Back to All Courses

Grande Dunes Resort Club

Grande Dunes Resort Club

Playing the Resort Club at Grande Dunes for the first time, you will understand why this Roger Rulewich design was named National Golf Course of the Year in 2009 by the National Golf Course Owners Association. The winner of The Sun News Best of the Beach "Best Golf Course" from 2001-2007, the Resort Club has hosted three South Carolina Opens, two John Deere World Championships and will host the prestigious PGA Club Professionals Championship in 2014. 1-866-694-2448
8700 Golf Village Lane Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 9/5 based on 597 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Playing the Resort Club at Grande Dunes for the first time, you will understand why this Roger Rulewich design was named National Golf Course of the Year in 2009 by the National Golf Course Owners Association.  The winner of The Sun News Best of the Beach "Best Golf Course" from 2001-2007, the Resort Club has hosted three South Carolina Opens, two John Deere World Championships and will host the prestigious PGA Club Professionals Championship in 2014.

Playing from 122 to 220 yards, the par 3 14th is Grande Dunes’ signature hole that borders the Intracoastal Waterway.  With the teeing ground on a high bluff overlooking the wide but narrow green, there is not a more picturesque hole in Myrtle Beach.  Many times players get entranced by the surrounding beauty so pars are hard to come by.  The par 4 9th hole has equally stunning views of the Intracoastal Waterway and the Grande Dunes Marina.  Come play the course PGA Magazine calls "one of the great golf clubs of the world."

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Grande Dunes Resort Club

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

R (Wake Forest, North Carolina)

11/25/2017

Course in good shape. Excellent range and practice areas. Tees available for many skill levels. Pace of play a little slow.

Susan (Ponte Vedra Beach , FL)

11/22/2017

Terrain with elevation changes on back 9 and elevated greens for a change

Lawrence (Hagerstown, Maryland)

11/22/2017

Nice layout. Good views. I like the holes on the Intracoastal Waterway.

Gary (Milwaukee , WI)

11/14/2017

This is one of our groups all time favorites Everything is well done. From club drop to the finish of your day. Course conditions are exceptional. Staff very accommodating. Would highly recommend.

John (Stanley, NC)

11/11/2017

Fantastic greens. Fast and true. Fairways were in great shape after reseeding. Some wet places with bad mower tracks.

Kevin (Nossegem, Ot)

11/09/2017

The condition of the course was excellent and I liked the layout. Everyone was very friendly. It will be top of my list to play again on my next visit

Larry (Leeland, SC)

09/19/2017

So much fun. We'll be back here for sure.

Russell

07/22/2017

was a good track staff was very friendly. Had a good time will play here again. Hole 8 was fun.

William

07/22/2017

was a good track staff was very friendly. Had a good time will play here again. Hole 8 was fun.

Joseph

07/22/2017

All good

Greg,

03/05/2017

Great course! Great staff! Pace of play the day we played was poor. 5 hour round. stater said we play a 15 minute whole round. not even close. 1st ranger we saw was on 18 and we told him how bad pace was. HIs answer was well you know its a resort course. Yes we knew having played there numerous times. Never before has it taken so long. Would return though because the course is that good.

Vincente

02/26/2017

Great service. Course was in great shape. Fun to play.

Brian (Brewster, NY)

12/31/2016

I would have liked to know about all the facilities you offer but besides that the course is one of Myrtle Beach's best.

Franklin (Mount Pleasant, SC0)

12/30/2016

Outstanding.

Franchot (Marietta, GA)

12/28/2016

Efficient check-in process and ease of getting to practice facility prior to round.

Todd (Charlotte, NC)

12/16/2016

The pro shop staff was very accommodating in pairing me with other golfers.

Jimmy (Augusta, GA)

12/10/2016

Course was well maintained, tees, fairways and greens were in excellent shape.

J. (Yorktown, VA)

12/08/2016

Grand Dunes was a beautiful course with holes to challenge golfers at all levels. Even in the damp conditions the course held up and played very well. Being approached by the course marshal on the 2nd hole about pace with no one behind us was something we had to shrug off. Afterwards we thoroughly enjoyed our round. Great course loved every minute of my visit.

Allen (Jackson, NJ)

12/07/2016

I would play this course again.

Ben (Pottstown, PA)

11/30/2016

Beautiful course

John (Sierra Vista, AZ)

11/18/2016

Course was in great shape! Greens were running at about 11-12 on Stimp. Would definitely play there again.

Danny (Kernersville, NC)

11/15/2016

Staff was extremely accommodating. My son-in-law is a Doctor and wanting to start playing golf. We had a threesome and the course allowed him to ride along with me. I thank you!!! He will start lessons soon. Great way for him to see how the day might go.

Henry (Wallace, NC)

11/11/2016

Wide fairways mostly, but still including some challenges in landing areas.

