Long Bay Golf Club

Upon arrival at Long Bay Golf Club, the majestic statue of “The Golden Bear,” Jack Nicklaus, is first to greet you – and serve notice that you’re in for an unparalleled, one-of-a-kind golfing experience.

Designed and opened in 1989, Long Bay boasts a series of undulating and elevated greens that have set this design apart in the Grand Strand golf scene. Its iconic par-4 10th hole is no exception, and also features a stunning arrangement of waste bunkering and moguls that’s prevalent on several holes throughout the course.

Long Bay’s series of par 3 holes showcases a stunning island green at No. 13. Its finishing hole is a sweeping par 4 that plays left to right around a lake and toward a well-guarded green – all with a stately clubhouse as part of a magnificent backdrop.

Long Bay joins Aberdeen Country Club, Colonial Charters Golf Club and River Hills Golf & Country Club as among the award-winning Founders Collection options that are conveniently located along the Myrtle Beach area’s northern “gateway.” Be sure to include it on your next golfing itinerary!

 

Long Bay Golf Club Course Course Reviews

overall reviews
/5 Course Layout
/5 Customer Service
/5 Course Condition
/5 Clubhouse

recent reviews

Todd

Date Played: 11/04/2019
100 0

Always enjoy Nicklaus designed courses and this one did not disappoint. Very friendly staff, will be back again in the spring with a larger group

Eric

Date Played: 10/23/2019
100 0

Great course

Scott

Date Played: 10/17/2019
100 0

Nice course and layout. Long doesn’t even define this place can definitely hit your driver 14 times

Jeff

Date Played: 10/16/2019
100 0

Good course and nice layout. Only issue was the slow greens. They need to be mowed better.

Terry

Date Played: 10/03/2019
100 0

Beautiful course, well, kept. A fair design and challenge for my level of play.

Floyd

Date Played: 09/18/2019
100 0

Nice course, good price.

Brian

Date Played: 09/18/2019
100 0

A challenge from the first shot to the last.

Fred

Date Played: 08/30/2019
100 0

Difficult, but fair.

Blake

Date Played: 08/20/2019
100 0

Great course,first time playing, so hard to get a feel for course management

Eric

Date Played: 08/08/2019
100 0

Very good staff and friendly off the tee box.

Greg

Date Played: 07/22/2019
100 0

Friendly staff, wonderful course!

Zack

Date Played: 07/05/2019
100 0

Fun course and in solid shape. Greens were on the slow side but they looked like they had punched a few weeks prior. No biggie. The staff was friendly and accommodating with me playing as a single. I will be back to play again!

Robert

Date Played: 07/03/2019
100 0

The cart attendant and starter were very friendly and informative. Both gentleman provided us a pleasant and enjoyable round of golf.

Jeffrey

Date Played: 07/01/2019
100 0

I was very surprised at how poor the conditions of the course were. Greed very slow and bumpy fairways worst I've seen

James

Date Played: 06/25/2019
100 0

Its a good course and layout but it was in terrible shape. The greens rolled about a 6 and the fairways were dirt.

Jeffrey

Date Played: 06/24/2019
100 0

was very disappointed with the greens an a lot of the fairways, expected more

Mark

Date Played: 06/21/2019
100 0

Great. Would love to play when greens aren’t punched. Some tee box need replaced

Charles

Date Played: 06/18/2019
100 0

Nice coarse.

Justin

Date Played: 06/14/2019
100 0

Really nice course and layout. The greens were as expected for being aerified. After pulling the cores they were just moved off to the side of the greens. Which made hitting your golf ball off of it a little difficult. Some of the tees lacked grasses and where just covered in the cores.

Scott

Date Played: 06/04/2019
100 0

again an all time favorite. off early , I think second 3 some, a 3 hour round. yes 3

Ted

Date Played: 05/27/2019
100 0

Still one of the best layouts in Myrtle Beach.

Chris

Date Played: 05/19/2019
100 0

Exceptional course. Staff is courteous and professional. Course is always well maintained. It was a little dry however the course can’t change the weather. They do the best with what they have.

Chris

Date Played: 05/19/2019
100 0

John

Date Played: 05/17/2019
100 0

Jack Nicklaus would be embarrassed to have his name associated with this place

Wayne

Date Played: 05/15/2019
100 0

Wonderful course despite recently aerated greens, with an inviting and friendly staff. As a veteran, I love that you proudly support our troops and hope to participate in your event next year!!

Samuel

Date Played: 05/13/2019
100 0

Excellent course, very courteous staff. Fairways were in excellent condition. Greens were well manicured and in prime shape. Would definitely recommend this course for an enjoyable and challenging round of golf!

Donald

Date Played: 05/10/2019
100 0

Great Course

Steve

Date Played: 05/10/2019
100 0

Challenging but fair, scenic course with lots of mounds, sand and waste bunkers.

Kevin

Date Played: 05/09/2019
100 0

Fairways & greens are in great shape. Friendly and efficient staff. Lot of bunkers so be prepared for that and only hit driver on a few holes due to possibly of easily getting into trouble. 10th hole is laid out kinda strange and you have to keep your carts in the waste bunker. Makes it a little difficult to get accurate yardages. Will be back if we can get a reasonable local rate.

Andrew

Date Played: 05/01/2019
100 0

Course was nice but okay was very slow took almost 6 hours

Walt

Date Played: 04/29/2019
100 0

Again, one of our favorite courses, we play it every year.

Mario

Date Played: 04/20/2019
100 0

Course was in decent condition following the heavy rains the day before. Bunkers were in rough shape. Lots of standing water and washed out parts. Greens were surprisingly still firm and rolled nice. Had an unfortunate experience with the two people I was paired up with who like to play ready golf. Which meant that they just hit their shots when they were ready and drove off and it didn’t matter if you had played your shot or not. I was having a conversation with the gentleman’s wife and he pulled away in the car as I was talking to her. I should’ve just let them play ahead and played as a single I would’ve had a more enjoyable round.

David

Date Played: 04/18/2019
100 0

One of my Top 3 Myrtle Beach courses!

Mike

Date Played: 04/16/2019
100 0

Very difficult for average golfer - No real explanation of the tees if you do not start on 1 - I was sent off on 10. Greens need some TLC, and rolled for smoothness. Overall a fun but tough day at the course.

Clarke

Date Played: 04/16/2019
100 0

Some long sand traps need more sand and care

Mike

Date Played: 04/16/2019
100 0

Very difficult for average golfer - No real explanation of the tees if you do not start on 1 - I was sent off on 10. Greens need some TLC, and rolled for smoothness.rnrnOverall a fun but tough day at the course.

Mike

Date Played: 04/16/2019
100 0

Very difficult for average golfer - No real explanation of the tees if you do not start on 1 - I was sent off on 10. Greens need some TLC, and rolled for smoothness.Overall a fun but tough day at the course.

George

Date Played: 04/08/2019
100 0

Great layout. Greens were fast and hard. Fairways and rough were in very good shape. But round took over 5 hours, 20 minutes. Usual excuses from staffs. Others told me they always overbook; staff said 8 minute increments but I doubt it.

Joe

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Review 5

Russell

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Have played before and still enjoy the coarse! Friendly staff!

James

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Great shape.Fun to play.

Jan

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Very nice course, helpfull and pleasant staff

Joe

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Review 3

Joe

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Review 2

Joe

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Review 4

Joe

Date Played: 04/05/2019
100 0

Review 1

Russell

Date Played: 04/03/2019
100 0

Have played before and still enjoy the coarse!rnFriendly staff!

Russell

Date Played: 04/01/2019
100 0

Have played before and still enjoy the coarse! Friendly staff!

Greg

Date Played: 04/01/2019
100 0

Fairways where in terrible condition; not a good golf experience.

Caryl

Date Played: 03/24/2019
100 0

Nice course. Scenic.

George

Date Played: 03/22/2019
100 0

Excellent course, again staff was great

Lou

Date Played: 03/13/2019
100 0

The course was in great condition. The bag drop guys and starter were all super people What a great experience! Thanks

L

Date Played: 01/28/2019
100 0

great course, good condition. will play again

Ralph

Date Played: 01/14/2019
100 0

We enjoyed the course and the challenges it provided. Unfortunately it was a little wet with all the rain the area has received.

Stephen

Date Played: 12/02/2018
100 0

I used the website for directions and used my phones GPS for guidance to the course and was given the wrong directions and missed my tee time. I was not happy since I was travelling to an area I had not been to before and the website took me away from the course. Bad experience, however, I plan to return and not use the website to locate. Too bad since I was looking forward to playin the Long Bay course in Myrtle Beach. Sure hope my next tee time at Long Bay goes off without a hitch.

