Back to All Courses

Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club

Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club

Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club is a Jack Nicklaus design introduced to the Myrtle Beach-area golf scene in fall 1988. The golf course, built around a rice plantation, has acquired multiple awards over the past 25 years. Nicklaus’ use of Mother Nature to create a beautiful yet challenging layout has earned accolades from around the golf world, including Top 22 course in South Carolina (Golf World), Top 10 Course on the Grand Strand (South Carolina Magazine), America’s Top Courses (Zagat), Best Places to Play 4 Stars (Fodor’s), and Top 25 Layouts (Golf Digest). 1-866-694-2448
70 Tanglewood Dr Pawleys Island, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 951 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club is a Jack Nicklaus design introduced to the Myrtle Beach-area golf scene in fall 1988. The golf course, built around a rice plantation, has acquired multiple awards over the past 25 years.  Nicklaus’ use of Mother Nature to create a beautiful yet challenging layout has earned accolades from around the golf world, including Top 22 course in South Carolina (Golf World), Top 10 Course on the Grand Strand (South Carolina Magazine), America’s Top Courses (Zagat), Best Places to Play 4 Stars (Fodor’s), and Top 25 Layouts (Golf Digest).

There are two golf holes that Nicklaus designed to truly catch the golfer’s eye. The signature hole #13 is a short but challenging par 3. The hole can range from 40-150 yards depending on what tee markers you are playing. Nicklaus really used his imagination and what Mother Nature provided when designing this hole. The tee box is built atop a dike used to separate the marsh from the old rice plantation. He has you hitting to a peninsula green that is small and slopes from back to front.  With this hole always having wind in any direction, a solidly struck tee ball is a must! The finishing hole #18 is a long, challenging par four that frames the pristine white clubhouse behind the green. It requires all you can muster from the tee while avoiding the marsh and sand trap on the left with a heavily wooded area on the right. The green is long and narrow with subtle undulations, and requires a good mid-iron shot into a green protected by water and sand on the left side. A par on this hole will have you leaving the course with all smiles.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Miguel

06/16/2017

Course and conditions were nice. However, lots of sand on this course that had not been groomed in days. Overzealous marshals pushed us 4 due to a twosome and threesome behind us. Nice course but play in the afternoon if you want to play at a regular pace. Otherwise they intend to rush you through your round. Oh, and don't stop to use the bathroom either...Also, It may be women friendly but not kid friendly....

Mike

04/08/2017

Great Layout, Staff, Course Conditions, Pace of Play! Couldn't be better. Visiting from MD.

Bill

03/10/2017

Love this course! Probably one of my top three courses to recommend to people coming in from out of town. Beautiful low country setting with established lush layout. Has both challenging holes for avid golfers, and playable holes for people just picking up the game. I've played here many times in the three years I've lived in the area and I can honestly say the course is never in bad condition. The groundskeepers do a great job all year round making it an enjoyable round. The staff is friendly from the bag drop/pro shop to the snack bar/restaurant. They make you feel welcome.

Jim

03/05/2017

The layout is fantastic, the course conditions were great. The staff treated us very well. It is a course I will definitely play again and put on y Myrtle Beach rotation. My favorite hole is 16, a very demanding b UT beautiful part with the marsh and the actual Pawleys Island in the background. I wish I had my camera with me. The pictures I n the website are better than I could take because of the use of a drone, very picturesque. The food in t g e was very good and the O rices were reasonable. All of the staff from the proshop, bag drop, rangers who helped me find my ball, and the wait staff were kind, friendly, very helpful. I give this a very high rating

Brennen

03/01/2017

Course is in the best shape I have seen. Greens are in excellent condition. Any past issues have been resolved. Hats off to the greens keeper. All around great club. A must play!

Jennifer

03/01/2017

Beautiful club. Course is great! Back 9 is one of the most scenic in Myrtle Beach. Will be back.

John

03/01/2017

This place is fantastic! From tee to green (especially the greens) the course is in superb condition. I would recommend this for any golfer. Can be challenging, but it is fun and fair. Staff takes care of you from bag drop, starter, course ranger, and golf shop. The pub is great for post round drinks and the food is excellent. These folks know what they are doing.

Norm

11/15/2016

Despite the recent previous reviews the back nine continues to suffer from the hurricane. Debris on the fairways and many areas saturated. Parts of fairway have been designated as ground under repair. Very disappointed in the conditions. Greens were slow and grass long, however they did roll well and true. Would not play this course until after the spring. Front nine was better condition.

Tom

11/07/2016

This is a fine course. Everything on the golf course at least 8 out or 10 condition. The pub area was very nice, and the people there are all very nice.

