Back to All Courses

Oyster Bay Golf

Oyster Bay Golf

Oyster Bay Golf Links has a long history of success and accolades. Dating back to 1983, Oyster Bay has been plucking out awards for its innovated design and elements by Golf Digest. Voted best "Resort Course of the Year," and ranked by the same publication among the top 50 public courses in the country in 1990, Oyster Bay is shelling out the goods. But the accolades don’t stop there. Golf Digest also voted this course among its “Best Places to Play” in 2005 with 4 stars (2003: 5 stars; 2001: 4 1/2 stars) and "Best Public Golf Courses In North Carolina" by Golf Magazine in 2008. This par-70 course designed by Dan Maples plays to just less than 6,700 yards. The course features hollowing bunkers, tricky undulating greens and lengthy par 4's that challenge the golfer’s long game. Oyster Bay is the golfer’s test around the challenges of the southern Lowcountry marshes against the backdrop of the maritime forest. 1-866-694-2448
614 Lake Shore Dr. Sunset Beach, NC
Rated 8/5 based on 326 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Oyster Bay Golf Links has a long history of success and accolades. Dating back to 1983, Oyster Bay has been plucking out awards for its innovated design and elements by Golf Digest.  Voted best "Resort Course of the Year," and ranked by the same publication among the top 50 public courses in the country in 1990, Oyster Bay is shelling out the goods. But the accolades don’t stop there. Golf Digest also voted this course among its “Best Places to Play” in 2005 with 4 stars (2003: 5 stars; 2001: 4 1/2 stars) and "Best Public Golf Courses In North Carolina" by Golf Magazine in 2008.  This par-70 course designed by Dan Maples plays to just less than 6,700 yards. The course features hollowing bunkers, tricky undulating greens and lengthy par 4's that challenge the golfer’s long game.  Oyster Bay is the golfer’s test around the challenges of the southern Lowcountry marshes against the backdrop of the maritime forest.

Located in charming Sunset Beach, Oyster Bay Golf Links is just a leap north of Myrtle Beach. Many golfers return here, year after year, with a hearty appetite to enjoy the pristine beauty, links style course, and the ever-popular risk/reward signature holes. One signature hole is #13, a 330-yard par 4, featuring a lake that skirts the entire right side of the fairway. This requires an approach shot to a cunning undulating green resting against an oyster shell wall that rises out of the lake. Be prepared to bring your short game to Oyster Bay, as accuracy around the greens is crucial.  The other signature hole is #17, a 165-yard par 3, requiring a tee shot from an oyster shell-walled tee box to an island green built on a mountain of shells. The marshland at Oyster Bay presents a menu of challenges, so be prepared for a great feast of golfing delights … or you may find yourself in the bay plucking and shucking the oysters you will find there.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Oyster Bay Golf

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

John

03/24/2017

Fair and balance as a local. A superb layout but the course is tired out and to be honest with you I can see this legend course on the selling block. Cart paths are in disarray, the greens and tee boxes are a in crude condition at best id you compare it with many courses around the area. If you are looking for scenic, free breakfast and lunch with 2 drinks you are at the right place but if you came down to the area play GOLF it's my opinion that this will not cut for you!

Mike(Oneida,NY)

02/04/2017

We were able to book 3 foursomes together. The course was in great shape. Greens putted true. The staff is very friendly here, right from bag drop to starter. The clubhouse was great. We had the buffet breakfast and lunch of menu, all wonderful. Our waitress, Beth was fantastic. Definitely a must play.

Jeff

01/08/2017

Great layout and free breakfast and lunch and drinks is great

Jesse

10/19/2016

Oyster Bay has always been one of my favorite courses, but I have to say this time I was very disappointed. From the 1st hole, the group in front of us was very slow. We had to wait 3-5 minutes before each shot. They were soon at least 2 holes behind the group in front of them and when we called the pro shop, they sent someone out who said that there wasn't anything he could do about it. Our round was almost 5 1/2 hours long. It ruined the round for all of us, and I will not be booking them on future trips.

Ted

04/28/2016

Greens were very inconsistent. Fairways were thin in many areas. Pace of play was terrible. 6 Hours with plenty of rangers on course but did nothing to speed up play.

