Back to All Courses

Hackler Course at CCU (formerly Quail Creek Golf Club)

Hackler Course at CCU (formerly Quail Creek Golf Club)

The Hackler Course at CCU bears the distinction of being the only university-based golf facility in the Myrtle Beach area. 1-866-694-2448
107 Citadel Drive Conway, SC
Rated 7/5 based on 80 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

With new athletics facilities a steadily emerging part of the recreational scene at Coastal Carolina University, the school has also made significant strides in bringing golf along for the ride.

The Hackler Course at CCU bears the distinction of being the only university-based golf facility in the Myrtle Beach area. It is operated by the school’s Professional Golf Management program, and manicured daily by the Sports Turf Management program with Horry Georgetown Technical College. Conveniently located off Hwy. 544 in Conway, the campus locale nonetheless offers a wonderful option for visiting golfers to test their game.

The Hackler Course’s signature holes conclude each nine-hole track. Both No. 9 and No. 18 feature water significantly, and have you hitting into diminutive, undulating greens that are well-protected by strategically-placed bunkers. These holes highlight a course whose layout will truly test your iron skills. Before or after your round, the Hackler Course a comprehensive practice facility for you to sharpen your game, featuring an all-grass driving range, large putting green and a three-hole short game area.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Hackler Course at CCU (formerly Quail Creek Golf Club)

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Mike

02/08/2017

They have a great deal here for passport members on Tuesdays. The course was very busy, but we were able to play in 4 hours. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The course is in very nice condition, especially tees and fairways. The greens were a bit slower than some of the other courses I have played, but putted true. Traps in good shape. Glad to see they had a set of tees just under 6,000 yds. Seems most courses go from 6300-5700, which I find too short. Definitely will play again.

Allen

11/28/2016

One of the best maintained courses I have ever played.

William

11/01/2016

Course was in great shape even so close to Hurricane Matthew coming through. There were a lot of trees that were down but staff cleared the course well and they were not in the way.

Forest

09/15/2016

Been coming down and playing for 6 years now. First time I've played Hackler. Booked 1:18 tee time, wife asked me that morning if I could play earlier. Called pro shop and was told to come on. They squeezed me in at 11:15. Course was wet from evening showers . Cart path only but pace was great. Other than wet , course was in amazing shape!!! Greens rolled better than any course I've played here. Between pro shop, starter, and course conditions we've found our new favorite golf course. Will definitely be back!!!!!

Michael

08/19/2016

Nice course. Practice round for junior tournament so it was nice to be able to play it prior. Would have liked to have a yardage book. Lots of opportunity to cut corners with better course knowledge.

Bill

08/16/2016

Greens were in great shape. The rough was interesting. You had to keep a close look on where the ball went, for fear of losing it.

Phil

08/04/2016

Nice course, only draw back was between several holes you had to drive the cart on public roads.

Rick

04/02/2016

Course was just ok.

John

11/27/2015

Greens true, well maintained. Golfers moved along, no hold ups.

Peter

08/25/2015

Nice greens, good value.

David

06/19/2015

(Would like to have known prior to play) that there was a junior tournament going on at this course that day.

Ted

05/04/2015

Staff does a great job.

Joyce

04/25/2015

Long for ladies, cart paths need lots of work, some ladies tees in horrible condition. Plus side, we had five birdies in our group, we got lots of roll because of hard fairways.

James

12/08/2014

Fair.

Gregory

11/03/2014

This course is one of the best courses in MB for the money. Greens were sanded so putting was not easy.

John

10/24/2014

Love this course, we have played it now two years in a row. Its probably the best for the money considering quality for the dollar. The greens were a little fast, cost us a few strokes here and there, but that's golf. Other than that it was a great play and we will be back here again.

Raymond

10/21/2014

Excellent.

Bob

12/09/2013

Very friendly staff. we'll be back

Joe

09/02/2013

Very inconsistent playing conditions. One fairway would be sopping wet, the next would be dry. Difficult to determine how your shot would react when it hit the ground.

Jerry

07/25/2013

If you are a lefty that has a built in hook, this is the course for you. The doglegs to the right are all over the place. Used a coupon in the paper for $25, but that is a local price. Regular price is very affordable at $28. The fairways were mostly great. A few spots due to high water, but easily overlooked based on overall condition. Most fairways were wide and forgiving of shots wide to left or right. Greens were fair,had remnants of aeration holes, but most rolled true. They were not fast, but they were wet when we played.

Ronald

06/25/2013

Nice course and quick to play. Not very long but the shots had to be precise. The people are very friendly. Only draw back is fighting the 501 traffic back to Myrtle Beach.