Bob

Date Played: 11/12/2018
100 0

Nice course except for the rain. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Scott

Date Played: 11/06/2018
100 0

Good. The employees are extremely nice! Love they layout. Difficult course but fun. Soggy wet weather

Brian

Date Played: 11/06/2018
100 0

Great layout - poor condition. Not good value for money

Gary

Date Played: 10/21/2018
100 0

Good course for all levels of players. Greens and course were in excellent condition

Joe

Date Played: 09/23/2018
100 0

Fantastic! Enjoyed every hole.

Roger

Date Played: 05/22/2018
100 0

Very nice course in excellent condition. Greens firm and fair speed. Local residents on course very friendly and helpful.

Matt

Date Played: 04/10/2018
100 0

Raining and the greens were still FAST!! Looking forward to playing with my rain check!!

Patrick

Date Played: 03/07/2018
100 0

Played there for first time yesterday. Challenging but not impossible for high handicap like me. Good courses start with friendly staff meeting and greeting you and they excelled. One recommendation- no course guide (and I'm not a tech guy with all the gadgets) so if you don't know the course you're doing some guessing.

Mark

Date Played: 02/25/2018
100 0

Last minute trip ended up being a great addition to the weekend.

Karen

Date Played: 01/11/2018
100 0

I am so excited to have a HOLE IN ONE on this magnificent course! Number 13 island green is one of my favorite holes!

Donn

Date Played: 11/25/2017
100 0

Play November 25, 2017. All conditions were excellent tee to green. Traps were soft and raked. Greens were difficult because they looked faster then they were. A great challenge and as a local we took advantage of great rates.

Gary

Date Played: 11/13/2017
100 0

Played LBGC before. Its challenging for sure but the conditions could have been better. It was ok but not exceptional.

Laurie

Date Played: 10/22/2017
100 0

Great course and very nice staff can't wait to go back!

Peter

Date Played: 10/24/2016
100 0

Played at Long Bay on 10/23/16. I was not happy at all with Long Bay and would not recommend playing it. We were scheduled to be the first group off the tee as we were departing back home at the end of the round. It started with the Ranger hooking us up with two individuals who hadn't golfed in a while. I had hoped to play in 3 hrs, but it took us 4 1/2 hours. The course is in average shape. The tees are not level and there were a couple holes where the holes are under repair. On a positive note, the fairways and greens were in good shape, but the layout of the course is only average. I would not recommend playing here.

Vince

Date Played: 08/22/2016
100 0

It was my first time playing Long Bay. My brother in law spoke very highly of the course and its GM Jason Mitchell and all the staff. He did not oversell. The course was in great condition even with all the heat. The Bermuda grass was tough for us northerners but that's on us. The green were well maintained and the pace of play was good. My wife and I will definitely be back.

Sheila

Date Played: 08/22/2016
100 0

My husband and I played Long Bay for the first time. The staff, especially Jason Mitchell made our experience a terrific one. We rented clubs and joined with another two of the out of town golfers. The staff was very friendly and the course was very well maintained. No gators though. We'll be back.

Henry

Date Played: 07/21/2016
100 0

Played the course in mid June and the greens were in rough shape but played about a month later and WHAT A TURN Around!! Greens are in great shape...a couple were sodded but are in good shape now. Tee to green everything is lush.

Keith

Date Played: 07/05/2016
100 0

The greens on the front nine are in repair. Some have only 5-10 feet of putting surface the rest of the green is fill in turf. Probably good to pass this one up for now.

Doug

Date Played: 03/28/2016
100 0

Had a great time playing Long Bay Club. The greens and fairways were in great shape. The pro and staff were very friendly and accommodating. I look forward to coming back on my next trip.

Kim

Date Played: 02/16/2016
100 0

Long Bay greens and entire course is in excellent shape heading into the spring.

Seth

Date Played: 08/11/2015
100 0

Great course. A must play. Played after a good deal of rain. Bunkers were good. course conditions great. Beautiful holes esp 7,10,18 and all 4 par 3's. Paid 48 hour rate of 49 and my son (11) played for free. 7:38 am tee time and course mostly empty finished in 3.5 hours. Staff friendly and cart lady thanked us for being out playing. With all the choices will be back to play this course soon.

Aaron

Date Played: 08/03/2015
100 0

I wanted to just create a quick review to tell everyone that despite the previous reviews earlier this year this course was near perfect. Tee boxes, greens, fairways were all in pristine condition and I highly recommend this course. I played despite it raining .75 inches in the matter of 40 minutes, so wet conditions were to be expected. By the third hole any standing water was gone, and the course was easily playable. Please don't let the old reviews scare you, go out and play this course you will not be disappointed.

John

Date Played: 07/02/2015
100 0

Course was in great shape...not sure what happened a month or two ago based on some bad reviews but when I played the greens were in great shape. Fairways were in good shape, a little burnt out in spots but that was to be expected with a couple straight weeks near 100 degrees. Definitely was well worth the money which was very reasonable to start off with.

Tom

Date Played: 05/21/2015
100 0

Terrible condition. In 20 years of Myrtle Beach golf trips we have never played a course in such bad condition. Huge disappointment. Why can all the other courses we played be in such great condition and this course has some greens with only 50% grass? And this was in April.....not August after a long hot summer.

Tony

Date Played: 05/17/2015
100 0

Long Bay was a big disappointment! We played 9 there in 2014 and had a rain check for the other 9 and the course was in great condition then. So we were looking forward to playing there again and even brought more people with us this year. Unfortunately, the greens were borderline unplayable, with bare (diseased?) spots on almost all of them and one was half under repair. There had been a lot of rain the previous few days due to Ana, but there were clumps of wet, cut grass all around the greens on a lot of holes and it was generally in poor condition. Compared to last year, it was night and day from great to gross. We played 4 other courses (one later the same day as Long Bay) and they were in great shape. So the weather could not be the blame. Very disappointing.

Brad

Date Played: 05/08/2015
100 0

Course in terrible condition. Greens by far the worst in Myrtle Beach. Staff unresponsive to concerns about condition of course, saying all courses in tough shape due to weather. We played 5 other courses in Myrtle Beach during week and found no other course in poor condition. This course will be taken off our list for next year's trip.

Craig

Date Played: 05/07/2015
100 0

Greens were HORRIBLE! Hardly grass on almost all of them and fertilzer pellets on all of them. VERY dissapointing!!

Jim

Date Played: 05/06/2015
100 0

The staff was great, but that was about it. This course was probably in the worst shape I've seen a course in years. There was no need to even putt on most holes because the greens were so bad. I will not be back.

Nick

Date Played: 04/21/2015
100 0

Great staff, really took care of our group. Course was in good shape. This is in a housing development. Pretty par 3's ... Island green was memorable, as was 18th hole.

Paul

Date Played: 11/12/2014
100 0

Excellent.

William

Date Played: 11/10/2014
100 0

Good course but too far from hotel. Will not play again because of location. There are too many quality courses closer in.

Jim

Date Played: 10/29/2014
100 0

Great course; interesting layout!

Antonio

Date Played: 10/25/2014
100 0

Played this course before, good condition and still a challenge, however, they neglected to mention that an excursion of 60 lady golfers from Canada was playing ahead of us and they were very slow, we normally finish a round in 3 1/2 hrs, it took us 5 1/4 hrs to finish. Never got into a rhythm.

Tom

Date Played: 10/20/2014
100 0

Only really remember it was in good condition and the staff was very friendly. Did not go in the pro shop or restaurant.

John

Date Played: 10/19/2014
100 0

Would not play again seems like the course never drains and you never get to actually get off the cart paths only which makes the day long and carrying you clubs on your back would be easier due to the layout.

Chris

Date Played: 10/14/2014
100 0

Very good.

Jeff

Date Played: 10/11/2014
100 0

OK.

Jim

Date Played: 10/08/2014
100 0

Great place!!! Greens were perfect speed.

Scott

Date Played: 09/30/2014
100 0

Excellent course. Fairways and tees were too wet. Not the fault of the maintenance staff. I would definitely play here again, but not after all that rain!

Derek

Date Played: 09/18/2014
100 0

This was my first Jack Nicholas course and it was everything I could have ever wished for. Challenging but fair course. I'm a 9 handicap and played from the white tees which were the right tees. There is no need to punish yourself by making it any harder than needed, this course is plenty challenging. This is definitely a second shot course. You must hit the greens in the correct places or be prepared to be punished. These greens undulate, twist and turn with good speed. The greens roll true. The fairways are generous but make sure to hit them and stay out of the waste bunkers that are plentiful. If you hit it the waste bunkers just take your medicine and get back in play. I would play this course again for sure and plan on it. You cannot go wrong with this course. Just book it and play it!!!