Peter (Raleigh, NC)

11/08/2016

Good experience. Would have liked to know we were starting on back 9 when tee time was made.

Patrick (Stowe, VT)

10/23/2016

The greens were in great condition and the fastest of the three courses we played this week.

Jesse

10/19/2016

As always, one of my favorite places to play when in the Myrtle Beach area.

Daniel (Haveloc, NC)

10/07/2016

(Liked) the course as a hole. The staff, the course and the way we were treated.

John (Collegeville, PA)

09/28/2016

Dry, great conditioning, nice practice center.

Adrian,

09/26/2016

The course was in very good shape considering the weather rain of the last week. Fairways were 90% dry and the greens were true, if not a little slower than what I normally expect on a course of this status. None the less they did roll true. The design of the course was great, but it would assist players if some of the hazards or water was marked for distance of the tee. Nothing hurts more than your 280 yard straight drive rolling into a hazard that is not visible from the tee that cuts across the fairway. Speed of play however was an issue, we hit off at 8:20 and finished at 1:35. Had to wait on every tee box for 5 - 10 minutes, plus on fairways. The rangers kept telling us they were pushing the slow groups ahead of us. I don't believe them, the group ahead of us was playing the blue tees, that's almost 7200 yards, unless you are a sub 5 handicap or 280 yard plus you shouldn't play this length. They clearly were not that good as playing from the white tee's we constantly hit our tee shots up on them as they hit their 3rd shots. The rangers need to watch a hole of two and then just move them forward to the correct tee for their ability. That is one of their jobs.

John (Powell, OH)

09/22/2016

Wow...fast greens!! Loved the course and the views were amazing! Best of all, everyone from the attendants to the starters are super nice and very accommodating. I will definitely play this course again!!

Ron (Marana, AZ)

09/13/2016

Nice condition, nice people.

Floyd (Bahama, NC)

09/13/2016

Great Course

Bob (Taylors, SC)

09/11/2016

Nice track, good people.

Dusty,

09/06/2016

The course was in great shape especially considering the high winds and rain that hit the area the night before and overall we enjoyed the experience. My only complaint is the starter, Barry from Andover, PA. We had roughly a 12:40 tee time and at 12:20 we were headed to the range to hit a few balls and he was already running us down as if he was in some big hurry to get us out on the course. First of all the course was not busy at all, maybe 15-20 cars in the parking lot and then he pairs us up with another couple. We politely asked if we could play just the two of us and he was having no part of that idea whatsoever stating that the course was booked solid for the day. We found that very hard to believe with only a few cars in the parking lot not to mention the fact that we had actually seen the tee sheet already that morning and the day was pretty open. This was one of the main reasons we decided to play there because we knew it wasn't going to be real busy. Despite us telling him this according to Barry the course was booked solid for the day, hard to believe that changed so much from just a couple hours ago when we checked it at 10 am that same morning. On top of pairing us up with another couple making us a foursome this genius sends a twosome off right behind us, what sense does that make?!?!?! He could have sent 3 twosomes out instead which would have created a much more steady pace of play for everyone, hope the group behind us wasn't too tired of waiting, they have Barry to thank for that. Fortunately we play quickly and stayed out of their way. If we decide to go back my only hope is that Barry will not be the starter, hard to enjoy the day when you're already annoyed before even hitting the first tee shot.

David (Latham, NY)

09/06/2016

Very enjoyable experience.

James (Richmond, VA)

09/05/2016

(Liked the) hole on waterway par 3 most likely signature hole.

Dan (Centreville, VA)

08/27/2016

The course was in great shape. The staff was friendly and helpful. The homes around the course were beautiful. The greens were super fast.

Matt (Marlboro, NJ)

08/26/2016

Course in great shape. Starters friendly and greens roll true. Fast greens.

Jason (Strongsville, OH)

08/22/2016

The course was awesome, great condition!

Jonathan (Bolivar, NY)

08/17/2016

A terrific challenging course that is just beautiful to play. With the choice of tee boxes you are able to play to your own challenge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Wayne (Mechanicsburg, PA)

08/17/2016

The greens were in excellent condition. I played the course in early June and mid August. At both times I couldn't ask for a course in better condition.

David (Egg Harbor Township, NJ)

08/17/2016

Greens were rolling perfect!

Matt,

08/15/2016

Great afternoon round. Condition was great as always. A couple of the traps had water in them from the thunderstorm the night before and a few fairways were soggy. Greens rolling smooth. Can't go wrong at The Grande Dunes!

John (Wilmington, MA)

08/12/2016

Despite heat of summer the course was in excellent shape.

Lucia (Moorestown, NJ)

08/12/2016

Not all holes were numbered

Chase (Charleston, WV)

08/11/2016

Outstanding.