David

09/26/2016

Greens and fairways were in great shape. Back nine views are incredible as the course takes you twice through the marsh. Don't need your driver if you play from the white tees due to many dogleg fairways. Great course and will definitely play again.

Paul

09/02/2016

Slightly different from the other courses in the area as it goes out into the marsh for several holes which makes it a bit special. It demands accuracy rather than length and my driving was wayward so I spent a lot of time in trouble. Staff were very friendly and helpful as with all the courses we played on this trip. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the grill. Course was in good condition (Caledonia is my benchmark). My wife found the proximity of the houses to the fairways intimidating. I personally would want to play again if my game was in better shape.

Jordan

06/13/2016

Greens have recovered quite well from their spring conditions. It's worth a return trip!

Jong

05/02/2016

Nice course layout. Tough but fair. Back nine reminds me of Tidewater with nice views of the marsh. Conditions were pretty good except for the greens. Very slow and lots of rough patches due to some type of fungus that has killed the grass. Local couple that I played with said that greens should be healed in a month or so. Hopefully the greens will be back soon. Will play again once the greens are back. Staff was very nice especially bag guys who got me started early in front of a large group. Thanks.

Mike

05/01/2016

Course is not in good shape. Rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy with fungus. Asked before the round how the greens were and was told by the starter that 3 greens had fungus problems...It was more like over half were bad. Would not play there again until conditions improve.

Thescupper

04/21/2016

Course is not in good shape. Thin fairways, rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy and looks like a fungus. Would not play there again until conditions improve.

Scupper

04/21/2016

Course is not is good shape. Fairways are thin and rough is dirt. Greens are terrible. Save your money.

JimV

09/05/2015

Wonderful play with a great layout. The back 9 is a true challenge. Unfortunately, caught up to a fivesome (yes, I said fivesome) on the back nine which created quite a backup. Guess no Rangers are on duty in the afternoon. Anyway, highly recommend as a must play when in the area

Oscar

11/20/2014

I am a Senior Citizen over age 70 with an 18 handicap.. I loved this course. However, my shoulders stiffened up on the back nine and caused me all kind of trouble. If I get to play this course again, I will go to the RED tees to tee off. The course is very beautiful and I enjoyed it immensely. The fairways were in excellent shape and the golf ball rolled true on the greens even it was in November. This was my dream course to play in the Myrtle Beach area.

Jeff

11/10/2014

We had 10 golfers. So we had open spots, and they were going to put another golfer with us, (which was no problem). But I wanted to get information from them so I could organize my own group, and they didn't communicate very well. Acted like I was bothering them. In the end it all worked out.

Robert

10/16/2014

Greens had too much slope and runoff.

Bob

10/11/2014

Excellent.

Gary

09/29/2014

Outstanding.

Bill

09/18/2014

Course was extremely wet but all comments in our group were favorable. Definitely a good test of golf. Premium on accuracy and distance control. We played the gold tees and are glad we did!

Brian

09/17/2014

Excellent.

Chris

08/26/2014

Outstanding.

Bill

06/18/2014

Really good

Scott

06/09/2014

Nice layout.It got a little confusing for a three or for hole stretch on yhe back nine.Two real short par threes that you really needed local wind and club selection knowledge on

Chris

06/06/2014

Very unique course in very good condition and a good challenge. The par 3 island holes were unlike anything I've ever played or seen.

Austin

06/02/2014

Good

Dennis

05/23/2014

The course was in real good shape, just not a great fan of the layout. I know that this is a Nicklaus course, but am not a fan of trees in the fairway to have to hit over or around.

Bill

04/30/2014

Do not like this course very much. Too tricked up with water, sand, and marsh.

Mel

04/30/2014

We played the white tees which made the course too hard for some in our group (handicaps over 25). Suggest making hybrid course selection possible (mixing the tees to make course 300-400 yards shorter for seniors).

Robbie

04/30/2014

Slightly over rated course

Chris

04/08/2014

We played the course for the first on our yearly golf trip. I did not care for the tee boxes as they were crowned and not level.The fairways were not in the best shape which may have been due to the harsh winter the south endured. However my beef was as we finished our first 9 holes and started on hole 1 what do we come upon?Why a SINGLE walker Chuck who must be a member and was carted out to fairway after he teed off.We were told we would never see him again.Wrong we saw chuck for 7 holes.I realize that walking is a great part of the game but to put a walker out on the course on an afternoon on a Friday? I am a member of a private club in PA and walking is only allowed at certain times during the week.The course was challenging and would come back to try it again.