David

10/27/2015

Course looks tired and in need of investment (cart paths, sand traps). You can tell Oyster Bay plays the numbers game, electing volume of golfers vs course experience. Marshalls can be rude and overly focused on pace of play as a result of pressing too many golfers into a days play. Great layout and views are wasted by a staff that's rooted in a culture get them in, get them off and get them out

Nick

07/30/2015

Greens were the best and we played all week. Front nine fairways was getting punched. Overall very good Round. We will be back.

Jong

06/22/2015

Course was in great condition. Greens were rolling well. About average speed. Cart girl was nice. Cold towels during round was awesome! Views of the marsh were very nice. Would definitely play hear again.

Steve

05/29/2015

Pretty view.

Brian

01/27/2015

From the time we arrived we were treated terrible. Bag boys/men told us to put back our coolers and then wanted to check our bags for BEER! Who plays this game without beer. Cart girl came by one time and we tipped her well, asked if we would see her again and she said, maybe. All in all the staff acted like they would rather be some other place. Course was OK conditon but the views rank high. Need a little upkeep there guys to bathrooms and staff experience. Low rankings from me.

David

12/03/2014

Great layout. Really beautiful. But the fairways were spotty and the cart paths are in desperate need of repair.

Gene

11/15/2014

This is an old course and needs maintenance upgrades.

Ray

11/12/2014

Fantastic.

Charles

11/10/2014

Outstanding.

Real

11/05/2014

Oyster Bay golf course is spectacular in everyway, the day we played it was blowing and cold the back nine but we did finish. The perks the Myrtle Beach passport gave us start the day as it should. I play this course once every time I'm in Myrtle Beach.

M/M

09/08/2014

Very good.

Garry

07/24/2014

Greens Excellent. Some tee's in bad shape. Excellent layout! One of my favorites.

Ken

07/24/2014

For this course to be a part of the Legends group I was expecting it to be of comparable quality. Legends group should be embarrassed. The only thing about the conditions that was OK was the greens. The fairways, tee boxes, rough, bunkers, cart paths were horrible. They look as if they were a result of total neglect. The restrooms on the course were nasty and run down. It would have been a vast improvement to have port-a-johns. I ate lunch in the club house. Only one table had patrons. There was three workers. I had to ask for a refill on my drink. I will never go back to this place. Sad because it has the reputation for being a premium course. They charge premium prices.

Tim

06/02/2014

Tough course for me. Water holes intimidate me.

John

04/30/2014

Loved the layout. Interesting holes.

Keith

03/17/2014

Spectacular

Joseph

10/23/2013

Very interesting and challenging course set up. Course was wet and not drained well.

Brent

08/05/2013

The scenery was great. Very challeging course in great condition. My favorite holes was 13 and 17. The lunch was included in our round which was a nice surprise. I had a tuna melt and it was great. Overall a great experience and I would play this course again.

Rick

06/03/2013

Have been taking groups to MB for over 15 years now and have to say Oyster Bay had been off the list of courses for about 5 years due to poor conditions there--- but decided to give it a try due to the Legends price point (Very good). Have to say they have fixed many of the serious problems this course had. Still had a couple greens with problems-- but for the most part 15 of the greens were great-- fairways were very nice and staff was more than helpful with my group of 21. Will return soon. Way to go Legends!! Got our group both breakfast and lunches in a very timely manner with the Legends package and overall couldn't have been happier.

George

05/08/2013

Great

John

04/16/2013

Unfortunately rained out after 9

Yvan

04/08/2013

Only like this course for the landscape and layout, everything else is overrated, pase of play very long

Daniel

04/05/2013

Real dirty course , car path on real bad condition , expensive rate for course like that

Bobby

03/07/2013

OK

Timothy

12/31/2012

The staff was excellent and friendly. They got us out early. The course was in good shape except for the greens. They were VERY slow and inconsistent. The course is quite difficult to play when the winds are 20-25 mph and it's in the temperature is in the low 40's. I loved the layout but was very unhappy with the poor greens. Maybe it's just the time of year but the greens left a bad taste for me.

Keith

12/07/2012

We enjoyed it.

Ed

10/07/2012

One of my favorites courses on the the Beach and it did not disappoint.

