Back to All Courses

Legends Golf Resorts - Heathland Course

Legends Golf Resorts - Heathland Course

Heathland is a par 71 links-style Myrtle Beach golf course that is one of Tom Doak’s many beautiful designs. It is centrally located in Myrtle Beach on flat land without high vegetation, exposing you to the wind and giving you a very unique look from tee to green. The flat land and deep-faced bunkers combined with the gusty winds makes this golf course a treat for anyone looking for good links-style golf. The par 5 13th hole and par 5 5th hole are examples of links-style golf at its best with an inviting appearance off the tee and natural flowing hazards that run through them giving any level golfer a true test. 1-866-694-2448
1500 Legends Road Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 262 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Heathland is a par 71 links-style Myrtle Beach golf course that is one of Tom Doak’s many beautiful designs. It is centrally located in Myrtle Beach on flat land without high vegetation, exposing you to the wind and giving you a very unique look from tee to green. The flat land and deep-faced bunkers combined with the gusty winds makes this golf course a treat for anyone looking for good links-style golf. The par 5 13th hole and par 5 5th hole are examples of links-style golf at its best with an inviting appearance off the tee and natural flowing hazards that run through them giving any level golfer a true test.

The Heathland Course at Legends Golf & Resort was awarded “Best public access course you can play in South Carolina” (2009). It was recognized as one of “America’s top golf courses”(Zagat survey 2009) as well as given 4 ½ stars by Golf Digest’s “Places to Play” in 2008.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Legends Golf Resorts - Heathland Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

John

08/17/2016

A great layout if you enjoy a links style course and cannot beat the price with the all included deal but the price to pay will be a long golf round! Aerated process underway...tee boxes and greens. I would estimate the front 9 greens got aerated a few weeks ago but are coming back nicely. Now the back 9 greens are what I could described as very bumpy...

Quinn

09/29/2015

Great course, like the breakfast, golf, lunch deal. Forgiving off tee but still challenging.

Scott

07/24/2015

Amazingly soggy conditions around the greens compared with the rest of the course and other courses in the area. It was clearly from watering versus rain. The tees were cut high, but higher grass versus no grass is preferred given the temps and time of year. The course was overall a great experience and in very goo condition. I had not played this course in a dozen or more years, but was impressed with the conditions and value based on cost. I also happened to shoot my personal best round ever in Myrtle Beach having logged at least 100 over the years.

Trey

06/27/2015

Course was great, challenging but forgiving. Will definitely play again.

Jose

03/11/2015

Nice all inclusive deal.

Tom

01/22/2015

This is a lengthy course that will challenge a golfer with any handicap, low-medium-high. The par 5 holes are able to get to in three with no problem. Most of the par 4 holes require a very good drive and will still leave a long challenging shot. Two of the par 3 holes are very long for a senior.

Marc

12/21/2014

Excellent.

Richard

11/27/2014

The Legends group golf courses are first rate in every way. I only rated the fairways a 9 because of the extremely wet conditions, which were not the fault of the courses. I gave the grill a 9 because the food was not world class, but certainly good. And the Legends group gives you tickets for breakfast, lunch, and two drinks as a bonus for playing a round of golf. You can't beat that.

Bill

11/16/2014

Very good.

Gary

11/13/2014

Played all 3 Legends courses, had a great time and for time of year courses were in great shape. I enjoyed all 3 rounds.

Ray

11/12/2014

Outstanding.

Dean

11/12/2014

Course was very enjoyable. Open fairways, large greens, excellent shape. Course layout allowed for use of a variety of clubs, not just a driver-wedge course.

Tim

11/11/2014

Very good.

Kevin

11/09/2014

Excellent.

Glenda

11/03/2014

Excellent.

Gary

10/11/2014

Very good.

M

10/06/2014

Excellent.

Robert

10/05/2014

Good.

Darren

09/10/2014

The course was good, but it was WAY OVERBOOKED. We had played over 5 hours and just got to hole 13 before we left. Driving out there was no break in groups so it's not just like there was a slow group or two. I understand these are popular courses, but it was so crowded we were waiting on every hole. Probably won't go back to any of the other courses there.

Jean

08/17/2014

The course was OK, but the food on breakfast was poor, potatoes were very poor.

