Back to All Courses

Myrtlewood Golf Club - Palmetto Course

Myrtlewood Golf Club - Palmetto Course

The Palmetto Course is one of two championship golf courses at Myrtlewood Golf Club. The Palmetto Course was designed by architect Edmund Ault and was opened for play in 1972. Just like its sister course PineHills, the Palmetto course is found at a great location sandwiched between the Intracoastal Waterway and downtown Myrtle Beach. The Palmetto Course has been continuously ranked as one of the top repeat-play golf courses along the Grand Strand featuring gently sloping fairways and large, undulating greens separated by an array of water hazards and strategically placed bunkers. The quality of this course combined with the location and value make it was one the most popular courses in the area. 1-866-694-2448
1500 48th Avenue Extension North Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 612 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

The Palmetto Course is one of two championship golf courses at Myrtlewood Golf Club.  The Palmetto Course was designed by architect Edmund Ault and was opened for play in 1972. Just like its sister course PineHills, the Palmetto course is found at a great location sandwiched between the Intracoastal Waterway and downtown Myrtle Beach.  The Palmetto Course has been continuously ranked as one of the top repeat-play golf courses along the Grand Strand featuring gently sloping fairways and large, undulating greens separated by an array of water hazards and strategically placed bunkers. The quality of this course combined with the location and value make it was one the most popular courses in the area.

There are three holes that will jump out at you on the Palmetto Course: #14, #17 and the beautiful finishing 18th hole.   The 14th at Palmetto is a relatively short par 4 running about 391 yards from the back tees, but make sure you hit an accurate tee shot because water lurks to your right and out of bounds to your left, the 14th simply has a great view from the tee box looking at the back drop of houses behind the elevated green.  The 17th hole is a short par 3 ranging only 179 yards from the back tees.  It is all downhill and over water to a bunker guarded green, with a great view of the Intracoastal Waterway on your left.  The finishing 18th hole that runs parallel to the Intracoastal Waterway is simply stunning. This hole offers a beautiful view but can be a monster depending on wind direction. From the back tees the 18th on Palmetto will run every bit of 470 yards and from the white tees it is 368 yards, almost a 100-yard difference from one tee box and it’s only a par 4!  With the waterway and a few bunkers to the left and two fairways bunkers to the right, the fairway is actually pretty wide and forgiving. The popular 17th and 18th give Palmetto one of the best finishes to any round of golf in the Myrtle Beach area.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Myrtlewood Golf Club - Palmetto Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Mike

02/28/2017

This is a nice course in very nice condition. The fairways are great. Greens rolled well. The course has many challenging holes, but is fair for golfers of all levels.The staff is very friendly. Definitely a must play.

John

01/25/2017

A great layout and a fun course to play for all level of golfers. Fair but lurking trouble with water and some strategic placed bunkers. The course was wet due to the last 2 days of rain and was cart path only. Fairways are thin but the greens are immaculate for this time of year (good job). My only issue with this outing was that we were told not asked about a single joining our twosome than on the first tee another golfer showed up right when I was hitting my tee shot...lack of courtesy from the course and golfer!

Jeff

05/23/2016

This place is great, top notch course. Great lawn ball play, greens were fast and consistent. Staff very nice and professional. Look forward to coming back.

Ted

04/09/2016

Tee boxes, fairways & greens are in excellent shape. Greens would be better if golfers would fix their ball marks. Repaired recent ball marks on most greens. Staff was very nice. 17 & 18 are great finishing holes along the waterway. Not an overly difficult layout but a enough water & sand to keep you honest. Pace of play for this time of the year was acceptable. A must play.

Mike

02/15/2016

Staff very friendly upon arrival. Was a cold windy day, but course was in great shape. Greens putted very true, but were a little slower than some other courses, not bad though. Interesting layout, challenging but fair. Clubhouse gal was very friendly and attentive. Definitely be back again.

Gerard

12/08/2014

Very good.

Mike

12/04/2014

Really like this course.

Corey

12/03/2014

Slow play because they don't turn you away if you don't have a tee time. Very nice course. Just didn't like waiting on every shot.

Sabrina

11/25/2014

Great Course!

Oscar

11/20/2014

I am a 77 year young senior citizen with an 18 handicap. I enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing its sister course when I visit Myrtle Beach Next Year. The course was in very good shape for my November tee time.

Danny

11/18/2014

Really enjoyed the digital caddie. Great staff in the pro-shop just as well as the cart attendants.

Robert

11/16/2014

Excellent.

M/M

11/16/2014

Very good.

Dan

11/15/2014

Excellent.