Tim

Date Played: 06/02/2014
100 0

Spectacular

Bill

Date Played: 06/02/2014
100 0

Pace of play was excellent. We played in less then 4 hours

Scott

Date Played: 04/29/2014
100 0

New favorite course in Myrtle. Top notch

Bill

Date Played: 04/16/2014
100 0

A little long drive if you are staying in south Myrtle.

Christopher

Date Played: 03/18/2014
100 0

Very good condition

Gary

Date Played: 03/18/2014
100 0

Really good

Dan

Date Played: 02/20/2014
100 0

Love the course. I have to play it every time I'm in the area.

David

Date Played: 02/20/2014
100 0

Fairways were very wet, had a lot of standing water. I think this took away from the various challenges for the course. It would be nice to play this course when it dries out. The greens were easy to read and putting was good.

Ellen

Date Played: 11/21/2013
100 0

People were ok, not overly friendly. It was busy and staff did not have an abundance of time to socialize The course was good but I would not be in a hurry to replay

Carol

Date Played: 11/19/2013
100 0

Work going on the signature hole was a disappointment as they kept going whilst we tried to play around them....not the experience we expected.

Melissa

Date Played: 11/05/2013
100 0

This is my favorite golf course ever. The employees were all very friendly, professional and efficient. I love the layout and challenge of all the holes on the course. The club house is beautiful. The speed of the greens is superior to the other courses we played during our visit. Looking forward to going back next year.

Anthony

Date Played: 10/07/2013
100 0

Excellent condition of the course....Attendants and starters very friendly.

Debra

Date Played: 10/03/2013
100 0

Generally an enjoyable round.

Bernard

Date Played: 09/23/2013
100 0

Enjoyable

Ralph

Date Played: 09/19/2013
100 0

On our 'replay' list for our annual Golf trip

Phil

Date Played: 09/16/2013
100 0

Very nice golf course........fun to play. Staff professional and helpful. Enjoyed being here and playing this wonderful golf course.

Kevin

Date Played: 09/16/2013
100 0

Arrived and checked in with the Pro Shop for my 8:06 tee time. The attendant did not have my name on his list nor did the starter. I told both of them that I had an 8:06 tee time which I arrived for more than a half hour early for. The starter said he would fit me in, I can't understand why because I had an 8:06 reservation made online. I teed off at 8:39 and was not very happy as I booked an early time so that I could finish just after noon, as it was I finished my round just after 1:15. I have booked quite a few rounds on MBN.com over the last couple of years and this was the first time I had an issue

John

Date Played: 09/12/2013
100 0

Course was in excellent shape, starter (Larry) was very friendly and helpful. plenty of yardage markers on the course. Course plays long and difficult, but i had my worst ball striking round of the year so hard to say just how difficult the course is.

Fred

Date Played: 09/05/2013
100 0

Course was in outstanding condition and is a beautiful layout. It is challenging but very fair. This was my second time playing and will likely play again in the future.

William

Date Played: 09/02/2013
100 0

4 Stars

Ronald

Date Played: 08/23/2013
100 0

Course was very wet, not favorable for car path only. tee boxes set up too far from where you have to park your cart.

Jeff

Date Played: 08/14/2013
100 0

The course is in great shape! Fairways give some nice roll after your drive. Greens were recently aerified but still roll o.k.

Mij

Date Played: 08/12/2013
100 0

Recently aerified greens but putted ok. Course was in great shape. Tight fairways and tees are a plus.

Brad

Date Played: 07/15/2013
100 0

Long Bay was a great experience!

Jim

Date Played: 06/28/2013
100 0

The course was awesome!

Steven

Date Played: 05/22/2013
100 0

Tough greens, nothing flat

Andrew

Date Played: 05/21/2013
100 0

Course was phenomenal. We enjoyed every minuet of it. Thanks, Drew

Kevin

Date Played: 05/20/2013
100 0

Keep up the good work, I had a wonderful time

Edward

Date Played: 05/15/2013
100 0

Course was tough in windy conditions . Make sure you play from tees you can handle .

Ron

Date Played: 05/14/2013
100 0

Challenging course. Was in nice shape, enjoyed the round. Would come back and play again.

Michael

Date Played: 05/07/2013
100 0

The course was in excellent condition, and the staff there were very friendly and helpful. I can think of no negative comments to say.

Randy

Date Played: 05/03/2013
100 0

Great course and layout. Compares with the best in Myrtle Beach.

Jake

Date Played: 04/19/2013
100 0

Tee boxes did not look mowed and greens were relatively slow. Pace of play was great and everyone was very friendly, except for the older gentleman that loaded clubs on carts.

Darrell

Date Played: 04/16/2013
100 0

Very nice course, fair, greens and fairways in excellent condition. Liked the country club feel verses the resort dynamics of some other courses. Friendly staff, easy in and out. Easy to navigate with good flow between driving range, putting green, pro shop, and 1st tee box. Played 1st round of three in 2 days. I have played 33 of the top 50 courses in MB, Not as great as Caledonia, but nice, enjoyable course that I would not hesitate to play again. A little out of the way. We drove in from the north so we played it on our way to the central part of MB.

Gabriele

Date Played: 04/11/2013
100 0

Come down to SC. You have to play Jack's course

Peter

Date Played: 04/03/2013
100 0

Course was in great shape for this time of year...and with the weather. would recomend to everybody.

Chuck

Date Played: 04/01/2013
100 0

Outside of rain, there has been no watering so nothing is growing. Yes, it was cool but come on, the place is as hard as a rock. Nothing holds to the green. Sand is everywhere so it is very penal. Might be fun to play in the summer but not before May.

Bob

Date Played: 03/27/2013
100 0

Got rained out but very accommodating with the rain checks and getting us on the course the next day so we could get in our round

Vern

Date Played: 03/26/2013
100 0

Would play again. We all enjoyed the course

Matt

Date Played: 03/26/2013
100 0

Nice course and price was good that I booked off MBG.com

Daniel

Date Played: 03/26/2013
100 0

I have played this course in the past and I felt the greens and tees weren't as nice as they have been in the past!!

Jinwoo

Date Played: 03/25/2013
100 0

It was good managed course and very challenging course but there has no information about course for first time player. I wish they will provide GPS system on a cart or give us a course map

Alan

Date Played: 03/22/2013
100 0

Beautiful course, we enjoyed our rounds very much.

Ed

Date Played: 03/18/2013
100 0

Nice layout

Dale

Date Played: 03/14/2013
100 0

Great course. Very challenging. Requires shot making.

Rick

Date Played: 03/07/2013
100 0

Well above average

Dennis

Date Played: 03/07/2013
100 0

It's a good place to play.But it would be better when all the grass is green. When the sun shine's it will improve.

John

Date Played: 03/04/2013
100 0

We unfortunately played the day after a heavy rain. Our feelings were mixed since we were happy to be able to play but would have understood if they closed the course. With the amount of mud and puddles coupled with Cart Path Only (It had to be) it took much of the fun and grandeur out of this great course.

Garrett

Date Played: 01/24/2013
100 0

Great course! Pace of play was never an issue, and although difficult the course plays extremely fair. Hit good shots and and you will be rewarded with looks at birdie.

Paul

Date Played: 01/18/2013
100 0

Everything was awesome. The only thing I wish was the club cleaner was on both sides of the cart.

Keith

Date Played: 12/12/2012
100 0

Great course. Greens were in excellent shape fast and smooth. Bag drop staff very helpful.

Carl

Date Played: 11/19/2012
100 0

Outstanding.

Kenneth

Date Played: 11/07/2012
100 0

Some nice views but not worth full price IMO. After playing front 9 had to wait 45 min to tee off on 10 due to poor timing of split tees tee off. First and last trip there for me.

Enzo

Date Played: 10/30/2012
100 0

Everyone was very nice to accommodate our large group.

Gregory

Date Played: 10/20/2012
100 0

Disappointed a little after playing King's North. Not as scenic or with as much thought in design.

Mark

Date Played: 10/18/2012
100 0

Really nice track.

Kurt

Date Played: 10/18/2012
100 0

Great course. Loved the challenge.

Chuck

Date Played: 10/16/2012
100 0

Great course but had to play cart path only. Course does not drain well. Great layout.

Scott

Date Played: 10/16/2012
100 0

What a great experience, the course was great and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Rocco

Date Played: 10/15/2012
100 0

The starter Jerry was very abrupt and rude. We were stacked up 2-3 groups on every hole. Started at 1:05 p.m. walked off the course before 18! Will not play again.