Bruce

08/01/2014

Great

Ken

03/07/2014

Spectacular golf course

Sam

03/07/2014

Could not complete play on the back nine due to constant cold rain.

Heekul

01/23/2014

Outstanding

James

12/04/2013

Beautiful course, even in the rain

Alex

11/25/2013

Fantastic

Michael

11/19/2013

Great

Barry

10/23/2013

Good conditions and they hadn't yet seeded so we could ride anywhere

Jeff

10/14/2013

Little slow getting groups loaded into carts but after that it was good.

Shaun

08/20/2013

Loved the links feel, but could tell the greens had recently been aerated greens were pretty sandy. Also for half the course the tees were moved up to basically a winter tee set where all tees were located with the Red tee box, it would have been nice to know that the course was under this maintenance before playing. But overall this was my favorite layout of the trip.

James

07/15/2013

Check-in is always unorganized and not timely. I go back 10 years and this past week. Has never improved. You need to rethink setup and organization. Also your person checking in for Heathland 0n 07-09-2013 needs to rethink his career path. Not customer service friendly. His attitude is what reminds me of the past years experience at your club. Will not be back and as the old saying goes we will tell 10 others about the unpleasant experience.

Timothy

05/13/2013

Good

Mike

05/08/2013

We played on a rainy and windy day, so it made things challenging. However had a great experience with this course. It was in great shape from tees to green. It is a Pete Dye course so there were far too many ill placed bunkers and way too many blind shots. Great course to play for lower handicappers.

Mike

04/01/2013

Great

Kenneth

03/20/2013

Great

Terry

02/26/2013

Good

Thomas

02/19/2013

Great experience.

John

02/19/2013

All the Legends courses were fantastic along with the staff & food. We played Moorland & Parkland as well. The last course was Oyster Bay, nice course but the pro would not give us a replay, said they were booked but we overheard him telling a friend on the phone they were wide open in afternoon. Sent us to the Pearl who would not honor our replay. All 4 of us will never play Oyster Bay again.

Charlie

01/05/2013

Outstanding.

Pat

11/28/2012

Greens are very tricky.

Dan

11/20/2012

Excellent.

John

11/20/2012

Outstanding.

Craig

11/08/2012

First time at Legends, did not know about comp meals and drinks and had made other plans. Knew for the next two times we played this trip.

Bob

11/05/2012

Very good.

Chuck

10/07/2012

OK course.

Russ

08/14/2012

Layout was decent, but pretty easy. Very open fairways. VERY, VERY crowded, and starter constantly pushing you, even though we were waiting on tee box for group in front of us to clear par 3. Starter told us to pick up pace. Needs a lot better management. Will not play again.

Don

08/04/2012

Due to wet conditions playing surfaces were so-so. Cart path only rules make for a very tiring day. Courses need to consider discounts or compensation when carts aren't allowed on fairways. Conditions at Heathland were slightly better than Long Bay.

Andy

07/17/2012

Greens aerated about a week ago. Give another 2 weeks and they will be in great condition like Moorland and Parkland. Good layout. Great warm up course for a golf trip.

Bill

06/24/2012

Good.

Eric

06/22/2012

Attendant at check in a bit surly; rest of staff wonderful.

Page 1 of 2 pages.
 1 2 > 

Photos and Video

Legends Golf Resorts - Heathland Course Articles

5 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses That Favor the Big Hitters

Some offer pure distance; others provide opportunities to muscle up with less chance for disaster. Either way, it’s time to eat your Wheaties and go to work. - Read More

Golf Magazine Says 13 of SC’s Best Courses You Can Play Are in Myrtle Beach

When Golf's editors recently released their 2016/2017 “Top 100 Courses You Can Play” list and “Best In State” rankings, they confirmed the Myrtle Beach area has the best collection of golf courses in the country. - Read More

The 5 Best Clubhouse Experiences in Myrtle Beach Golf

The positive vibes from a round on the links don’t have to evaporate as soon as the 18th pin is placed back into the cup. - Read More

Summer Course Work: Eight Myrtle Beach Golf Favorites

In three-plus decades the author has played dozens of golf courses along the 60-some miles of the Myrtle Beach “Grand Strand." Here is a sampler of eight of his favorites. - Read More