Robert

11/13/2014

Those two courses were very clean .I'll recommend to my friends.

Jerry

11/12/2014

Course was in very good shape and greens were nice to putt on.

Nick

11/10/2014

Excellent.

Kevin

10/30/2014

Good.

William

10/27/2014

Good.

Karen

10/21/2014

Everyone was very helpful ... only problem we encountered was we were told snack bars on certain holes but they were not open.

Pat

10/21/2014

(Would like to have known prior to play about the) green condition.

Robert

10/16/2014

(Would like to have known prior to play) that they were going to pair us with another couple.

Joseph

10/16/2014

All was good on the course.

Joyce

10/15/2014

Fantastic.

Brandon

10/14/2014

I liked the layout. #18 is a beautiful hole along the waterway. I was a little disappointed in the greens, slow and quite bumpy compared to other courses I played the same week.

Nick

10/09/2014

Great course, and in nice shape. Greens slow in mornings, but speed up as the day goes on. I'd recommend this to visitors, but don't make tee time via clubhouse...it is twice the price.

Timothy

10/06/2014

I have played both the Palmetto and the Pines courses before but, I have never seen the Palmetto course in such great condition.

Robert

10/04/2014

Easy course, open enough for average golfer.

Richard

10/03/2014

I had a 2:45 tee time, although late should have allowed enough time to finish the course before dark. Play was slow and the ranger made no attempt to speed up play during the afternoon. He did come by late in the day to tell us that our cart had to be back in by 7:00. Driving by the 17th tee to return to the clubhouse by 7:00, there were 5 golf carts with players waiting to tee off, plus three sets of carts out playing the 18th hole. The slow play and lack of customer service will keep me from returning to this course - there are plenty of other courses in Myrtle Beach with faster play.

Ed

09/24/2014

Though the course was busy, as a single, starter got me in earlier than my tee time. Ranger kept play moving and our foursome finished in 4:15.

Timothy

09/20/2014

All was good value

Johnny

09/17/2014

Good.

Aaron

09/16/2014

Had a great time.

Peter

09/12/2014

Course conditions were very good. Good pace of play.

Kevin

09/11/2014

Excellent.

Perry

08/14/2014

The refreshment booths and restrooms at various locations along the course are very useful.

Bryan

06/18/2014

Ok

Robert

06/12/2014

Course is pretty and well maintained. Te 18th hole on the Palmetto course is an awesome sight.

James

06/10/2014

Greens were aerated on 5/28 so not completely healed but not bad. Tees and fairways were in good shape and the rough areas, which I visit often, were acceptable. Course was very fair but I still found the sand 7 times or so.

William

06/09/2014

Pace of play

Don

06/09/2014

Never saw the cart girl on the front nine. Once on the back

Robert

06/09/2014

This is the tenth time I have golfed at this course, although more expensive than most it is always in excellent condition and fun to play

Walter

06/05/2014

Great for getting my first gamesin . convenient driving range. good sandwiches. played there 100 times.

Gloria

06/05/2014

This was my first visit to Myrtle Beach and I enjoyed playign this course. I found it to be a good mixture of easy/challenging.

Louis

06/05/2014

Reply Price

Joshua

06/05/2014

Na

Harry

06/02/2014

Greens were a little shabby.

Francis

06/02/2014

Loved the views of the intracoastal waterway. Challenging but fair.

Richard

06/02/2014

Good

William

06/02/2014

Good

Page 1 of 5 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Myrtlewood Golf Club - Palmetto Course Articles

Fun Retail Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

Meredith catches up with Casey Cook, Director of Retail for Founders Group International. Casey showcases some of the fun new merchandise items that you will find throughout the golf shops in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

Play In The Shade - Five Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Where The Sun Won’t Beat You Down

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has a large number of courses where the layouts were built throughout magnificent tree lines offering some shade. What’s more, many of them are situated in natural breezeways that give players some reprieve from the summer heat. - Read More

Kid-Friendly Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has crafted itself into a dual golfing identity - one where adults have their fun and another where parents can bring the kids and still enjoy every minute of the vacation. This will help those who want to achieve the latter. - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

Golf Insider’s Top 10 Trending Myrtle Beach Courses for Spring 2016

For those with spring fever looking for a bit of guidance, the ones who’ve already experienced Grand Strand golf in 2016 are weighing in at the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider with their thoughts on the area’s hottest-trending courses heading into the peak season. - Read More

Happy Holidays from Myrtle Beach Golf Trips!

Santa's 2015 holiday sleigh ride tour included the Grand Strand. Check out what he saw when he flew by some of our renowned golf courses. - Read More