Back to All Courses

Pine Lakes Country Club

Pine Lakes Country Club

Pine Lakes, nicknamed the “The Granddaddy,” is the oldest golf course along the Grand Strand first opening in 1927. The newly renovated, Scottish-themed layout reopened on March 14, 2009 after 3 years and $20-plus million in renovations. Centrally located between 48th and 62nd avenues in Myrtle Beach, Pine Lakes Country Club is the heart of Myrtle Beach golf. 1-866-694-2448
5603 Woodside Avenue Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 9/5 based on 637 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Pine Lakes, nicknamed the “The Granddaddy,” is the oldest golf course along the Grand Strand first opening in 1927. The newly renovated, Scottish-themed layout reopened on March 14, 2009 after 3 years and $20-plus million in renovations. Centrally located between 48th and 62nd avenues in Myrtle Beach, Pine Lakes Country Club is the heart of Myrtle Beach golf.

The 6,675 yard par 70 layout boasts some of Myrtle Beach’s most memorable golf holes. Paspalum grass was used in the redesign from tee to green to add yet another first in Myrtle Beach golf. The signature hole, a 438-yard par 4 overlooked by the center of Myrtle Beach’s skyline, sports a tree lined tee shot down hill to a forgiving straight away fairway. A well-bunkered green awaits a challenging uphill approach shot, over water, sure to test the skill of even the most talented player. Another popular hole is the par 3 #11. This short par 3 is a challenging hole with a sloping green from back to front, over water. Be sure to use enough club or donate another ball to the “Granddaddy”!

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Pine Lakes Country Club

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Brian

08/13/2017

Course is in outstanding shape. We were riding fairways even though we had rain 4 days in a row. Greens are just about perfect and rolled great. Staff is excellent; friendly and helpful. Great bar, we watched the PGA Championship there for a bit after the round..beers were ice cold and great sandwiches.

Dave

08/15/2017

Course was in great shape ! Tees, fairways & greens were perfect. Staff very friendly, course never disappoints when we play there.

Trey

07/17/2017

We play Pine Lakes every year we visit Myrtle Beach. Course is in great shape and never disappoints. The history of club is very interesting and love the clubhouse!

MB

01/29/2017

Course is always in great shape. Nice greens, good fairway over seeding, and even when it rains, course drains very well. I always try for some rounds when here in South Carolina.

Joe

09/25/2016

Great course...greens were as consistent and true as I have played...all staff was very friendly and it was a great experience...I played as a single and paired with three gentlemen from Ohio...super playing partners...will absolutely play there again

Scott

06/22/2016

Nice open track. Not overly long, but some shot making required. Greens were in good shape, but were VERY slow

Ted

05/19/2016

Course is great shape. Tee boxes,fairways & greens are awesome. I haven't played here in a couple of years & but was very pleased with what I saw today. Nice layout. Staff very accommodating.

Ryan

04/21/2016

Came down with a group of 32 players. Course was in good shape and enjoyed playing. However, the staff from the moment we got out of our vehicle was the most rude, crude I've ever witnessed. The bag boy was without question the most rude and it was evident all he gave a crap about was loading your clubs for a tip. I wouldn't spend another dime at this place nor will my group next trip. Beware!!!!

Danny

04/10/2016

Pro shop staff and bag drop staff were very friendly starter was good. The course was in good shape greens and fairways are excellent. Rough is still very brown. We had been played ten days in a row at many different Founders Group of courses and decided to eat at Pine Lakes after reading the menu. The service was not good and then our order when it came was not as explained by our server. Would recommend the course but service at the grill was not good.

Mike(Oneida,NY)

03/17/2016

Let me first state that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Have read other reviews about bad staff and I couldn't disagree more. This is a great course and was in very good shape. The greens were a bit slow but true. Definitely a must play.

John

10/27/2015

We played this course as an opener to our golf trip and we were delighted with the experience. From the magnificent clubhouse to the practice area to the staff and to the course itself we had a great day. The course was in great condition and is very fair in that it rewards good shots. The putting surfaces were very good but all putts required attention. Overall the experience was top class and for those making their first visit to Myrtle Beach then I would recommend the course as a good introduction.

Cjl

09/14/2015

The golf course was nice, the day was beautiful! The bag drop attendants were curt and very interested in only talking to themselves. The golf marshals at the turn continued the rudeness and unprofessionalism at Pine Lakes. Needless to say, this USED TO BE a favorite on our annual trip to Myrtle Beach!

Jim

09/13/2015

Today our foursome just had 4 pars on the 9th hole and we were all excited to be playing such good golf as we headed to the back nine. There was no other groups behind us for 3 holes and the pace of play was good. The starter named Ed (originally from Chantilly VA) was there at the green. He yelled to us 2:16!. I asked what that meant and he barked back you're playing slower than I would like - 4 hours and 15 minutes is what I want. I replied you're saying we're 8 minutes slow...? Well that's outrageous and you're missing the point of why we are here. It's to have fun. Clearly this guy is not in the right job. What he said ruined the day for me and soured the good course conditions and great layout. The fairways and greens were beautiful, the variety of holes was great and overall played long from the white tees. It's amazing that I hadn't played this course before, especially since I've played over 50 courses in the area over the past 30 years. Too bad the starter is such a small thinker and spoiled a fun day; fun thru 9 holes that is.