Dana

04/08/2014

Outstanding

Bill

03/12/2014

Great

Bill

03/12/2014

Beautiful course. Very scenic with the marshlands. Probably not wise on starting with this course after taking the winter off. I lost 11 balls in the water and marsh. My favorite course of the week though.

Duval

02/25/2014

Good

Tank

02/20/2014

Outstanding

Mark

02/20/2014

Fantastic

Timothy

01/23/2014

Pawleys Plantation is always a great time. We played it on 1/20/14. The overall course is in very good shape for January. I have to say the staff was GREAT because they gave me the CHOICE to get paired up with another twosome or just play with my wife. I chose just us because my wife is not a strong golfer and can feel uncomfortable with being paired up. I can't emphasize how nice it was that we had the choice.

Dan

01/15/2014

Greens were in good shape for being dormant. Rough was playable for all skill levels. Tee boxes were in good shape. I like the contrast between the overseeded fairways and the dormant rough. Helps for aiming purposes and is visually stimulating. I've played here many times before, once they finish the construction on 11 the par 5 will open up and be more accessible for players of all skill levels. The views are a most see and I recommend this course to all golfers visiting the Myrtle Beach area.

Walter

01/10/2014

The staff, course are always top notch even in January the course is in great shape.

George

12/02/2013

I have played golf in 42 states and Pawley's Plantation is one of the most beautiful places I have been. The layout and care taken of the course are second to none. George L

Lin

11/15/2013

Great facility!!

Paul

11/15/2013

Loved the course. It is just the right distance for senior golfers and provides a great test of golf. Greens were outstanding.

Harold

11/15/2013

This is a beautiful challenging course. I have played it 2 times and it was in great shape both times. This course is a must play in the grandstrand area.

Roger

11/12/2013

This was a great course to play. We (my group) think it is one of the best of the southern courses. We played Nov. 2013

Gary

11/12/2013

Great course, everything was great. Pro shop staff very helpful to find a 9 hole replay in pm at another course (Willbrook) because there was no room in pm

Michael

11/05/2013

The course was in very good condition. The layout was good, although not as interesting as Pawley's with the marsh holes. The only downside was that I was a single put with a slow group. The Marshall's tried to keep us on pace, but it was a tough battle with those 3.

Page 1 of 6 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club Articles

Fun Retail Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

Meredith catches up with Casey Cook, Director of Retail for Founders Group International. Casey showcases some of the fun new merchandise items that you will find throughout the golf shops in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

The Traveling Golfer Spotlights Myrtle Beach Golf Trips

During a visit to the Myrtle Beach area, The Traveling Golfer host Tony Leodora spent some time learning about the benefits of a Myrtle Beach golf package with Steve Mays of Myrtle Beach Golf Trips. - Read More

Play In The Shade - Five Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Where The Sun Won’t Beat You Down

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has a large number of courses where the layouts were built throughout magnificent tree lines offering some shade. What’s more, many of them are situated in natural breezeways that give players some reprieve from the summer heat. - Read More

Camera-Ready: Perfect Round Includes Visually Stunning Options

Among the 18 holes that were selected by the South Carolina Golf Course Ratings Panel, some carry extra pop, both to the eye and the camera lens. Between the combination of natural environment their famous designers utilized in crafting these holes and years of top-notch maintenance to preserve them, you’ve officially been warned. - Read More

Give Dad The Gift Of Golf For Father’s Day

Save a trip to the store and book your Father's Day gift here with Myrtle Beach Golf Trips. Get $10 off two rounds and kids play free with each paying adult. - Read More

Kid-Friendly Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has crafted itself into a dual golfing identity - one where adults have their fun and another where parents can bring the kids and still enjoy every minute of the vacation. This will help those who want to achieve the latter. - Read More

What’s in a name? Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round Designers List Says It All

The results are in, and Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round project speak to an underlying truth more often than not. Some golf course architects have something most others do not. - Read More

Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round-Perfect Par 4’s

Each of the Par 4s that found themselves included in the Perfect Round hold a special place among their counterparts in the Myrtle Beach golf scene. - Read More

S.C. Ratings Panel and M.B. Golf Trips Identifies “Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round” of 18 Golf Holes

Panel Says Some Of Myrtle Beach's Best Golf Holes Are At Caledonia, Grande Dunes, TPC Myrtle Beach, Pawleys Plantation, Tidewater And Willbrook Plantation - Read More

Fantastic Course Conditions at Pawleys Plantation Golf Club

Meredith checked in at the Jack Nicklaus designed Pawleys Plantation Golf Club where she spoke with Head Golf Professional Brian Lewis. Meredith and Brian discuss the outstanding spring course conditions and the spectacular lowcountry setting of Pawleys Plantation. - Read More

