Golden Bear & The Black Knight have left an indelible mark on the Grand Strand golf scene. - Read More

Myrtle Beach Golf Course Spotlight: World Tour Golf Links & King’s North at Myrtle Beach National

Canadian-based SCOREGolf offers a video profile of two of The Grand Strand’s most iconic courses: King’s North at Myrtle Beach National and International World Tour Golf Links! - Read More

Virginia Golfer Magazine Features Myrtle Beach National in January 2016 Issue

The following piece appears in the January-February 2016 issue of Virginia Golfer Magazine. - Read More

Maginnes Minute: What’s On Tap Right Now in Myrtle Beach Golf?

This week, SiriusXM Radio host and former PGA TOUR player John Maginnes checks in as the azaleas start to bloom. Spring is here - and John tells us what's on his mind as the great weather is now upon us. - Read More