Patrick

Date Played: 10/12/2012
100 0

Really like the course the fairways were fresh mowed and heavy with cut grass, greens could be quicker but with so much undulation would be very tough for most.

Andrew

Date Played: 10/06/2012
100 0

Fantastic course. Tough yet rewarding. Top notch shape and friendly staff was a good start to the trip.

Dave

Date Played: 10/03/2012
100 0

While we enjoyed the course and the service was good we did not feel that the course was unique or exceptional compared to other courses we have played. The greens were less well kept that we expected.

Scott

Date Played: 10/01/2012
100 0

Was not a fan of this course; difficult to the point of unfair. Some of the greens belong at Smuggler's Cove, and there were way too many houses/OB on the course. With few exceptions, missing the green or fairway often leads to a struggle just to save bogey, let alone par. That said, staff was very friendly and amenable, and the course itself was in good condition overall. Good luck, you'll need it.

Steve

Date Played: 09/29/2012
100 0

Very nice course and very challenging. Buy the yardage book and pay attention to location of bunkers, water and other hazards. It's easy to misjudge distances without it.

Dennis

Date Played: 09/25/2012
100 0

All good.

Russ

Date Played: 09/19/2012
100 0

Enjoyable with exception to the rain.

Ricky

Date Played: 09/16/2012
100 0

Great course, played with a member which was very helpful.

Steve

Date Played: 09/16/2012
100 0

Excellent course. Jack Nicklaus loves bunkers! Great place to play.

Mark

Date Played: 09/11/2012
100 0

Course was cart path only, would have liked to have gotten prior notice.

Danny

Date Played: 09/05/2012
100 0

Course is very difficult for my skill level, probably should have played the white tees. However, I loved the course, the design and the greens were fantastic. We played really early so the course was overly wet in some areas but other than that it was in fantastic condition and the staff was super nice. I will definitely play here again and the price was a definite bargain.

Richard

Date Played: 09/04/2012
100 0

Excellent golf course with challenging holes and mind blowing greens due to exceptional undulations. Loved the course, my favorite in MB. I recommend this course to all golfers.

Lemark

Date Played: 09/03/2012
100 0

There had been a lot of rain earlier in the week.

Lana

Date Played: 09/03/2012
100 0

Course was fun despite very soggy conditions. Pro shop attendant (Preston) was wonderful. Cart attendant was wonderful. Starter ruined the experience for my wife, child and myself. Will not ever go back to Long Bay.

Ed

Date Played: 08/30/2012
100 0

While pre-paying on the Internet saved me $20.00, the rain made it somewhat uncomfortable during the round. Next time I will pay the extra and save $50 if it rains.

Bob

Date Played: 08/25/2012
100 0

Very nice. Enjoyed.

William

Date Played: 08/24/2012
100 0

Best 50 bucks I've spent on golf.

Nick

Date Played: 08/16/2012
100 0

Course was in excellent shape despite heavy rain during the week and aeration the prior week. Design-wise, everything you would expect from a Nicklaus course. Overall, the staff was among the friendliest I've encountered.

Michael

Date Played: 08/13/2012
100 0

Disappointed that there were no food or drinks services available. No cart, not even snacks or beverages available at the turn. Course was decent but very disappointed compared to our last visit to this course.

Tony

Date Played: 08/13/2012
100 0

Great track!

Charles

Date Played: 08/07/2012
100 0

Grass clippings were left in rough making it difficult to find errant drives. Greens rolled consistently, not fast. Fun to play. Some real pretty holes.

Stephen

Date Played: 08/01/2012
100 0

I thought it would be harder.

Charles

Date Played: 07/31/2012
100 0

Great layout as is all Nicklaus' courses. Fairways were a little soggy (watering, not rain), rough was high and thick!! Bring your A game. High handicappers I wouldn't think would enjoy this course, played long.

Nick

Date Played: 07/30/2012
100 0

Very difficult.

Andrew

Date Played: 07/30/2012
100 0

Greens were consistent but slow.

Rich

Date Played: 07/26/2012
100 0

Course was in great shape and everyone was very polite and helpful.

George

Date Played: 07/25/2012
100 0

The attendants in the pro shop as well as the starters were very professional and polite. Even though Long Bay is one of the more ritzy courses in Myrtle Beach, the workers weren't stuck-up or snobby which we appreciated. The course was in great condition and was quite picturesque. We'll certainly be back next year.

Gregory

Date Played: 07/23/2012
100 0

We never miss playing. I finally parred 10, so I got nothing but good memories from this year's trip.

Brian

Date Played: 07/20/2012
100 0

Great place to play, will be back.

Walt

Date Played: 07/18/2012
100 0

Seems that fairways and rough on front side had been recently mowed but clippings were not removed.

Kyle

Date Played: 07/14/2012
100 0

Good layout. Cool holes. Nice starter ... but, lots of sand on greens. It's probably due to time of year but was so aggravating. They rolled fast but very hard to read. Did not roll very true. We come to MB every year and have played 12-15 courses. Could be a favorite if greens were BENT grass!

Kyle

Date Played: 07/14/2012
100 0

Great layout, very nice and helpful starter, offered water all over course via marshall! Fairways in great shape, but greens covered in sand. Didn't roll very good ... fast but untrue. May just be time of year.

Nick

Date Played: 07/14/2012
100 0

Great experience (staff) from the minute you pull up until you drive away. The course was in great shape. Great golf experience. We will play again!

Jerrell

Date Played: 07/14/2012
100 0

Great course, 2nd time to play it, staff treated us as members.

Dennis

Date Played: 07/06/2012
100 0

Too much sand, too many sand traps, visitors, golfers, vacationers do not want to play out of traps so often so reduce the traps, my last time playing there. Thanks.

Lewis

Date Played: 07/02/2012
100 0

Very good course ... started on back nine - first group out - played in less than 2 hours, moving along smartly, but then got behind 3 groups on front who slowed us down greatly ... didn't enjoy because of that, especially with temps in upper 90s.

Chris

Date Played: 07/01/2012
100 0

Course was in great shape ... enjoyed the condition.

Eric

Date Played: 06/26/2012
100 0

I liked the conditions of the course. I like the risk-reward nature of the layout. There were such options on many holes both off the tee and for approach shots.

Gerald

Date Played: 06/19/2012
100 0

Great layout but greens had just been aerated 3 days before we played and it was very thin on grass which made putts virtually impossible to read. Other than that we sure would have liked playing this course as well as any other that we played.

Shari

Date Played: 06/07/2012
100 0

We really enjoyed our day at Long Bay!

Thomas

Date Played: 06/05/2012
100 0

As a scratch handicap, this course exceeded my expectations (and my score showed the difficulty). It is a nice challenge from the tips.

Carroll

Date Played: 06/05/2012
100 0

Great conditions.

Michael

Date Played: 05/29/2012
100 0

I'd like to play it again next year. I played it in the early 1990's and it has really improved to my favorite course.

Philip

Date Played: 05/29/2012
100 0

Good course, very friendly people.

Albert

Date Played: 05/28/2012
100 0

Loved the course. Loved the signature hole #10.

Richard

Date Played: 05/26/2012
100 0

We have played this course before and love the layout but this time it was very wet from all the rain.

Bryan

Date Played: 05/25/2012
100 0

Had to wait out a rain delay and with limited time on our vacation the staff was great. They offered a full refund for our round. Would have taken it but the weather cleared and we played. Had the entire course to ourselves. Great staff and very nice.

Michael

Date Played: 05/23/2012
100 0

Played the course several times and will return for many more games.

Ron

Date Played: 05/19/2012
100 0

Enjoyed every minute, a fantastic course with great challenges.

Tom

Date Played: 05/15/2012
100 0

Same comments for Long Bay as for Willbrook. Really enjoyed the course. Only bummer was the slow back 9.

Michael

Date Played: 05/08/2012
100 0

Challenging course with very little room for error. Fun to play if you can work the ball.

Rene

Date Played: 05/06/2012
100 0

(Liked the) conditions of the courses.

Terry

Date Played: 05/06/2012
100 0

Keep it in the fairway! Nice course.

Norman

Date Played: 05/05/2012
100 0

Good round of golf.

Alan

Date Played: 05/04/2012
100 0

Could not find a fault. Would love to play again.

Gary

Date Played: 05/03/2012
100 0

The tee boxes were shaggy and not flat (do not need the ball below my feet when teeing off). Greens were extremely slow and need to be cut. Fairways were good. Play was very slow for a 9:36 tee time. We were the last group and took 5 hours - the group ahead were wandering all over. In summary, course very similar to other Prime courses. The Witch, The Wizard, Arrowhead, and Blackmoor on our trip were much better.

