Back to All Courses

Man O’ War Golf Club

Man O’ War Golf Club

Water, water everywhere on this dynamically designed Myrtle Beach golf course. Man O’ War Golf Club has remained in the upper echelon of local courses, and earned a prestigious four-star rating from Golf Digest. But it’s Man O’ War’s originality that offers an experience that no visiting golfer will ever forget. 1-866-694-2448
5601 Leeshire Blvd. Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 434 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Water, water everywhere on this dynamically designed Myrtle Beach golf course. Man O’ War Golf Club has remained in the upper echelon of local courses, and earned a prestigious four-star rating from Golf Digest. But it’s Man O’ War’s originality that offers an experience that no visiting golfer will ever forget.

Built around a 100-pluss acre lake, this Dan Maples design has swallowed plenty of golf balls in its time. But for the most part, the prepared and patient can maneuver it while enjoying its originality.

Opened in 1996, Man O’ War includes water on 16 of its 18 holes. That includes back-to-back island greens on Nos. 14 and 15 – said by Sports Illustrated to possibly be the game’s only such occurrence. If you’re lucky enough to stay dry, you still have to worry about the very fast bentgrass greens. Before golfers reach that unique double, though, they also have to contend with No. 9. The 433-yard par 4 is an island hole, not simply a green. From the tee box, players must hit a straight shot onto a secondary island, connected to the first only by an elevated cart path. The approach then requires a near-perfect shot to stay out of sand. Of course, it wouldn’t be Man O ‘War without more water coming into play. Most consider this another par 5 for the course because of its propensity for bogeys. And that’s just the seventh-hardest hole on the course. Located in the Carolina Forest area of the Grand Strand, Man O’ War is just off U.S. 501 in the heart of Myrtle Beach. It also attracts plenty of visitors, especially ones who fly into town and spot all that water from overhead.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Man O’ War Golf Club

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Steve

03/27/2017

Course was OK. Tees were fair at best, fairways good and greens OK. Lots of water but rarely comes into play. Really need to stray off line to find most water hazards. Course lack usual Myrtle Beach amenities such as coolers on cart and on course beverage cart. Club house dated.

Donald

03/22/2017

I think everything was covered by both the staff on an off the course.

Chuck

12/03/2016

Where do I begin? The pro shop was useless, it seemed like I was bothering them when I got there. First golf course I've ever been to that didn't have any cigars...told me they were out of them. Someone isn't doing there job. Arrived hour+ early to warm up and hit the range. We had to walk to range because they didn't have any place to park carts by it. Range had no yardage markers and no water bucket to clean off clubs when finished hitting, so it was useless. No chipping area even though they advertise they have one. Yes, the small things like this, that you find at any decent course, matter. They wouldn't let us have a cart until 10 minutes before tee time. Said they had to keep tabs on them and they didn't trust people with them, so had to stand at cart barn with many other unhappy people. Greens were inconsistent with the speed. In other words, I was not happy before I ever hit a shot. I recommend skipping this course.

Ron

11/21/2016

Liked the layout and enjoyed the free lunch

Douglas

11/21/2016

Course was well maintained, the staff was friendly and helpful.

Jeff

10/23/2016

Water was not really a factor as it looked on previews.

Nick

09/27/2016

I played Man O' War last week and was not very impressed. The nicest part about the course was that it was fairly empty and we almost had it to ourselves. Pros: Staff was courteous, it was not busy, and they give you free lunch with a tee time. Also the length of the course at nearly 7,000 yard from the tips was great. Cons: The course was not maintained well. The greens we very patchy and uneven. The bunkers needed new sand. The fairways were freshly mowed however there were huge clumps of grass clippings everywhere! Every hole was littered with chunks of grass. Most courses bag their cut grass but apparently they don't do it here. The tee boxers were average at best. The worst aspect was the fact that there were maintenance workers all over the course making tremendous amounts of noise while we were playing. I realize mowers, weed-eaters, and blowers are loud and that work has to be done to the course, but why was it all being done at 11:00 am? It was very distracting and none of the employees seemed to care. I usually don't complain about golf courses but this course did not meet my expectations. I realize it's on the lower price scale but still, I was expecting nicer conditions and a course that didn't have maintenance workers all over it as we were trying to play. The pictures of this course look pretty but overall, reality doesn't match up. I don't think I will be going back. There are so many great courses in MB that are much better in my opinion.

Paul

09/07/2016

Many of the greens are showing the stress of summer otherwise course was in great shape considering the volume of rain received 2 days prior.

John

08/30/2016

Nice layout in the links style course but it just ticked me off when I pay full price and I am told to ride the cart path. Now this had nothing to do with rain since the area was generally dry for the last week.

Vincent

08/15/2016

All good.

John

08/13/2016

This is a fair golf course considering all the water. The condition of the tee boxes are excellent but the greens have been in better shape. My only setback with this course would be that even if I had booked the first tee time of the day some connected twosome managed to be ahead. It may not matter too many but for me it is called principles...so do not be surprised if you get forward golfers in front of you.

James

07/28/2016

The course was in very good condition.

Winston

07/21/2016

Play this course every year when visiting. Sometimes twice.

Norm

06/15/2016

Good.