Chris

03/22/2013

Staff at bag drop, grill and clubhouse were awesome! We had such a fun time playing this course. The greens and fairways were overly firm but that is expected at the beginning of the season. We will return next year!

Pat

01/25/2013

Course was in good shape for winter golf, green nice and fairways green lots of doglegs left to right. Staff was very nice head pro took very good care of are large group.

Doug

01/04/2013

With heavy rain the night before, it would have been better to have closed this and most courses. Instead we were subjected to conditions on the course where standing water occupied most of the fairways. That meant that your drive only got a few inches of roll instead of a normal 20-30 yards. And since carts were not allowed to go on the fairways, (as was appropriate) you had to trek to your drive through mud and puddles. That made for a miserable day of golf on a course that you could tell would normally be enjoyable to play.

John

11/30/2012

Very good.

Lee

11/18/2012

Very good.

Raymond

11/14/2012

Excellent.

Jeff

10/30/2012

The golf cart lady was fun and engaging. Course was not crowded so round was relaxed for our group.

Stan

09/30/2012

Not Quail Creek anymore, now the Hackler Course at Coastal Carolina. Pretty bland layout, big wide fairways, not too much trouble, except for the greens. Lots of slopes, ridges, moguls on the greens. Greens were re-done last year and were pretty rough, lots of places patched and re-sodded, but they are obviously working hard on them.

Jerry

06/16/2012

Very good.

Wayne

05/28/2012

Good.

Chelsea

05/03/2012

Open course, and challenging!

John

04/23/2012

This is a fine course for the money. If you are looking for a course with insanely deep bunkers and hazards in your face at every turn, Hackler is not the course for you. It's a throwback to the style of course that invites you to play a clean, strong game or to beat yourself. If offers beautifully kept, undulating greens, challenging par threes, and an 18th hole with huge risk/reward characteristics. The bunkers feature wonderful, light sand and the fairways are well marked and in great shape. The numerous right doglegs make it tough for players short off the tee so choose your colors wisely. This course is often uncrowded though you have to make sure you avoid the many student outings where every foursome in front of you is on foot. The pro shop staff is friendly; the grill is limited in its offerings but never crowded. As a local (and CCU professor) I can get good rates at many other local courses but I keep coming back to the Hackler course because I know that my score will reflect how well I struck the ball that day, not how fiendishly creative some course designer could be.

Beausoleillouise

04/17/2012

This course is correct for the price. New grass tees are in good shape. Greens looks rapid but are not. Really firm and not receptive. Do not go for the flag. Staff was welcoming and kind enough to find a more early tee time.

Richard

03/28/2012

The par 3s and finishing hole were neat. Layout not bad at all. Greens were very slow but pretty much all the same.

Eddie

02/14/2012

This is a nice course. Played it 2/2012. This course has some twists and turns so you may need to use more than just a driver and 9 iron to get around it. The best part were the greens. Firm and rolled smooth & true. Only had two 3-putts all day. Forgot my range finder but found many yardage markers to help. Only thing was to get a tee time I need to go to pro shop, cannot get a tee time online as course is not setup for it at this time. Maybe why I could walk up at 10:30 and get out as a single with a cart. Try that at the BIG name courses! Have fun, I did.

Fred

09/19/2010

Course was empty most of the day, saw no one until we were on 14 ... not a bad course for the money at all, nice staff.

Carl

09/07/2010

Houses are very close on a few holes. Nice golf course.

David

08/22/2010

Excellent service and course. Would be even better if you had a picture of each hole at the tee boxes.

David

08/18/2010

This course if horrible! I have a Staff bag full of stuff, which can be pretty heavy at times. In 100*+ weather, I had at least 5 people telling me to go to this place, then that place ... having me run around the whole course. They need to get those apprentices outta there and get some REAL pros in there. They DON'T blow off their putting green/course greens very well at all! A 40 handicap could probably very easily break 100 here. There's NO challenge whatsoever. And you HAVE to limit your snack shop visit/at-the-turn, break, to 5 minutes! SERIOUSLY?! Their range isn't too horrible, however, have fun toting your bag clear across the parking lot, then across the street, to the range. I wish that my experiences could've been better, but, they weren't.

Bradley

08/08/2010

Nice course and very open. My wife very much enjoyed playing. Thank you.

Justin

06/02/2010

Great course. It has some really challenging holes.

David

05/15/2010

Staff was excellent. Course was not crowded. While not dificult it offered challenges.

Timothy

02/22/2010

Played a few weeks ago. The course is an older one and needs reworking. Greens were very poor and fairways thin. Staff was very nice and got us out before a mens league. Thanks.

Photos and Video

Hackler Course at CCU (formerly Quail Creek Golf Club) Articles

There are no course articles available at this time. Please click here to view all news articles.