John

Date Played: 05/02/2012
100 0

Greens were being fertilized, bad smell.

Tom

Date Played: 05/01/2012
100 0

(Would like to have known prior to play that the) greens would be sanded the day before play.

Wieslaw

Date Played: 04/28/2012
100 0

Very interesting design, hole 10 fantastic.

Greg

Date Played: 04/27/2012
100 0

Greens were very poor, which the rest of the course layout could not overcome. Worst of the week.

Bret

Date Played: 04/25/2012
100 0

Nice course, a bit overpriced.

Mike

Date Played: 04/24/2012
100 0

Had 7:30 tee time on 4/22/12, were told twice on front nine to pick up pace, we were the 1st group out and had a threesome behind us, finished the front nine in under 4 hours and 15 minutes, finished the 18 in under 4 and a half hours, we had 3 men and 1 woman in our group, not once did the group behind us even catch up as were are all decent golfers, complained in the pro shop and were told to basically live with it, they had our money, why should they care after that, will never go back, liked the course but that's not enough.

Mike

Date Played: 04/22/2012
100 0

Very challenging. Very enjoyable.

Charlie

Date Played: 04/21/2012
100 0

The entire day was great. The course was beautiful and had several unique holes such as the signature 10 driving in the bunkers and the island par 3.

Daniel

Date Played: 04/17/2012
100 0

The course itself and the layout were wonderful! The starter and operations were absolutely terrible. First off, they pack this course with guys teeing off both sides. We had the first two tee spots and went to make the turn had to wait an HOUR plus! Then once we started playing the back couldn't have been slower. At one point we had 4 groups (16 carts) on one par 3! Expect a long long day if you play here but the course is nice.

Web

Date Played: 04/14/2012
100 0

Challenging course but fair. The greens are rectangular so approach shot accuracy is a must.

Susan

Date Played: 04/11/2012
100 0

Good course. Long grass on tees.

Tom

Date Played: 04/10/2012
100 0

Very nice course. Great shape. A lot of waste bunkers, but that is the style of the course and frankly you just have to avoid them with accuracy. Course was marked well with yardage distances. Over all, will definitely play again and recommend to others. Loved the challenge of the course. The starter (forget his name, but from Buffalo) was very friendly and informative.

Mike

Date Played: 04/05/2012
100 0

Great course; no complaints at all about it; however, it was hard to find - using the name on Google I found three different addresses and couldn't find a Web site that showed it; ended up calling the Long Bay Resort/hotel to get directions.

Steve

Date Played: 04/03/2012
100 0

Terrible! Played Friday 3/30 and was on a 6+ hour pace until we quit after the 16th because we were about to double up with the group in front of us on the 17th and it was getting dark! Greens were very choppy as someone in front of us had metal spikes on and was literally ripping the greens up. We (and others) called the pro shop regarding the pace of play but no rangers were seen for the rest of the afternoon! Would never go back.

Eddie

Date Played: 04/02/2012
100 0

Good service, bad weather (cold and windy early in the day). Enjoyed the round. Not used to the hills in the greens (lots of three putts).

Russell

Date Played: 03/31/2012
100 0

i do not like Nicklaus courses. Greens are designed to punish anything except perfect shot. All hazards are placed to punish a less-than-perfect shot. It is just not fun to play. I have played three or four signature courses and they are all the same.

Richard

Date Played: 03/30/2012
100 0

A real pleasure from start to finish. Starter was a great help and even arranged us to get a replay on the back nine again, even when they said it wasn't available. We will definitely play this course again next year. It's worth it.

Jim

Date Played: 03/30/2012
100 0

Very good course; many challenging, unique holes; very playable and fair. We all had an enjoyable round and would return. A number of online comments/reviews have indicated the staff was less than friendly. We found just the opposite - the grill staff and the attendants were outstanding, engaging; the staff in the pro shop as well as the starter were professional and to the point.

Joseph

Date Played: 03/30/2012
100 0

Not a big fan of Nicklaus design; the course was in good shape. I thought there was too much mounding.

James

Date Played: 03/23/2012
100 0

Beautiful scenery.

Brian

Date Played: 03/17/2012
100 0

Great time - tough ride.

Patrick

Date Played: 03/15/2012
100 0

Pro shop staff were absolutely wonderful ... friendly and helpful. Starter was crabby and not very welcoming. Course was in really good shape and there sure is a lot of sand. Bring your A game to this course.

Don

Date Played: 02/15/2012
100 0

Staff was great to deal with.

John

Date Played: 02/05/2012
100 0

Great course, open enough to be fun, course condition excellent.

Matthew

Date Played: 02/04/2012
100 0

Great country club-style course, loved it.

Donald

Date Played: 01/26/2012
100 0

The Hooters outing was scheduled at the same time as my original tee time. The staff corrected the mistake and all was fine.

Larry

Date Played: 01/25/2012
100 0

Greens were too small - no area to bail out to.

Kenneth

Date Played: 01/17/2012
100 0

Greens were real bumpy.

James

Date Played: 01/04/2012
100 0

Starter was great and paired me with a great threesome, nice guys, Long Bay was like always, perfect! I play there every time I go to Myrtle Beach. Only problem - your site charged me twice, but I believe the next day 1 charge was dropped.

Harold

Date Played: 12/06/2011
100 0

Nice course but not as good of conditions as Myrtle Beach National courses, all three.

Bob

Date Played: 11/18/2011
100 0

Liked the waste bunkers.

Brent

Date Played: 11/17/2011
100 0

Course conditioning. 18th hole is extremely difficult which is great. We love the challenge.

Bill

Date Played: 11/16/2011
100 0

Loved it.

Richard

Date Played: 11/16/2011
100 0

Tough course. Greens rolled great and were quick. Fairways were in great condition. Tough layout, but not overly penal.

Don

Date Played: 11/16/2011
100 0

Parkland style with housing, great condition & features. Cold day harder to enjoy.

James

Date Played: 11/10/2011
100 0

Loved the course overall; excellent greens. The 18th hole is the best.

Don/John

Date Played: 11/10/2011
100 0

Too many of the Myrtle Beach courses are just about money. We had and 80+ year old player in our group and made everyone at the course well aware prior to teeing it up. We were continually hassled to speed up play even though we were keeping pace. The course was magnificent but I doubt we will be back. It's all about the almighty dollar and not about enjoying a round of golf. As vacationers we pay premium dollar for a round of golf. I work at a course here in TN and understand the push to maximize tee times. Most pros cannot complete a round in 2 hrs. 15 min. The quality of golfers in our group generally shoot in the 80's. It is unrealistic to think you can complete a round without running in that time.

Ty

Date Played: 11/09/2011
100 0

Excellent experience.

Rich

Date Played: 11/06/2011
100 0

Excellent layout and course conditions were solid. Undulating, well protected greens that are difficult to hit at times. B-plus in my book.

Linda

Date Played: 11/01/2011
100 0

Very typical Nicklaus design, worthy of the 3-star rating.

Robert

Date Played: 10/31/2011
100 0

This is the second year we played this course. It's one of our favourites.

Matt

Date Played: 10/28/2011
100 0

Very nice clubhouse and staff. Like the course layout. Hard to tell the condition of the course because there was major rain the night before. No GPS on carts is the only negative.

Lawrence

Date Played: 10/25/2011
100 0

Excellent course, challenging layout. Would play it again and again.

Joseph

Date Played: 10/21/2011
100 0

First time played. Phenomenal course! Greens perfect. Memorable layout (but that's Jack, eh?). Quality of the course made me feel guilty riding in the fairways with 90-degree carts, as they were a little wet after heavy rain. Hope I did a good job staying away from the softer areas. Will certainly be back.

Rick

Date Played: 10/19/2011
100 0

A great course with some very remarkable holes. Make sure that your sand game is in good shape before attempting to play.

Mike

Date Played: 10/17/2011
100 0

Played Long Bay on Saturday, Oct. 8. Everything was in fantastic shape, and the course was a true test of golf. I'll be back for sure!

Richard

Date Played: 10/15/2011
100 0

Fun course to rip it. Tough on every approach, most greens are elevated and have multiple mounds, traps, water, and dropoffs. Greens are fast and true. Will play again.

Bob/Margo

Date Played: 10/06/2011
100 0

Too bad we had to stay on cart paths! Beautiful course.

Chris

Date Played: 10/05/2011
100 0

All around an excellent experience.

Leanard

Date Played: 09/29/2011
100 0

Fantastic shape! Greens are awesome!

Rob

Date Played: 09/28/2011
100 0

Great golf course. I have always enjoyed playing this course. It was too bad the weather didn't hold up. We only got in 10 holes.

