Back to All Courses

Heather Glen Golf Course

Heather Glen Golf Course

Willard Byrd must have brought Scotland over to America with his most popular course design, Heather Glen Golf Links. Located in Little River, South Carolina, this 27-hole course layout is a tribute to the best Scottish and Irish links in golf. Golfers come back every year to enjoy this links style course with gorgeous oaks and pine trees, fresh water ponds, and a period-style traditional Scottish clubhouse. If that’s not spectacular enough, Heather Glen has earned several leading awards for its historic course. Golf Digest ranked Heather Glen as America’s #1 New Public Course (1987), and has been recognized among the Carolinas’ and country’s best golf courses throughout the years since. It has also been named to the Top 50 Public Courses in America in 1990, the Top 5 Courses in South Carolina in 1995 and awarded 4.5 stars in Golf Digest’s “Places to Play” readers’ choice poll in 2002. 1-866-694-2448
4650 Heather Glen Way Little River, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 214 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Willard Byrd must have brought Scotland over to America with his most popular course design, Heather Glen Golf Links. Located in Little River, South Carolina, this 27-hole course layout is a tribute to the best Scottish and Irish links in golf. Golfers come back every year to enjoy this links style course with gorgeous oaks and pine trees, fresh water ponds, and a period-style traditional Scottish clubhouse. If that’s not spectacular enough, Heather Glen has earned several leading awards for its historic course. Golf Digest ranked Heather Glen as America’s #1 New Public Course (1987), and has been recognized among the Carolinas’ and country’s best golf courses throughout the years since. It has also been named to the Top 50 Public Courses in America in 1990, the Top 5 Courses in South Carolina in 1995 and awarded 4.5 stars in Golf Digest’s “Places to Play” readers’ choice poll in 2002.

Two signature holes that stand out at Heather Glen are #3 (White Nine) and #2 (Blue Nine). The 351-yard Par 4, #3, features a menacing pot bunker guarding the green; be prepared to know how to play your wedges on this hole. You will find Heather Glen decorated with these types of bunkers throughout your entire round. Similarly, as #3 presents bunker challenges, be prepared for more on the short Par 3, Blue Nine #2. Only at 160 yards, #2 stays true to the Scottish style links design and features deep pot bunkers and thick heather surrounding this small green.  Most golfers find that they can maneuver these signature holes easily if they chose the right club selection.  But fear not, Heather Glen has much more to offer than just challenging bunkers.  You will find the meandering streams, petite ponds, heather, and towering oaks and pines a vast distraction from the challenges of this Scottish style links course.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Heather Glen Golf Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Ted

02/22/2017

Tee Boxes & Greens are in good shape but the fairways were very thin & bare in some areas. Overall conditions were below average which is unusual for this course. Hopefully with spring approaching the course will improve. Staff is always very friendly here.

Ted

10/26/2016

Overall condition of course was good but could have used some more clean up on the fairways & greens. Lots of small debris everywhere. Pace of play was very slow 4hrs 45mins. Starter did apologize for pace of play & tried to move our foursome to another nine after we mad the turn but it was backed up on all 3 nines. I appreciate the concern from the starter but I think there should be rangers on the course doing their job & keeping pace of play reasonable. I would recommend playing here but be prepared for a slow round during the busy seasons.

Ted

07/27/2016

Tee Boxes & Fairways are in great shape. Greens were recently aerified but are doing rather well. Staff was very accommodating except no beverage cart due to heat....

Richard

07/27/2016

The staff was very helpful and allowed us to play Best Ball for the 5 of us which was not only great fun, but saved us wear and tear in the extreme heat!!

Steve

07/18/2016

Nice layout, but greens were not in good shape.

Joshua

07/13/2016

I love this course. The greens were a little beat-up with ball marks, but that's more on players than the course management. There are a bunch of interesting holes on this course and its a blast to play.

Ted

06/17/2016

Haven't played here in about 10 years. Course is in great shape. Lots of unique holes. Lots of rain the day before but carts were allowed on the fairways. Staff was very friendly & played 18 holes in less than 4 hours.

Susan

05/04/2016

Welcoming

Debra

05/02/2016

Nice old golf course. Good condition.