John (Severna Park, MD)

08/08/2016

Took almost 3 hours to play back nine, same thing happened last year, but we like the course, so we tried it again this year. Won't be back as we play 3-4 other courses during week vacation in Myrtle each year and pace of play is far better. 4-4:15 hours for round of golf.

Dave,

08/01/2016

Wonderful round today! Round played in 4:05 with no wait at the turn. Staff great! My wife needed an ace wrap and they were able to get us one thanks to Matt. Course in great shape. Second week in Myrtle and the first round under 5 hours. No overbooking front and back.

Clifton (Apex, NC)

07/30/2016

Course was immaculate. Greens were nice. Staff was great.

Jeffrey (Pickerington, OH)

07/17/2016

The golf course was in excellent shape. Despite the fact that it was the middle of July the greens were in fantastic condition, and were 11 or 12 on the stimp meter. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My favorite place to play in Myrtle Beach.

Page 1 of 8 pages.
 1 2 3 >  Last ›

Photos and Video

Grande Dunes Resort Club Articles

Winter Golf Not Only Exists, But Thrives, in Myrtle Beach

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow. Up north, maybe. Down here in Golf Capital, U.S.A., we can’t be bothered with such environmental concerns. In South Carolina’s Grand Strand - a section of 60-plus miles of beaches and 90 or so golf courses - the links are still welcoming despite the season. - Read More

Grande Dunes Resort Club Among The Best Playing Options In Myrtle Beach

Meredith speaks with Dustin Powers, Head Golf Professional at Grande Dunes Resort Club. Dustin explains why this acclaimed, award-winning design is one of the best in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

Play Through Five Decades Of Great Courses With Myrtle Beach Golf Trips

Myrtle Beach is known as “America’s Seaside Golf Capital.” Over decades we’ve grown both the number and variety of our golf courses, and many of our designs are by the most outstanding architects of their time. - Read More

Get A Free TaylorMade® Club Fitting At 6 Grand Strand Courses This Fall

6 Grand Strand Golf Courses have teamed up with TaylorMade to offer free custom club fittings this fall. - Read More

Improve Your Game with Properly Fitted Golf Clubs From The Grande Dunes Golf Performance Center

A Golf Magazine study found 90 percent of American golfers could be playing with improperly fit clubs. If you're shopping around for performance enhancing club, check out the Grande Dunes Golf Performance Center which offers custom club fitting, lessons, and more. - Read More

Fun Retail Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

Meredith catches up with Casey Cook, Director of Retail for Founders Group International. Casey showcases some of the fun new merchandise items that you will find throughout the golf shops in Myrtle Beach. - Read More

Meredith Offers Up a Golf Club “Challenge”

During a visit to Grande Dunes Resort Club, Myrtle Beach golf ambassador Meredith Kirk had a unique way of welcoming a group of visiting golfers from Texas. This is part one of her golf club “challenge” – let’s see how they did! - Read More

Camera-Ready: Perfect Round Includes Visually Stunning Options

Among the 18 holes that were selected by the South Carolina Golf Course Ratings Panel, some carry extra pop, both to the eye and the camera lens. Between the combination of natural environment their famous designers utilized in crafting these holes and years of top-notch maintenance to preserve them, you’ve officially been warned. - Read More

Give Dad The Gift Of Golf For Father’s Day

Save a trip to the store and book your Father's Day gift here with Myrtle Beach Golf Trips. Get $10 off two rounds and kids play free with each paying adult. - Read More

Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round-Perfect Par 3’s

The Perfect Round boasts the best of the best. Much like the rest of the group, the Par 3s in the series are a collection of stunning and challenging designs. - Read More

Kid-Friendly Options For Your Myrtle Beach Golf Trip

South Carolina’s Grand Strand has crafted itself into a dual golfing identity - one where adults have their fun and another where parents can bring the kids and still enjoy every minute of the vacation. This will help those who want to achieve the latter. - Read More

What’s in a name? Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round Designers List Says It All

The results are in, and Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round project speak to an underlying truth more often than not. Some golf course architects have something most others do not. - Read More

Grande Dunes Golf Performance Center Opens

The elite facility is designed to fit you with the best equipment and improve your game with instruction using the latest technology found in few other places. - Read More

S.C. Ratings Panel and M.B. Golf Trips Identifies “Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round” of 18 Golf Holes

Panel Says Some Of Myrtle Beach's Best Golf Holes Are At Caledonia, Grande Dunes, TPC Myrtle Beach, Pawleys Plantation, Tidewater And Willbrook Plantation - Read More

Grand Plan-4 Days of Golf, Food & Fun in Myrtle Beach

With 100 golf courses, 18 times as many restaurants, and countless other activities, figuring out a Myrtle Beach itinerary isn’t easy, so we’ve done it for you. - Read More