Discover America’s Most Awarded Golf Trail

Amid the hoopla of the Myrtle Beach golf scene is a conglomeration of 11 of the finest courses the area has to offer. Together, their distinction comes with a separate moniker - the Waccamaw Golf Trail. From the north end of Murrells Inlet down to the southern tip of Pawleys Island, those tracks represent high-end golf with a Lowcountry feel. Centuries-old plantations, bending rivers and moss-covered oaks are incorporated into some fantastic designs that as a whole are unattainable anywhere else - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

Four Reasons for a Waccamaw Golf Trail Getaway

We continue our multi-part series with four reasons to point the compass down from Myrtle Beach proper and take advantage of the Waccamaw Golf Trail. - Read More

4 of South Carolina’s “Best You Can Play” Jockeying for Position

Founders Group International manages 22 of Myrtle Beach’s most respected courses, four of which have recently been named to Golf Magazine’s list of best courses you can play in South Carolina. - Read More

Golf Magazine Says 13 of SC’s Best Courses You Can Play Are in Myrtle Beach

When Golf's editors recently released their 2016/2017 “Top 100 Courses You Can Play” list and “Best In State” rankings, they confirmed the Myrtle Beach area has the best collection of golf courses in the country. - Read More

Outstanding Myrtle Beach Designs By Golf’s Greatest Players: Take On The King and The Bear

Ever wanted to get into the minds of golf's greatest players? Now is your chance to take on Myrtle Beach designs by golf's King and Golden Bear. - Read More

5 Reasons Why Myrtle Beach Would Be a Better Olympics Golf Venue Than Rio

If we’re talking great golf destinations to host a future Olympics golf event, the author nominates Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Here's why. - Read More

Myrtle Beach Golf Course Video Spotlight: Long Bay Club

Located on Highway 9 just outside North Myrtle Beach, Long Bay boasts a renowned signature design by “The Golden Bear” himself, Jack Nicklaus. - Read More

The Big Three’s Impact on Myrtle Beach Golf

From the July/August 2016 issue of Golf Georgia Magazine - How The King, The Golden Bear & The Black Knight have left an indelible mark on the Grand Strand golf scene. - Read More

Summer Course Work: Eight Myrtle Beach Golf Favorites

In three-plus decades the author has played dozens of golf courses along the 60-some miles of the Myrtle Beach “Grand Strand." Here is a sampler of eight of his favorites. - Read More

3 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Debut in State Panel’s Top 50 Ratings for 2016

Heritage Club, Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links and Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club have joined impressive company with their first-time inclusion in the South Carolina Golf Course Ratings Panel’s “Top 50 Golf Courses” rankings for 2016. - Read More

The 5 Most Challenging Myrtle Beach Golf Courses

A big part of these courses’ massive popularity among visiting golfers goes beyond their aesthetic beauty and exceptional customer service experience. When played from the championship tees, these golf courses are a big, brawny test of any golfer’s game. - Read More

Happy Holidays from Myrtle Beach Golf Trips!

Santa's 2015 holiday sleigh ride tour included the Grand Strand. Check out what he saw when he flew by some of our renowned golf courses. - Read More

Big Break Myrtle Beach Video Spotlight: Building the Big Break Sand Sculpture

The anticipation continues to build as the premiere of Big Break Myrtle Beach approaches! Golf Channel’s hit reality series visits the Grand Strand in its season debut on Tuesday, Oct. 7, 9 p.m. ET. - Read More

Golf Channel’s “Big Break” Coming to Myrtle Beach

Golf Channel announced in July that "Big Break Myrtle Beach," the 22nd season of the network's "Big Break" series, will be hosted on the Grand Strand and feature four renowned Myrtle Beach-area golf courses - including Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club and the Dye, Fazio and Love courses at Barefoot Resort & Golf. - Read More

Meredith’s Take: Make Valentine’s Day Weekend a Couples Golf Outing!

Ten years from now, she won’t remember the roses – but she will treasure the memories of a lifetime you’ll create during the romantic golf weekend you give her at Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club. - Read More

LPGA Tour’s Gulbis Planting Roots in Myrtle Beach Area

Read Alan Blondin's report as published in the Myrtle Beach Sun News on Jan. 20, 2014. - Read More

VIDEO SPOTLIGHT: The Southern Beach Collection

Nestled along the Grand Strand's scenic southern shores are seven of the area's most in-demand designs - part of the Southern Beach Collection that has vacationing golfers raving and returning year after year. Join us in this video tour as Myrtle Beach golf ambassador Meredith Kirk profiles each of these spectacular layouts. - Read More