Chris

04/30/2016

Great, scenic, relaxing course.

David

07/17/2015

Love this place but was a little disappointed with the greens this time around. The Red Course's greens were OK (not great) and the Blue were a mess. Everything else was excellent. I think the White was closed the day our group played it.

Tim

07/09/2015

We played on July 1st and the greens were really bad. They had told us they had punched the greens but one nine we played hadn't been punched and they were horrible. The second nine we played the greens had been punched and they were a lot better than the other nine. The tee boxes and fairways were great.

Barry

10/15/2014

Outstanding.

Michael

09/27/2014

Just a little wet conditions.

Zan

09/23/2014

Excellent experience.

Paul

06/03/2014

All very well kept & enjoyable to play.

Dave

04/16/2014

Very good

Bill

03/17/2014

Always a good place to play.

Brian

03/07/2014

Been playing Heather Glen for over twenty years and have never been disappointed. The course was in good condition and the greens were receptive. Didn't see the ranger all day which allowed for a relaxed round of golf. Golfers of all skill levels will enjoy this course. Again, free lunch and replays thru the Glens Group make this a must on any golfers agenda.

Ian

02/13/2014

3 good loops of 9 holes a great place to play. On my must play list every trip to myrtle beach. A good test for any standard of golfer.

Gary

02/13/2014

Good

Charles

11/26/2013

Good

Jean-Marc

11/19/2013

Fantastic

Bill

09/12/2013

Played 9/8/13, thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the course was in great shape.

Bill

06/17/2013

From the time we dropped off of our clubs, till the last putt was tapped in, this was a very pleasurable experience. Course was in excellent condition from the tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Played all 27 holes and found this course to be very fair and challenging. Beautiful scenery and enough elevation changes give you the opportunity to hit every club in your bag. Will definately recommend this course!!!!!

Michael

06/04/2013

Great layout excellent hole designs

Douglas

06/03/2013

Outstanding course and service

Kyle

05/28/2013

Nice course.

Vernon

04/25/2013

Excellent layout Lots of trees No visible houses Best architecture Love the course

Chris

04/24/2013

Great

Jim

04/01/2013

OK

Matt

04/01/2013

Amazing! Very green all around. Greens rolled true. Staff was excellent.

Josh

03/05/2013

One of the best courses I've ever played. Beautiful numbering around the entire course. A must play for anyone.

Ed

11/22/2012

Good layout - greens were fair.

Bernie

11/18/2012

Love the design and layout of this course ... Not much one can say, as it is a golf course.

Jay

10/10/2012

Tough course if you miss the fairway. Starter advised to club up on most shots, it took me 4 holes to finally believe. Greens were respectable, about 9.5 stimp, and tough to read.

Graham

10/04/2012

Very good.

Paul

09/28/2012

We loved it.

Paul

08/11/2012

Loved it.

David

07/29/2012

Fun course, excellent shape. Didn't see much of the staff.

Mark

07/16/2012

Nice track! Their sister track across the street, Glen Dornoch, might be more scenic but the hole layout is better at Heather Glen. The course is in great shape considering the lack of rain, which made the round easier since the creek beds were all dry. With pace of play, I only wish the grill would have their specials somewhat ready to speed the turn and have the lawn crew stop cutting right next to the tee box when you are about to hit. Really don't care about the noise as much as spraying a shot. Watch the squirrels! They WILL steal your food!

Jeff

07/09/2012

Beautiful course, well maintained. Only hitch was I booked online the night before but our tee time was still double booked. They were still able to accommodate.

Jon

05/26/2012

Good.

Ross

05/21/2012

All good.

Roberta

05/14/2012

Definitely will play again. Thank you.

Eric

05/03/2012

Enjoyed very much.

Timothy

05/01/2012

Course was in awesome shape. Pace of play was very good and the staff was extremely helpful.

Barron

04/20/2012

Excellent.

Gene

03/20/2012

Great course. Excellent shape. Nice, no houses on course. One of my favorites at the beach.

Kurt

02/14/2012

The greens were not good at all.

Page 1 of 2 pages.
 1 2 > 

Photos and Video

Heather Glen Golf Course Articles

There are no course articles available at this time. Please click here to view all news articles.