Back to All Courses

Crown Park

Crown Park

Located just a few miles west of North Myrtle Beach in Longs, South Carolina, Crown Park Golf Club has carved out a niche as being a home- and condo-free golf environment away from the slightly more hectic pace of the Grand Strand’s busiest areas. 1-866-694-2448
2225 Highway 9 West Longs, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 97 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Located just a few miles west of North Myrtle Beach in Longs, South Carolina, Crown Park Golf Club has carved out a niche as being a home- and condo-free golf environment away from the slightly more hectic pace of the Grand Strand’s busiest areas.

Measuring at 6,477 yards from the back tees, Crown Park is going to overwhelm the majority of players with sheer distance. However, the Robbie Byers design implemented doglegs, mounding and streams to keep the challenge present. Because of that, brute power isn’t going to pay off. Water is present on 14 of the 18 holes. And while the hardest hole on the course – the par-4, 397-yard No. 3 – may not look like much, a tee shot brings water into the equation before funneling to the green throughout the final half of the hole. There’s also a dogleg left as tight as any on the Grand Strand on the par-4 No. 7, the need to hit over water twice on the par-4 No. 12 (which also includes a dogleg right) and then a different approach altogether on No. 15. That hole, a “true three-shot” par 5 measuring 549 yards, players are actually asked to go very long off the tee as to avoid having to lay up prior to a natural grass hazard that cuts the fairway in half. Just to make it more interesting, a narrow, 37-yard green awaits your approach shot.

Crown Park Golf Club recently received a rating of 7.6 from reviewers at Myrtle Beach Golf Insider. The course also drew higher marks in terms of pro shop and staff. The course is still in its relative infancy – it opened in 2002 – but already it has been recognized as the “Golf Course Maintenance Operation of the Year” by the Classic Golf Group, meaning the conditions on the par-72 track are at a premium.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Crown Park

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

JOHN (conway, sc)

04/20/2017

I had not played CP for a while and the current condition of the course will only push my next replay for many more months. The fairways are thin and the greens have been hit with some type of disease (let's say that a leopard has less spots...). Furthermore the customer service at the course went from great to mediocre at best! Care to enjoy a golf outing do not have this one on the menu...

Golfer (Myrtle Beach, South Carolina)

03/25/2017

Overall a fun course at a nice price. I would place it in the middle as to types of courses available in MB. Winter Greens and they are a bit rough. I am not sure if they had cut new holes in several days. Fairways nice. This course can be wet, but was fine when I played. We rode all the fairways. Traps had sand, but it could be raked to fluff it up again. Course can play slow due to the layout of the holes. We played in 4 1/2 hours. Staff is very friendly, and it is a pleasant experience. I would play here again.

Bobby,

01/13/2017

What a pleasant surprise - peaceful layout with no homes or distractions...course was in really good shape...greens were as smooth as any on the Grand Strand...excellent service from bag drop, golf shop - professional staff (Rob), food & beverage, and beverage cart (Tiger)...golf course superintendent even stopped by during our round to check with us - play this one!!!

Ted,

11/29/2016

Still recovering from Hurricane Matthew. Course is in OK shape but I have seen it much better. 4 Holes still cart path only

René,

11/19/2016

Great golf course for the price. Nice design, greens are speedy. Fairways were a little wet on the front nine because of seeding but overall really satisfying. I will play it again for sure.

John

11/05/2016

Always consider this course a hidden gem but the I can only describe the course at present time as WET and of thin grass fairways. Recommend to wait and see for mow!

Barry (Stamford, CT)

11/01/2016

Excellent

Ted,

08/30/2016

Course is in GREAT SHAPE. Greens are some of the best on the Strand right now. Pace of play excellent & $29 to play. Are you kidding me????

Ted,

06/29/2016

Greens were just aerified about 4 weeks ago but have come back very nice. Tee Boxes & Fairways are in good shape. Pace of play was 4 hours. I highly recommend playing this golf. Local rate for greens fee with cart $29. Can't beat it.......

Marcel,

04/22/2016

I had called the club before booking and was told the course was in excellent condition. The real facts are that the tee offs,fairways and sand traps were in real bad shape. The greens were in terrible condition and I would rate them -9 on a scale of 1 to 10. I would not recommend this course to anyone. Avis aux canadiens: évitez ce terrain.

Simon,

11/13/2015

Great Shape, great Greens and friendly staff.

Simon,

11/13/2015

Course is in great shape, loved the conditions, Staff amazing.

Ralph (Los Alamos, NM)

10/15/2015

Fairways still wet due to earlier rain. That causes the good rating above. Nothing they can do about that.

A

10/03/2015

What a great and pleasant surprise. The course was in great shape. Greens superb. Our group of 24 will definitely return. The employees go out of their way to accommodate you.

Bruce,

08/04/2015

What a great day at one of the best kept secrets in the Myrtle Beach area. Played from the back tees. The course was challenging and yet very fair. The course was in good condition considering the heat and the staff is amongst the friendliest in the area. Combine this with a great price and overall it was a very enjoyable day.