John

Date Played: 09/27/2011
100 0

Greens real fast.

Larry

Date Played: 09/26/2011
100 0

A very good course in really good condition.

Roland

Date Played: 09/26/2011
100 0

It's a great course to play. Plan to play it again next year with my two sons. The people who runs the course and pro shop are very friendly and that says a lot about a golf course.

Christopher

Date Played: 09/26/2011
100 0

I've been playing Myrtle Beach courses for over 5 years now ... including all of the more expensive and higher rated ones ... for the price and experience I would say Long Bay is more worth it than any other course in the area ... I will have to go back there every year from now on, par 3 island green!

Dave

Date Played: 09/22/2011
100 0

Great layout, just had bad weather conditions so didn't play as well as we would have liked to:(

John

Date Played: 09/21/2011
100 0

The course is in great shape and very challenging, maybe a bit too challenging for someone with a 20+ handicap. Still enjoyed playing here though.

Wayne

Date Played: 09/20/2011
100 0

Challenging course, had fun.

Gary

Date Played: 09/19/2011
100 0

Too much sand! Too many greens surrounded with sand.

Robert

Date Played: 09/16/2011
100 0

Nicest greens in Myrtle Beach. Very fun course to play. Will recommend to friends and will play the next time I am down.

Gary

Date Played: 09/16/2011
100 0

Great track. Lots of fun. Course conditions were some of the best in Myrtle Beach. Will definitely play it again.

Derrick

Date Played: 09/16/2011
100 0

Nice course. Would play again.

Edward

Date Played: 09/14/2011
100 0

Had a great time, excellent course, excellent condition, will definitely return again and play Long Bay.

David

Date Played: 09/11/2011
100 0

A great course. Plan on playing on next trip.

John

Date Played: 09/06/2011
100 0

Course was in excellent shape. Pace of play was good. Challenging.

Dave

Date Played: 09/01/2011
100 0

Course was in good shape. Heavy rains from night before left water in some bunkers and some soft spots in fairway and rough. Loved the layout.

Brian

Date Played: 08/25/2011
100 0

Great design. Course was in really nice shape. Greens rolled smooth.

David

Date Played: 08/25/2011
100 0

Great shape!

Art

Date Played: 08/21/2011
100 0

I was at the beach without the waves.

Thomas

Date Played: 08/08/2011
100 0

I prepaid for a foursome. We had a family emergency and two golfers couldn't make it. I was told I couldn't get my money back for the two golfers, only rain checks. Looks like I'm eating $116.00.

Gary

Date Played: 08/02/2011
100 0

Played here 10 years ago and was surprised on how I enjoyed the round after all these years.

Marco

Date Played: 08/01/2011
100 0

Was a very hot day to play, it took a lot out of us but expected when you play in July.

John

Date Played: 07/31/2011
100 0

Very good condition. One of my favorite courses.

Tom

Date Played: 07/30/2011
100 0

Friendly service and excellent course.

Nick

Date Played: 07/26/2011
100 0

This course is extremely difficult. The greens are small and mostly surrounded by sand. I love the challenge of this course.

Peter

Date Played: 07/26/2011
100 0

Excellent course. Tough but fair design. Risk/reward all day long ... Can't wait to go back!

Dale

Date Played: 07/25/2011
100 0

Great golf course and very well maintained.

Terry

Date Played: 07/22/2011
100 0

Enjoyed the course very much. Will play again in the near future!

Claude

Date Played: 07/19/2011
100 0

Nice golf course, large fairways except the 10th hole. Very nice finishing hole on 18th instead that some works on that day.

Frederic

Date Played: 07/19/2011
100 0

Course was in outstanding condition even with the lack of rain in the area. I look forward to playing it again when I'm back in the area.

Diane

Date Played: 07/17/2011
100 0

Had a bit of trouble in the sand ...

Lewis

Date Played: 07/17/2011
100 0

Very scenic ... great Nicklaus design ... really liked the condition of the course ... liked the wide fairways ... was my favorite of the week ... birdied No. 10 ... made me feel really great.

Randy

Date Played: 07/15/2011
100 0

Good course. Very friendly staff.

Scott

Date Played: 07/05/2011
100 0

Double-(teeing) tee times.

Taylor

Date Played: 06/28/2011
100 0

Very impressed with golf course given the course was aerated 10 days prior. Beautiful but tough course. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Raymond

Date Played: 06/24/2011
100 0

Very nice course, looking forward to playing it again.

Josh

Date Played: 06/21/2011
100 0

The course was very nice, however I wish I would have known that the greens had just been aerated.

Larry

Date Played: 06/17/2011
100 0

Have played this course every time I come to Myrtle Beach of the last 12 years. This was the worst condition ever. Needs water on fairways and tees VERY BADLY. Different attitude of the staff made a return here questionable, particularly with all the great courses now available on the north side.

Jason

Date Played: 06/14/2011
100 0

Had a great time, Tom the starter was a great guy and did a good job of managing the member/guest play vs. the visitor play. Course was tough and a lot of fun to play. There were a few bad spots on the course though I think that I was told that they would be plugging the course soon.

Roger

Date Played: 06/09/2011
100 0

A good experience.

Jeremy

Date Played: 06/01/2011
100 0

As always, one of the best courses to play on the Grand Strand. The course condition was outstanding and the service was great. Have played Long Bay at least 15 times and keep coming back for more.

David

Date Played: 05/26/2011
100 0

Very playable course, generous fairways, wonderful greens.

Linda

Date Played: 05/25/2011
100 0

Nice all around.

Steven

Date Played: 05/21/2011
100 0

Starter was a jerk.

William

Date Played: 05/16/2011
100 0

From the pro shop to the starters and greenskeepers, all were very polite and helpful.

Chris

Date Played: 04/14/2011
100 0

Tom the starter is the best starter in Myrtle Beach! His personality, wit, and humor make the first tee area a great experience.

Raymond

Date Played: 04/02/2011
100 0

Challenging and nice conditioned course. Fast but fair greens. Well protected greens and waste bunkers will be a struggle for high handicappers.

Mike

Date Played: 03/15/2011
100 0

Greens need work - little rough winter?

Eddie

Date Played: 03/05/2011
100 0

This is a very nice course. The greens were in great shape and rolled true. I would recommend this course to anyone.

Pat

Date Played: 02/26/2011
100 0

Started off the back, pushed to start before tee time; told we would be the last to start on the back, then a threesome was put behind us, pushing all day.

Jack

Date Played: 02/16/2011
100 0

The golf conditions were not good due to weather. Not the fault of the course.

Vantanee

Date Played: 02/06/2011
100 0

The condition of the greens is excellent with this kind weather.

Richard

Date Played: 01/12/2011
100 0

Nice course. Liked it all. Loved the bunkering around the greens. Really liked some of the par 3s.

Jacques-Yvan

Date Played: 01/01/2011
100 0

With his reputation, I would think that this golf course would be in greater shape; but layout and golf course design is pretty nice and good for a great challenge. I appreciate my golfing day; we play in winter season. We will come back in spring season; I'm sure that golf course conditions will be better. Thanks, A+.

Brandan

Date Played: 11/23/2010
100 0

Great course. Greens were rolling true. Will play again.

Harold

Date Played: 11/16/2010
100 0

Challenging but playable course. It was a great experience. I would recommend this course to anyone of any skill level.

Gary

Date Played: 11/14/2010
100 0

Liked number 10 and 18. Playing course for first time, I was unsure of where hazards were on some holes. Greens were slow.

Judgee

Date Played: 11/13/2010
100 0

Played the day after a torrential downpour and still loved the course. Very challenging but fair and other than cart path only we had no complaints whatsoever.

Bruce

Date Played: 11/11/2010
100 0

(Would like to have known prior to play) if it is cart-path-only.

Kelly

Date Played: 11/01/2010
100 0

Coming back to play.

Robert

Date Played: 11/01/2010
100 0

Majority of bunkers where unplayable, filled with water.

Richard

Date Played: 10/26/2010
100 0

Nice layout and friendly staff. Tees were a bit rough and fairways were dried out.

Gene

Date Played: 10/23/2010
100 0

Had played once before and enjoyed this time also.

Laddie

Date Played: 10/23/2010
100 0

Staff very friendly.

Bruce

Date Played: 10/10/2010
100 0

Nice course. Wanted to bring my kids here.

Jarrod

Date Played: 09/21/2010
100 0

Awesome course.

Ryan

Date Played: 09/19/2010
100 0

Really enjoyed Long Bay! I will definitely play here again. Course is in great shape. Greens are really good and smooth, 9 out of 10! Nice setting. Some great holes and lots of risk/reward shots.