Four Reasons for an April Golf Getaway to Myrtle Beach

As you start preparing for the seasons to turn and getting a steady diet of links time, here are some pretty important reasons to get to Myrtle Beach in April, something so many others have already made a part of their annual routine. - Read More

Meredith Chats It Up with Myrtle Beach Golf Vacationers from Texas

During her recent visit to Grande Dunes Resort Club, Myrtle Beach golf ambassador Meredith Kirk spent some time with a visiting group from Texas. Check out what they had to share about their Myrtle Beach golf experience! - Read More

Meredith Kirk Offers Up a “Quick Fix” for a Visiting Golfer

Meredith Kirk, lead instructor for the Dustin Johnson Golf School at TPC Myrtle Beach, paid a recent visit to Grande Dunes Resort Club – and, during a random observation of visiting golfers on the practice range, offered up some impromptu advice. - Read More

4 of South Carolina’s “Best You Can Play” Jockeying for Position

Founders Group International manages 22 of Myrtle Beach’s most respected courses, four of which have recently been named to Golf Magazine’s list of best courses you can play in South Carolina. - Read More

How to Make Your Next Myrtle Beach Golf Trip a “Ryder Cup” Experience

Want to put a cool twist on your next golf buddy trip to Myrtle Beach? How about setting up as Ryder Cup format for your next trip? - Read More

Golf Magazine Says 13 of SC’s Best Courses You Can Play Are in Myrtle Beach

When Golf's editors recently released their 2016/2017 “Top 100 Courses You Can Play” list and “Best In State” rankings, they confirmed the Myrtle Beach area has the best collection of golf courses in the country. - Read More

The Best of the Best at the Beach: The Top 10 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses

Getting to the top of the Grand Strand golf echelon isn’t easy. Competition is fierce. Different courses have varying selling points. And let’s not forget that personal taste always prevails. - Read More

Golf Insider’s Top 10 Trending Myrtle Beach Courses for Spring 2016

For those with spring fever looking for a bit of guidance, the ones who’ve already experienced Grand Strand golf in 2016 are weighing in at the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider with their thoughts on the area’s hottest-trending courses heading into the peak season. - Read More

The 5 Most Challenging Myrtle Beach Golf Courses

A big part of these courses’ massive popularity among visiting golfers goes beyond their aesthetic beauty and exceptional customer service experience. When played from the championship tees, these golf courses are a big, brawny test of any golfer’s game. - Read More

USA Today’s 10Best.com Rates Its Top 10 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses

Longtime Myrtle Beach freelance writer Terry Massey recently offered up his choices for the Grand Strand’s top golf courses for USA Today’s 10Best.com – including two of the renowned Founders Collection designs that have served as major event venues in recent years. - Read More

Happy Holidays from Myrtle Beach Golf Trips!

Santa's 2015 holiday sleigh ride tour included the Grand Strand. Check out what he saw when he flew by some of our renowned golf courses. - Read More

Michael Block Wins PGA Professional National Championship in Myrtle Beach

Hitting sand wedge from 120 yards out on the 10th hole at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, Michael Block knocked his approach within 4 feet of the pin – setting up the winning birdie putt on the second playoff hole, and making Block only the ninth player ever to win the PNC in his first attempt. - Read More

Maginnes Minute: What’s On Tap Right Now in Myrtle Beach Golf?

This week, SiriusXM Radio host and former PGA TOUR player John Maginnes checks in as the azaleas start to bloom. Spring is here - and John tells us what's on his mind as the great weather is now upon us. - Read More

Maginnes Minute: My Myrtle Beach Golf Experience

This week, SiriusXM radio host and former PGA TOUR player John Maginnes reflects upon his most recent trip to Myrtle Beach, and sheds some light on some big-stage golf events happening on the Grand Strand in 2014. - Read More

NBA Stars & Heavyweight Champ Weigh In on Myrtle Beach Golf

The celebrities who took time out recently to share their thoughts on what they love most about Myrtle Beach golf include two former NBA stars, the former heavyweight boxing champion of the world and a nationally renowned golf radio personality. - Read More

More Celebrities on Myrtle Beach Golf

A former New York Knicks star, a Hall of Fame basketball coach, a popular comedian and a 19-year quarterback in the NFL each took time recently to share their thoughts on why they love Myrtle Beach golf. - Read More

Celebrities Weigh In on Myrtle Beach Golf

Sam Jones has as many NBA championship rings as he has fingers, and has been named one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History. This Boston Celtics legend understands excellence: so when he makes the latest of his many return trips to the Myrtle Beach golf scene, and takes the time to share his thoughts about why he comes back year after year, we make it a point to listen. - Read More

Sterling Sharpe & Friends Talk Myrtle Beach Golf

Dozens of sports & entertainment celebrities descended upon the Grand Strand recently & took time out to share their thoughts on what brings them back to the Myrtle Beach golf scene year after year. - Read More