Bob,

07/09/2015

The course was in great shape, with the greens putting very well. There were very few players on the course, so my threesome made the round in 3 hours. I would definitely play again.

Jim,

04/29/2015

Great course!

Cathy,

03/27/2015

Great value and course!

James,

03/19/2015

Love it! Good people.

Blaine,

03/19/2015

Enjoyed it! 8 out of 10 stars.

Dustin,

03/19/2015

Great course! Excellent shape!

Mark,

03/19/2015

Looking good!

Bernie,

02/02/2015

Super! Great time!

Dusty,

02/02/2015

Looks nice!

Randal,

01/30/2015

Excellent!

Bob,

01/30/2015

Love it here!

Steve,

01/30/2015

Had fun!

B.

10/29/2014

Nice course.

Phil,

10/29/2014

Great course!

Everett,

10/08/2014

We have been playing Crown Park for many years. We absolutely love this course and the staff. We are excited about the new ownership and the future plans for renovations. Ten greenside bunkers have already been fixed in 2014.

Jeff (Hagerstown, MD)

11/19/2013

Good

Clark,

11/12/2013

We all went only one time. place was not well kept, staff was not helpful. Had to wait to be waited on for our already tee time. Grill was awful from staff to selection of food and drink. very warm busy day no beverage cart. The golf course was not kept up at all greens were horrible

William (Climax, NY)

11/05/2013

Reasonable course. Good starting course for your week. Not too long but it did have a lot of doglegs and short holes. Could only hit driver 2 times on the front nine and only 4 times on the back. The staff were very friendly and the superintendent gave us some good tips on the practice green.

Gregory (Ottawa, ON)

04/29/2013

Great

Michael (Coraopolis, PA)

04/18/2013

Terrific

Donna (Rochester, NY)

01/16/2013

Mowers were a bit distracting at times.

Scott (Cascade, VA)

11/23/2012

The course was extremely wet. The tee boxes were very wet and hard to find dry spaces in Fairways. No rain in two days, but very heavy watering.

Ron (Charlottesville, VA)

10/01/2012

Greens had a BLUE/green liquid sprayed on them and made hands and clothing blue. Course was very fair and greens putted true. Great way to end the week and a jump start on heading home since out on Rt. 9.

John (South Boston, MA)

07/30/2012

Very nice course. The staff was very friendly and met our every need. I highly recommend this course.

Danny (Stanley, NC)

06/10/2012

Very good.

Stones,

05/09/2012

Nice for the price and even came with GPS on the carts which was needed. Tricky layout with dog legs and hazards right in the driving alley. Would play from the tips next time to keep so driver isn't kept in the bag most of the day. Conditions were just OK.

Frank (Buena Vista, VA)

05/05/2012

Employees not very friendly.

Rob (Burke, Va.)

04/19/2012

Very good.

Arch,

03/14/2012

Played Crown Park as a recommendation by a fellow member in West Virginia and I was impressed as soon as I stepped on the property. The porch facing the course is similar to what you see at Pinehurst. Wooded fairways and undulating greens await golfers of all caliber. A great place to play - PERIOD!

Anthony,

03/14/2012

I tell you what, I have read a review from a guy complaining about the course and I KNOW this guy was at the wrong golf course. All the good golf is finding its way up to the north side of the island. There are modern designed and the technology in keeping them consistent ALL season long is in the North. Staff was impressive, food and beverage great and the course was a challenge. Greens are always in pristine condition while the fairways have the ball sitting up perfectly. Thank you for making my visit to MB a memorable one, Crown Park.

Doug,

03/14/2012

Crown Park was our first visit on the way down from Pennsylvania and we were welcomed as if we were back at our home club in Altoona. Staff was courteous, and the course was superb. In fact, we played CP again on our way back and have added it to our schedule for many golf trips to come. Greens are great and the course is a true challenge for all golfers.

Ralph,

01/07/2012

Don't waste your time, gas and money on this pretender - terrible drainage, dirt pot holes on fairways, untidy perimeters, unfriendly staff.

PE,

12/27/2011

Pleasant surprise, hidden gem, really liked the course layout, fun dog legs, heaters, covers, GPS all great

Robert (Boucherville, Quebec)

11/26/2011

I liked the large greens in perfect shape; couple of tricky holes; not too difficult of a course.

Charles (Rochelle Park, N.J.)

07/05/2011

Greens were aerated a day earlier but were not bad. The blue tee boxes were the worst I've ever played on. It appeared they chose not to care for those tees to restrict water usage. Would not consider returning here in the future.

Page 1 of 2 pages.
 1 2 > 

Photos and Video

Crown Park Articles

Winter Golf Not Only Exists, But Thrives, in Myrtle Beach

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. Up north, maybe. Down here in Golf Capital, U.S.A., we can’t be bothered with such environmental concerns. In South Carolina’s Grand Strand - a section of 60-plus miles of beaches and 90 or so golf courses - the links are still welcoming despite the season. - Read More