Flint

05/29/2016

Always in great shape. More playable than you might think. Of more than 100 courses in the area this is easily in the top 10. Now for the bad news, you don't get the discounts you used to. I paid 68 dollars to play 18 holes. Used to play 3 rounds for $100.

Robert

05/29/2016

Shot best round ever.

Rickey

05/04/2016

Had been raining and carts on path but was an enjoyably round.

Ed

04/29/2016

Should have booked t-time when I got to Myrtle Beach! Booking ahead with f time through the Internet costs twice as much. Disappointed with the Cart Girl service on all courses

Jason

04/28/2016

All the water.

Jim

04/26/2016

Played there today with my wife, best friend, and his son. Wide variety of skills, and all had a great time. Beautiful course, great staff from starter to pro shop. We played the Witch last year, and this course was a little more wide open. Had more water, but not for ladies as much as tees were after initial water. Highly recommend for all levels of players. Played on a Tuesday morning for $52 per golfer, which included lunch, and 2 beverages. Highly recommend for all levels of players!!!

Howard

04/15/2016

The openness of the course and the water all around. 14 out of 18 where water is in play, nice!

John

04/05/2016

Pro shop staff and restaurant friendly. And courteous. All around good experience. Enjoyed our afternoon.

Gary

03/28/2016

Great course.

Mike

01/29/2016

Always enjoy playing this course. These are by far some of the best greens I have putted on, fast and true.

Timothy

01/06/2016

Always a great course in good shape. Staff were pleasant and the pace once we got past a foursome of beginner golfers good. Lots of water to avoid and the wind always blows here but it was a good course.

Timothy

12/29/2015

Extremely wet from heavy rains the night before but not much puddling to be found, it drains well. The greens were in very good shape for this time of year. Some of the bunkers need some care but otherwise it's in better shape than most and better than I have seen it in the past.

Bill

12/01/2015

Greens were in excellent condition.

Tim

11/08/2015

Wide variety of holes and challenges. I would have liked to know that the greens had been aerated recently and the ground pretty soft.

Stephen

09/30/2015

Man-O-War is fantastic. A beautiful golf course with the best island green this side of TPC Sawgrass. Immaculately conditioned as well.

Todd

09/21/2015

Loved everything about this course - from customer service to course layout. Must play in Myrtle.

Andy

09/21/2015

This could be the best course, hands-down, i've ever played in the Myrtle Beach area. SO much good going on there, variety of shots, plenty of water hazards to keep you on your toes, and immaculate conditions. Was our last stop on our buddies trip and we truly saved the best for last. A must play for anyone visiting, or heck living, in the area!

David

09/18/2015

Fabulous course, with the best greens on the beach, along with it sister course, The Wizard. Love #18. Hit 'em straight!

Glenn

09/18/2015

Best in Myrtle Beach!

D

09/18/2015

Man-O-War is flat out a real golfer's layout by Dan Maples. Although there is water on every hole, there is plenty of room in the well-maintained fairways. The greens run smooth, but are tricky to putt. We play this course every year on our annual pilgrimage to Myrtle Beach. Really a fine golf course. Cheeseburgers are great in the clubhouse as well!

Linzie

07/22/2015

Course was in great shape.

Bryan

07/21/2015

Course in great condition. Clubhouse not so much.

Ron

06/30/2015

Played Man O War on 06/26/15 and all I can say is WOW. The course is beautiful. No complaints at all. Clubhouse staff was awesome.

Todd

06/28/2015

Layout, green complexes,starters are incredibly nice. Watch out for the gnats.

Va

06/25/2015

The course was nice but the pace of the game was slow. We were behind a threesome and they were holding up the line. No ranger or marshal came out to enforce them to speed up or let us pass. After the 5 hole we just pass them. After we pass them, we had a great time.

Paul

06/04/2015

Nice layout.

Ron

05/19/2015

Mid handicappers from the uk. We were looking forward to this course after some great hype and reviews. We were so disappointed when we arrived to find that the tee time had slipped by one hour and then suffer a 6 hour round due to the club double booking and using the course as a cash cow rather than a golf course. Surprisingly the greens were the main challenge on the course rather than the water hazards. Pay close attention to the pin positions on these massive undulating greens as if you are on the wrong side of the green you will do well to 3 put.

Scott

04/13/2015

Lots of water, very little elevation change, a few blind shots. Not overly difficult. Greens a bit slow, but rolled well.

Kevin

12/28/2014

Great round! We enjoyed so much! Everyone was super friendly. Thank you.

Bob

12/10/2014

Excellent.

Robert

12/09/2014

Good.

Kevin

12/03/2014

Very good.

Mimi

11/28/2014

Very nice course was very pleasant to play on as well as looking at all the natural scenery and ponds. The lay of the course was pleasant to play on. The guys enjoy the beers and hot dogs as usual.

Daniel

11/13/2014

Totally unique with the placement of water (everywhere!) and need to play for specific areas of the course to be 'dry.'

Gerard

11/08/2014

Liked the course ... Ladies at the grill were very friendly.

Jason

10/31/2014

Very good.

Page 1 of 4 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Man O’ War Golf Club Articles

What’s in a name? Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round Designers List Says It All

The results are in, and Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round project speak to an underlying truth more often than not. Some golf course architects have something most others do not. - Read More