Tom

09/04/2015

Played there for the first time last year, left quite a few strokes out on the course. I intended to rectify that situation, when we go back in October. This is now one of our two must play courses, out of the 6 we usually choose. It was very beautiful course and even being in the center of town, there was quite a bit on wildlife. I would recommend this course to anyone, it was liked by everyone in our group, and our handicaps range from 2 -32.

Gjankowsk

08/20/2015

Course was in very good shape. Very disappointed in the staff and overall experience. Played there about 10 years ago and it was great! The starter was fully dressed as a Scotsman. They served soup/chowder on the back nine. Great great time! This round however was just plain and business like and seeing where they cross started it took FOREVER to play the back nine! I believe the ranger knew the very slow foursome in front of us because he kept stopping and talking to them...never sped them up. Will not play there again. The ranger said to us we should not play so fast (we were not) as a response to our comments about slow play in front of us!

Jim

07/19/2015

I hadn't played this course for many years since our spring group years ago finally stopped coming because we felt that management was really never interested in whether we had a good time. I went back this year to play the updated course. I was a single, had a tee time around 8:00, and arrived about 25 minutes early. Starter immediately asked me to tee off in a earlier group without any time to warm up or ever hit a practice putt. I didn't want to make a fuss, but I once again felt that course management wasn't interested in whether I had a good time, they just wanted to fill all openings in the tee sheet. In my mind, management still didn't care about the customers. I ended up playing OK but will think twice before I return. Greens were OK, but many fairways had significant poor grass areas. Maybe this is a result of the harsh winter. You definitely can't play summer rules (or play it down) at Pine Lakes. I played the course at 6300 yards. There were two par five's, but also had 4 par four's over 400 years. So, it felt longer that a normal 6300 yard course. Last comment is that the greens crew needs better training. The 16th hole is a pretty par 3. The pin was in the back. The entire back of the green on the right side was perfect. But the greens staff placed the flag on the left in an area that has many pot marks of dead grass. There was no excuse for that pin position.

Mike

07/10/2015

Never ever again! Although the course was very nice the staff is horrendous. We played with a foursome of which one was handicapped. The staff was so rude we felt as if we were an employee being spoken to in a condescending manner. To top it off we were literally yelled at for driving our golf cart to the car as we do on every other course. Apparently you are not supposed to but no one told us and there are no signs stating so. I have been golfing in Myrtle Beach for 15 years and I can say never ever again here!!

M

01/20/2015

The course itself was fun. However, it took just short of 6 hours to play. The group in front of us was so slow. No ranger, no one at turn to speed up play. Second time to course, will not visit again.

Miles

11/21/2014

Rate of play not pushed and well manicured.

Gail

10/27/2014

The course has lost all of its ambience. No hot chocolate, no chowder, no kilts. It was get them in and get them out. This is definitely one of those times we should have never gone back and just kept the old great memories.

Clayton

10/14/2014

Excellent.

John

09/21/2014

Nice course.

David

09/06/2014

Course is in awful condition. 2.5 hours to play 9 holes under those conditions. We quit playing.

John

09/05/2014

Great.

Lawrence

07/29/2014

Great course

Shawn

07/29/2014

Course in great shape. Extremely friendly and helpful. Nice extras like GPS, ball and club wash on carts unlike some others course. Excellent value for price.

Ed

07/24/2014

Ended our round after 2 holes because of rain and lightning-have rain checks and look forward to playing the course next trip.

Daniel

07/02/2014

I was a single and was paired with a great group of golfer. Lots of laughs on an immaculate course. Definitely recommend and will definitely play a couple of rounds when my family and I return to MB next year.

Terry

06/09/2014

OK

Thomas

06/06/2014

Excellent experience

Jerry

06/05/2014

Tees and fairways were in excellent shape, despite some players who do not repair their divots on the greens. Staff very helpful.

Wesley

06/05/2014

Lay out of the course.

Bill

06/03/2014

Slow play, marshalls did nothing to improve pace of play. No driving range, taking out of rotation.

David

06/02/2014

My father, who recently passed, was a member here for almost 20 years ending in 2008. He loved this course and so do I. The facilities, the course, the service are outstanding and I needed to come here with my son and play it again.

Steve

06/02/2014

Great

Rick

06/02/2014

The rough and fairways were sparse probably due to weather conditions this year. Greens were in good shape.