Jamie

Date Played: 09/18/2010
100 0

The greens were top dressed and hard to judge speed and break. The fairway lies were tight. It was a challenging course that I would play again.

Ken

Date Played: 09/14/2010
100 0

Great course and would play it again. Played from the tips and very challanging. Well protected greens and definitely a course that you should play more than once. Great yardage markings and signage. One issue was when we completed golf around 2 p.m., the grill was not serving food and beverage cart also stopped early, minor issue compared to the great course conditions.

Michael

Date Played: 09/10/2010
100 0

The pins were a little bit too PGA for the foursome I played in. We all enjoyed the round but I think we would have enjoyed it more if the pins were not 4 paces off the edge on most of the greens.

James

Date Played: 09/09/2010
100 0

Island green par 3 not as tough as I thought it would be. A fair yet challenging test of golf skills. Nothing hot except hot dogs in snack bar at 2 pm! Worker @ snack bar not very friendlly or helpful (young female).

Anna

Date Played: 09/05/2010
100 0

My favorite hole was #10; the course is beautiful and forgiving although challenging.

Stephen

Date Played: 09/04/2010
100 0

Very enjoyable round.

Patrick

Date Played: 08/31/2010
100 0

Loved the course ... challenging but not intimidating.

Michael

Date Played: 08/24/2010
100 0

The fairways were in great shape, but I was disappointed in the greens.

Mark

Date Played: 08/18/2010
100 0

I didn't even finish ... walked off at nine it was so poor. Had to hit over grounds crew three times, they started a group right in front of us as we made the turn and we had to wait 10 minutes just to see them begin to hack their way down the 10th fairway. Course had just been punched (greens). HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

Jack

Date Played: 08/18/2010
100 0

I played on 8/17. Long Bay is probably one the of the best conditioned golf courses in the area, and I live here and have played a lot of these golf courses in this extremely hot summer. The staff was great, the greens rolled true, but not as fast as they look. The rough was not that high, but it's bermuda rough, so the ball nestles down pretty good - so expect no flyer lies! Also, to even make this round more enjoyable, I booked my round @ Martin's PGA Superstore, and only played $50! Great golf course and a must-play!

Frank

Date Played: 08/11/2010
100 0

Favorite course of our trip. Loved the layout and the separation between holes. The water holes and the beauty of #10 made the day unique. Definitely had to choose ball placement.

Cary

Date Played: 08/08/2010
100 0

Outstanding service in pro shop. Mixed up day of play and pro shop called and traded with other course.

Simon

Date Played: 07/31/2010
100 0

Great golf course!

Lee

Date Played: 07/29/2010
100 0

Played Long Bay on July 23rd, 2010. We got to the clubhouse and ordered coffee before we played and the response was, We don't have coffee this early in the morning. We had a tee time for 7:30 a.m. and we had to wait on the starter. Then the starter sent us to the back nine to start even though we had tee times scheduled well in advance. When we made the turn, there were a lot of groups in front of us and play came to a standstill. How frustrating on this very hot day! As mentioned, it was an extremely hot day and the cart lady only showed up one time the entire round and that was on Hole #16 as we almost completed our round. The fairways were partially brown; however, the greens were in good shape. We set up tee times on the internet and saved ourselves some money by doing so, but Jack would not be proud of the shape the course is in, nor the service that was provided. This high end course needs an overhaul. Thanks, but no thanks. Will not play again!

Michael

Date Played: 07/27/2010
100 0

July 2010 - The signiture hole (10) was ripped up for drainage issues and tees were pushed forward to the ladies tee box. The best known hole was an eyesore that played mid-iron/pitch.

Sundeep

Date Played: 07/27/2010
100 0

The greens were excellent, but I feel some fairways had brown patches/no grass or was under repair (Mr.Nicklaus would not approve of!). The tee boxes were uneven. But overall a good course for the money and not overcrowded.

Randy

Date Played: 07/26/2010
100 0

Starter confused. Ranger said we were way behind and needed to speed up. He said don't make me come back out here. Had one player struggling. Got to the next tee, a par 3 and we had to wait. This made me get in a hurry and caused two doubles in a row.

Travis

Date Played: 07/25/2010
100 0

They call it Jack's sandbox for a reason. I loved this course. It was challenging and the course was in very good condition. Would absolutely play again.

Juan

Date Played: 07/21/2010
100 0

Classy and detailed and affordable! I have played it several times and i still leave impressed at the end of each round. It is good reason to drive from Erie, Penn. to play there a couple times a year.

Randy

Date Played: 07/20/2010
100 0

This course was in excellent condition. There was a bit of construction but it was hardly noticed. Greens putted true to the line the ball was on, and the fairways were top notch. There did seem to be a lot of bunkers, but maybe that's because I seemed to find almost every one of them on the front!! We come to North Myrtle every year and had not played this course in probably 8 years. Well worth the money to play at 3:30 p.m. Course was clear of anyone.

Jonathan

Date Played: 07/18/2010
100 0

Love the course. This was my second year playing it and I am looking forward to next year. I would have to say it is my favorite course in the Myrtle Beach area.

Charlie

Date Played: 07/11/2010
100 0

Great fees for this time of year.

Chris

Date Played: 07/05/2010
100 0

The course was in horrible shape due to the rain, but there was no mention of that while we dropped our clubs off or from the starter. Every trap was FULL of water and every fairway was 1/2 inch deep. It was too bad, cause the course seemed like it would have been nice, but then the staff let us down a bit too. Not good food or drinks either.

Christopher

Date Played: 07/05/2010
100 0

Loved the place! Could have done without the houses (didn't hit any, btw). Definitely plan to play at Long Bay again.

David

Date Played: 07/04/2010
100 0

I have always enjoyed the Long Bay Club. It is one of the best in Myrtle Beach.

James

Date Played: 06/16/2010
100 0

Beautiful course in great shape. Fun and challenging.

Jong

Date Played: 06/16/2010
100 0

Course was in great condition. Cart girl, starter, and pro shop were friendly and helpful. Overall had a great experience.

Aaron

Date Played: 05/27/2010
100 0

The greens were somewhat small. This course was challenging but was a fun course to play.

David

Date Played: 05/27/2010
100 0

(I liked the) club choice due to being away from northern atmosphere.

Jason

Date Played: 05/25/2010
100 0

Nobody there to greet us on the way out or in. May as well have been a cheap local course. When we dropped off our cart the pro shop attendant was standing outside the door smoking and never said a word as we unloaded our clubs and walked out. Nice layout, but it was not in good condition. Most tee boxes were dirt and traps were mud. Not worth the green fees.

Christopher

Date Played: 05/22/2010
100 0

Great course - best value on the Strand.

Gregory

Date Played: 05/12/2010
100 0

O nly drawback was the split tees, finished the front 9 in 1 hr. 45 min. and had to wait 35 min. to start the back and then the back9 took almost 2 and 1/2 hrs ... I know it's a common practice but it does promote slooooow play!

Malcolm

Date Played: 05/10/2010
100 0

Course too hard for 20 handicap player, but beautiful layout.

Douglas

Date Played: 05/09/2010
100 0

Lots of sand ...

Bruno

Date Played: 05/09/2010
100 0

Favorite holes, price for quality.

Danny

Date Played: 05/06/2010
100 0

Very countoured greens with a lot of slope. Also well maintained. Finishing hole was our favorite. Nice clubhouse. Enjoyed the surroundings.

Jared

Date Played: 05/04/2010
100 0

Greens were a bit crusty due to rye grass dying and bermuda starting. Pace of play was slow when we made the turn, but it was a nice course with narrow greens that are well protected.

Jeremy

Date Played: 04/28/2010
100 0

The best of the three courses I played this week (MBN West and Wild Wing Avocet being the other two). In pretty good condition (although the golf buggy tracks through the enormous bunkers were kinda odd for me, the bunkers themselves were short of sand and I am not a fan of gimmicky island green par 3s - c'mon Jack, you're better than that!), it is a well thought-out track which will test the best of golfers whilst also giving just rewards for good shots. Long Bay should be on your list for a MB golf trip, especially with the early bird discount making it excellent value for money.

Rich

Date Played: 04/24/2010
100 0

Great course! The design is awesome and the conditions were excellent. Better bring your A game.

Thomas

Date Played: 04/22/2010
100 0

Started on 10, daunting hole to start but just beautiful and very challenging. Loved the course. Have always wanted to play the course and happy I did. Internet special sealed the deal, 1/2 price because we teed off before 8 AM. Not a good course for the 90+ golfer (they can't get out of the bunkers).