Dennis

09/25/2012

Very nice and challenging for me, people were very accommodating.

Ernie

08/19/2012

Challenging but fair for most teens handicappers - thereby making it a great course for most to play. Also great value for money.

Robert

08/18/2012

What a nice course! And a great value, price include breakfast, lunch and 2 drinks. Ranger carries wet cold towels on a hot day. Bring your best golf, not a gimme course. Will play again anytime.

James

07/27/2012

Course is in a very pretty area.

Brian

07/24/2012

The course was in great shape. Greens were fast and smooth, even the 3 that were aerated the previous Monday. The fairways had some almost burnt areas, but that just helped with the roll. Still plenty of grass. The pace of play was terrible, 5 hours 15 mins. Group of 30 or 40 clogged up the whole course. OB needs to go to 12-min. tee times to space things out.

Jarrod

05/01/2012

Scenery ... nice fairways, greens. Bunkers were hard pan and they need yardage and better hole signs. Enjoyed!

Louise

04/19/2012

We played almost every course in MB over the years. OB is one of our favorite because of its scenery, sight and design. In 2009, it was well manicured. It's not the case in 2012. Tees in poor condition. Hated that ladies tees were in the fairway on almost every hole. Greens are better and will improve. Cantine cart employee was running it like in NASCAR, without stopping or even slowing down! Things to fix at OB.

Brian

11/02/2011

Cart path only.

Scupper

10/26/2011

Played 10/23/11. They overseeded the fairways and never told us it was cart path only. However, they were very accommodating and we played anyway. Enjoyed the course, grill staff very nice, white tees are too short, should be closer to 6000 yds., will play again.

Knucklehead

07/27/2011

Only got to play nine holes but the greens were in great shape, and the staff and rangers were nice to deal with.

Brian

07/19/2011

Played July 10th, 2011 and the course was in great shape. The tees were the only thing keeping the course from being excellent, they were spotty at times. I would rather have great greens and fairways than tees so it was not an issue. Great day on the course, hole-in-one on the 17th!

Matthew

07/10/2011

Played on 7/5/11; Oyster Bay has always been one of my favorites. There were some fairways in need of some good rains but overall the course was in good condition considering the drought conditions. The greens were the best we played on all week. Breakfast, lunch, drinks, golf, deal can't be beat.

Mike

06/20/2011

Just played Oyster Bay for the first time in 10 years. I forgot how much fun this course is. Greens were fine, fairways, traps, bunkers, all OK. Played it on a 95-degree day just after a shower. Bag drop help was great and staff was great working with rain delay. I enjoy the Kirby markers on the course. Easy and quick to determine distance. Oyster Island hole is always a blast and the ample gators around the course make it an all-around vacation treat.

Joe

05/23/2011

Played on 5/15/11. Course conditions much improved over last year. Folks that complain now, must be wanting PGA quality.

Paul

04/02/2011

The course was in bad shape, the worst shape I have seen a course in Myrtle Beach in 4.5 years. And we paid extra to play this course; was going to call Breakers pro shop to tell them about the condition of the course.

Harry

03/27/2011

Great layout. Very poor condition. Spotty fairways, some greens have patched areas. Very disappointed in condition. Paid $55 w/lunch and two beers on March 25. Played this course numerous years ago and thought we would try again. Will not play again until conditioning improves.

Maurice

03/24/2011

We play this course on our trip every year and love it! We love everything about it and the staff.

Timothy

03/09/2011

Love the layout and the scenery, but the fairways were very spotty and the greens were horrible.

Page 1 of 2 pages.
 1 2 > 

Photos and Video

Oyster Bay Golf Articles

Best Myrtle Beach Golf Courses You May Not Have Played

Don’t call them the comebacks. They’ve been here for years. But for whatever reason, these courses may have been passed over on your list of must-plays for the Myrtle Beach area. Maybe they aren’t centrally located; or possibly it’s their place among a cluster of other courses. Either way, it’s time make time for these five tracks and see exactly what they have to offer. - Read More

Course Spotlight: Oyster Bay Golf Links

There is a tendency in life to gravitate towards what is new, but typically standing the test of time is the truest indicator of quality. That is certainly the case at Oyster Bay Golf Links, one of the Grand Strand’s premier layouts. - Read More