David

04/30/2014

David (VA) I didn't spend time in the pro shop due to the attitude of the staff encountered, primarily due to their overwhelming attitude and lack of appropriate communication skills. The grill was only barely passable as such, due to food served on cold buns and no options as to how you would prefer them to be prepared. All when the attendant finally decided to serve you, only after she meticulously cleaned the cash register keys. As for the staff... Other than the minority of a couple individuals, the staff should be meticulously trained in the basics of client etiquette!!! Unless they would prefer to operate as a private club and spare the public from spending their hard earned money to support them. Tees, greens and fairways were in great shape, but by April 19th, the water that had accumulated on the course resulted in cart path only constraints, other than particular holes on the back side and only where ropes were down to allow cart travel in well drained portions of the course, to allow 90 degree access to the opposite side locations, in order to improve speed of play. Subsequent observation of cart travels in such areas resulted in the Ranger going off on us for being in a location that was quite apparently used for cart travel, where permanent cart paths were not constructed or defined. Perhaps they should spend some of their money to finish permanently constructed cart paths that would certainly prevent any miscommunication regarding where the carts are to travel and purchase themselves some additional spikes and rope to insure that their intent is securely communicated. Anyone failing to abide by such constraints could them be escorted off the course without any question as to who said what to whom. Someone would have to pay me to play there again! I've played golf for over 40 years, including collegiate and other competitive events, including locations with quite a bit more esteem than Pine Lakes, without such personnel issues as I've experienced on this trip to Myrtle Beach.

Bruce

04/29/2014

Very helpful and friendly

Nicholas

04/17/2014

OK

Buzz

04/08/2014

Spectacular

Tim

04/08/2014

Really great

Henry

03/14/2014

Liked the re-do of course (last time in 2003); starter was very knowledgeable of course/history. Move the chowder back outside Vehicle access to the clubhouse parking lot is wierd, it doesn't match the street address on GPS and their map is confusing

Warren

12/13/2013

Great

Joe

11/05/2013

Fantastic

Jim

11/05/2013

Great

Peter

10/29/2013

Greens were coming in but were the worst of all the courses played, they had not been cut or rolled.

John

10/25/2013

Unique greens grasses

Tinker

10/25/2013

Waitress and cart attendants unconcerned.

Jim

10/18/2013

Been going to myrtle beach for 6 years played approx. 30 courses. pine lakes most taken care of course i have EVERED . I felt like I was a PGA tour player

Joe

10/14/2013

Liked the course

Page 1 of 4 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Pine Lakes Country Club Articles

Fun Retail Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

Meredith catches up with Casey Cook, Director of Retail for Founders Group International. Casey showcases some of the fun new merchandise items that you will find throughout the golf shops in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

Risky Business: Four Myrtle Beach Courses that Overcame Long Odds to Gain Prominence

Some golf courses are destined to succeed. Maybe a monster name was attached to it during one of the upticks in in the market. Or possibly corporate ties kept its tee sheets full. Still, there are a few underdogs along South Carolina’s Grand Strand that weren’t considered automatic locks. - Read More

Video: Pine Lakes Country Club Rich With History And Tradition

Meredith speaks with Pine Lakes Head Golf Professional Jonathan Brock about the history and tradition of Myrtle Beach's first course. Find out why "The Granddaddy" should be included on your next Myrtle Beach Golf Trip. - Read More

Grand Plan-4 Days of Golf, Food & Fun in Myrtle Beach

With 100 golf courses, 18 times as many restaurants, and countless other activities, figuring out a Myrtle Beach itinerary isn’t easy, so we’ve done it for you. - Read More

5 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Where Golf and History Meet

Recognizing the golf output South Carolina’s Grand Strand has each year is one thing. Realizing how closely the game is tied to the area’s past is another. - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

The 5 Best Clubhouse Experiences in Myrtle Beach Golf

The positive vibes from a round on the links don’t have to evaporate as soon as the 18th pin is placed back into the cup. - Read More

Happy Holidays from Myrtle Beach Golf Trips!

Santa's 2015 holiday sleigh ride tour included the Grand Strand. Check out what he saw when he flew by some of our renowned golf courses. - Read More

Results of the 2014 National Retired Military Golf Classic

More than 900 golfers gathered in Myrtle Beach for the 31st Annual National Retired Military Golf Classic. This year’s Classic was contested at Myrtle Beach National Golf Club, Pine Lakes Country Club and the PineHills Course at Myrtlewood Golf Club. - Read More

Myrtle Beach’s Best Golf Holes: No. 14 at Pine Lakes Country Club

In this video tour, LPGA instructor and 2014 Mrs. South Carolina America Meredith Kirk teams up with 1st Assistant Pro Ryan Tyndall to showcase the par-4 14th hole at Myrtle Beach’s oldest golf course, Pine Lakes Country Club. - Read More

Course Spotlight: Pine Lakes Country Club

No. 5 No. 8 No. 11 No. 13

The Granddaddy isn’t letting up any time soon. Better known as Pine Lakes Country Club, the first golf course in Myrtle Beach is thriving well beyond its 80 years of service and quality play. Discovering why takes no more than a handful of holes, if that long. - Read More