Jack

Date Played: 04/17/2010
100 0

I thought the course was in good shape; only a few minor rough spots. I would recommend Long Bay to anyone looking for a challenging course.

David

Date Played: 04/16/2010
100 0

A very good course, typical of Nicklaus design. Tough but fair. Excellent conditions for so early in the growing season. Many of the traps were not good, however. There was a 1/2 of loose, good sand over hard pan that would not let a wedge to pass under the ball. Need to deep rake those traps now that winter is over.

Mark

Date Played: 04/11/2010
100 0

Great course. The greens were fast. Very difficult course if you miss the green on your approach shot.

Thomas

Date Played: 04/09/2010
100 0

Everything was fine.

Matthew

Date Played: 04/07/2010
100 0

Enjoyed the course very much, very challenging and beautiful layout. Very nice people running the place.

Rick

Date Played: 04/04/2010
100 0

Excellent course. Very happy with everything there.

Frederick

Date Played: 03/29/2010
100 0

Very difficult. A lot of sand and some very narrow greens which for the amateur may be too difficult to enjoy.

Kent

Date Played: 03/27/2010
100 0

Tremendous layout! It was a gorgeous day with good friends on a great course - among the nicest I've ever played. Thank you for making our round such a memorable experience. When back in the area, we'll plan to return.

Nathan

Date Played: 03/23/2010
100 0

I really enjoyed playing this course for the first time. There were a handful of memorable holes including #5, 10, and especially 18. The pace of play was the best I've experienced in the MB area in the spring. We finished our round in just under 4 hours. The greens were in great condition and the bunkers were well manicured. My only complaint was that the tee boxes were not quite up to par with the rest of the course conditions. Many of the tees felt like they had elephants buried under them and it was difficult to find a nice level spot to tee off from. The other observation that I made about this course is that it plays somewhat difficult if you are struggling with your iron play. Most of the greens are narrow and guarded on the front by hazards (mostly sand) which forces you to carry the ball to the flag and land it soft. There is no room to run it onto the green and if you are long often times there is a deep bunker that will collect everything that rolls through the green. Overall I would highly recommend this course.

Cory

Date Played: 03/17/2010
100 0

Some unique holes which gave a great challenge. Tough greens as well.

Rick

Date Played: 02/22/2010
100 0

Played for the first time Feb 22, 2010. Layout is as great as advertised. Course conditions were just OK (this has been a tough winter). Enjoyed the round and the weather (this was the nicest day since mid-November).

Cameron

Date Played: 01/19/2010
100 0

Late start with a lot of people. Nice course, but kind of rude to deal with. In my opinion, with the number of golfers there (our party alone had 11 golfers), we should have done a shotgun start with being pushed back 2 hours. The course was nice, but felt rushed and starter and others appeared they could care less as long as you did as told and paid your money. Not pleased with the service, but nice course.

Tom

Date Played: 11/17/2009
100 0

bad starter no instructions no score card handed out SLOW PLAY no ranger to move people

Mike

Date Played: 11/09/2009
100 0

It was a nice course enjoyed by all.

Chris

Date Played: 10/26/2009
100 0

Great layout ... great staff ... enjoyed the round, just wish Jack would leave a few things out on his designs (e.g. elevated green on #10 ... C'mon, Jack!).

Mark

Date Played: 10/21/2009
100 0

Course could be more secluded

Ashby

Date Played: 10/19/2009
100 0

A golfer of my caliber (not very good) should probably not play here, but if you like a challenge, then this right up your alley.

Tom

Date Played: 10/14/2009
100 0

Never play this course again! Greens all chewed up. Tee boxes not much better. Long Bay is overrated. Poor greens and gimmicky. The course is set up like Jack is playing. I am a 9 handicap, shot 84 and had no fun at all. We all had the same opinion in the group. NO FUN AT ALL. Tee off at 8 a.m. and waited on every hole on the back. Took 3 hrs and 15 min. to play the back. No fun!

Wladyslaw

Date Played: 10/13/2009
100 0

I played with Gary who works there. Great course.

Ken

Date Played: 10/01/2009
100 0

Didn't like the tee times off of 1 and 10. We were the first group off from number 1. Finished the front nine and had to wait for 2 groups to tee off the back nine and then had slow play on the back nine. Course was great and greens putted true, though a little slow. As a single got teamed up with another two golfers.

Jeff

Date Played: 09/30/2009
100 0

Nice Golf Course

Payton34ever

Date Played: 09/24/2009
100 0

For a Nicklaus course, this was easily in the worst shape of the courses along Route 9. I played Aberdeen on the same day and Woodland Hills the day before and they were in excellent shape and very green. For the money you pay to play, this course was in horrible shape and should be avoided until they get some serious work done. The signature 10th hole and the first hole look like they were recently set on fire.

John

Date Played: 09/23/2009
100 0

One of the best courses in the Myrtle Beach area.

Philip

Date Played: 09/17/2009
100 0

Loved it - would highly recommend.

Richard

Date Played: 09/09/2009
100 0

I loved the course, but my foursome found it a bit long from the white tees ... too many 3 irons and 5 woods for 2nd shots into par 4's.

Philip

Date Played: 09/05/2009
100 0

It is a great course. As a single I was paired up with 3 other players which I didn't like. The course was in good shape. The back nine greens were very sandy though.

David

Date Played: 08/16/2009
100 0

Very enjoyable round. Course was in excellent shape and it is an outstanding layout. A few too many insects however, which may be unavoidable in the summertime. I will definitely look to play agin in cooler weather, hopefully this fall.

Gary

Date Played: 08/10/2009
100 0

This is a very interesting course and design. Good layout BUT the greens are bermuda and slow. Should play this at least once.

Sonny

Date Played: 08/08/2009
100 0

Good course ... too many local rules.

J-Francois

Date Played: 07/31/2009
100 0

Like the course, greens could have been a little faster but overall a very nice experience.

Peter

Date Played: 07/29/2009
100 0

Beautiful and challenging course with superior greens.

Gary

Date Played: 07/28/2009
100 0

Excellent golf course! Service was great. We tee off late (1:50 p.m.) and were a bit disappointed that the pro shop was closed when we finished (6:20 p.m.).

Terry

Date Played: 07/14/2009
100 0

Enjoyable course.

Robert

Date Played: 07/06/2009
100 0

beautiful course, great condition. very challenging for a player of my skill level.

Charles

Date Played: 06/29/2009
100 0

Greens were still recovering for aeration.

Tim

Date Played: 05/26/2009
100 0

Nice track but the attitude of the starter is enough to push this course down the list. Too many other courses around that make your golf enjoyable.

Randy

Date Played: 04/21/2009
100 0

I really liked this course and it was in great shape tees to greens.

Joseph

Date Played: 04/20/2009
100 0

Great welcome from pro shop staff!!

Jason

Date Played: 04/14/2009
100 0

Nice course. Fair value.

David

Date Played: 04/11/2009
100 0

Very nice course. The staff were very friendly.

John

Date Played: 04/07/2009
100 0

Best course I've played for the 2009 season!

Dominic

Date Played: 03/28/2009
100 0

loved long bay

Bill

Date Played: 03/12/2009
100 0

Enjoyable round; things were nice.

Howard

Date Played: 02/23/2009
100 0

excellent-very pretty-challenging

Joseph

Date Played: 02/23/2009
100 0

Great tee boxes, no aerated greens, low-cut fairways.

John

Date Played: 02/23/2009
100 0

Very nice course, friendly staff.

Jerry

Date Played: 02/23/2009
100 0

Thank you for raking the traps. Everywhere else the bunkers were rock hard.

Harry

Date Played: 02/21/2009
100 0

Greens in good shape.

David

Date Played: 02/17/2009
100 0

I have played seven rounds on other courses and this is the best by far.

Heraldine

Date Played: 02/05/2009
100 0

The entire course was in excellent shape and very challenging.

William

Date Played: 02/03/2009
100 0

Maybe the best layout I've ever played. The Par 3's are spectacular. The greens were a touch slow, but very true.

Brian

Date Played: 02/03/2009
100 0

Beautiful course. Enjoyed it greatly

Ralph

Date Played: 02/03/2009
100 0

Beautiful course. Great condition.

Anonymous

Date Played: 01/12/2009
100 0

I got directions from the MBN website and it sent me on a dirt road which was incorrect. and I was late for my tee time. You must get that fixed.

Fred

Date Played: 01/08/2009
100 0

Very good course.

Steven

Date Played: 11/22/2008
100 0

Everything is great on this course.

Stephen

Date Played: 09/24/2008
100 0

An excellent representative of the course in the pro shop - a very enjoyable experience in spite of the weather.

Enter Your Address: