Back to All Courses

Pearl - West Course

Pearl - West Course

Course designer Dan Maples built Pearl West Golf Course on the Calabash River to serve up stunning views and challenging golf. Golf Digest nominated this course as the “Best New Public Course” and has awarded it with a “4.5 Star” rating in its “Place to Play” guide, with new bentgrass greens keeping the game’s premier putting surface up to par. The fourth longest hole on the Myrtle Beach golf scene, Pearl’s signature hole is No. 16 - a 614-yard par 5, which most players say they are playing “well” if they have reached the green in three shots. It offers a scenic view of the Calabash that stretches down the right side of the hole, with frequent sightings of seagulls, alligators and other exotic wildlife that make it as beautiful as it is challenging. 1-866-694-2448
1300 Pearl Blvd. SW Sunset Beach, NC
Rated 8/5 based on 87 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Course designer Dan Maples built Pearl West Golf Course on the Calabash River to serve up stunning views and challenging golf. Golf Digest nominated this course as the “Best New Public Course” and has awarded it with a “4.5 Star” rating in its “Place to Play” guide, with new bentgrass greens keeping the game’s premier putting surface up to par. The fourth longest hole on the Myrtle Beach golf scene, Pearl’s signature hole is No. 16 - a 614-yard par 5, which most players say they are playing “well” if they have reached the green in three shots. It offers a scenic view of the Calabash that stretches down the right side of the hole, with frequent sightings of seagulls, alligators and other exotic wildlife that make it as beautiful as it is challenging.

Pearl West Golf Course has recently earned an overall rating of 7.5 from reviewers at the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider, with particular praise for its course maintenance, greens, course condition, and course design.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Pearl - West Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Albert (Athens, SC)

06/06/2016

(Liked the) greens

Steve (st-hyacinthe, QC)

07/15/2015

Good layout and all the holes are different.

Brian,

02/23/2015

This course is in excellent condition given the time of year and weather conditions. The greens were superb unlike many higher priced courses in the area. A definite must play.

Bob

02/23/2015

Played the West Course and was just as pleased with the greens here as I was on the Pearl East Course. Can't beat the quality of either course at the Pearl right now. Two thumbs up!

Tony,

01/29/2015

I am amazed at how well this course looks AND plays! Wow!! What a great move to play this course. We will certainly be playing the Pearl East real soon!

Richard (Charlotte, NC)

10/03/2013

Not in good shape greens were thin and not a lot of grass on them I'll just a basic course nothing exciting

Charles (Durham, NC)

07/01/2013

Excellent layout. Great staff.

Craig,

05/23/2013

What a surprise. best greens i played on in 2 years. real nice course.

Elbert,

02/25/2013

Great

Chris (Dayton, OH)

06/17/2012

Great course, very fair, excellent customer service.

Robert,

06/17/2012

Well maintained, a locals course, best greens in the county.

George (Seneca, SC)

06/06/2012

The tee boxes were in rough shape. Liked the course layout.

Mark (Clemmons, NC)

05/25/2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the round. Course in great shape. I liked the 5 par fives. Wife thought it was lady-friendly.

Steve (Bear, DE)

05/04/2012

The only problem I am having is getting to their clubhouse; the address supplied for GPS users does not come up in my Garmin, I would suggest to use coordinates (latitude and longitude).

Timothy (Bellingham, Mass.)

03/16/2012

Course in great shape as always.

Glenn,

11/07/2011

Course was in good shape considering all the rain that came down the night before. Course is always fun to play regardless of pro shop staff.

Ray (Little Rock, Ark.)

09/04/2011

Friendly service.

F.L.,

09/01/2011

Signed up to play East course & arrived on 8-16-11 & found it has been closed all summer. West course was in terrible condition, greens bumpy and long grass in many sections.

Frank,

06/19/2011

Challenging, but fair layout. Back nine especially fun and tests your game. Staff very accommodating. Will return next year.

Henry,

06/13/2011

Very friendly staff. The West is a great layout in above-average shape. Greens are slow this time of year in order to protect them. Would play here again.

Donald (Indianapolis, Ind.)

03/04/2011

Haven't played it for about 10 years. It is one of the better designs I get to play. I always enjoy the finishing 5-6 holes very challenging.

Ron (St. Catharine's, Ontario)

11/10/2010

Pearl was a pleasant and challenging experience that was enjoyed by our group. Numerous holes provided a great challenge and yet were fair. A great 18th was icing on the cake, complete with gators.

Jay (Glassboro, N.J.)

11/09/2010

Nice track! I rated greens 'good' cause they were froggy and I always rate a course by its greens. And, fairways/tees excellent for same reason. I know it was overseeding time of year. Would love to play these greens mid-summer!

Sam (North Myrtle Beach, S.C.)

08/23/2010

The course was very wet. Greens were slow and everything needed to be cut. The appearance and health of the turf was good, though.

Jerry (Calabash, N.C.)

07/19/2010

Excellent bang for the buck ... I will return next month. Great finishing holes.

Michael,

07/15/2010

The greens were very slow ... they definitely did not cut the greens yesterday and I hope they don't keep them that slow all the time. Nice course needs better maintenance.

Pete (Myrtle Beach, S.C.)

03/12/2010

Great course. Loved the layout.

John (Kingston, Ontario)

12/06/2009

Finishing hole was great! Course was very wet even though it rained heavily two days prior but not the day before (cart path only). Tee blocks were very uneven with sparse grass. Day we played greens were fertilized and watered, so putting was somewhat difficult. It is a good, challenging course, but disappointing because the grass in fairways and on tee blocks was very thin.

Roger (Amawalk, N.Y.)

10/26/2009

This course is a bear from the tips. One of the most entertaining courses I've ever played. Played No. 14 into the wind, took me a driver off the deck twice followed by the 3 wood of my life to get home in regulation. Great hole!!!

Claude (North Myrtle Beach, S.C.)

10/23/2009

Fair for the price but would not go back. I could not open the attached file with the voucher but there was no problem at all, at the pro shop they called, and had it faxed.

Mark,

09/28/2009

Tom (Wauseon, Ohio)

06/24/2009

Course was in excellent condition. Very nice staff and great layout. Will definitely play again.

Ty (Wilmington, N.C.)

06/16/2009

We played The Pearl West on May 21st, 2009. We had a wonderful day, got right on the course. I have never seen so much wildlife, it was beautiful (as was the gator). I will be back to play for sure. The course was challenging, yet had easy approach shots at times. Very balanced!

George (Wilmington, N.C.)

05/18/2009

Photos and Video

Pearl - West Course Articles

Winter Golf Not Only Exists, But Thrives, in Myrtle Beach

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. Up north, maybe. Down here in Golf Capital, U.S.A., we can’t be bothered with such environmental concerns. In South Carolina’s Grand Strand - a section of 60-plus miles of beaches and 90 or so golf courses - the links are still welcoming despite the season. - Read More