Back to All Courses

Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links

    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Glen Dornoch is one of the finest Myrtle Beach golf courses, located along the Intracoastal Waterway.  Designed by Clyde Johnston in tribute to the renowned Donald Ross, Glen Dornoch has become a leading course to play in South Carolina.  It was voted by Golf Magazine as one of the Top 20 Golf Courses in South Carolina and rated among the top 30 in Golf World magazine.  Golfers who visit this course, year after year, will tell you that the course is a challenge against nature’s best.  The course encompasses 270 acres of oaks, pines and magnolias, and features several 35-foot elevations sloping down to the scenic Intracoastal Waterway.  If that’s not enough, the lush Bermuda greens and well-kept fairways make this a golfer’s paradise.

One of the most talked about holes on the course is the double green shared by the 9th and 18th holes which are just yards away from the beautiful Intracoastal Waterway. Both are par 4s and if you aren’t cautious your ball will land in the waterway, marsh or bunkers. Holes 16, 17 and 18 are the most spectacular finishing holes unlike any other as you are surrounded by water. In fact, you will play along the Intracoastal Waterway for a third of the holes on the course, so playing your tee shot well is crucial.  When you complete your round, you will be greeted by Glen Dornoch's southern style clubhouse featuring a wrap-around porch that allows you to kick back and enjoy watching players come in on the finishing hole.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Pete TEST

05/02/2017

TEST - do not approve

Jacob (Gaithersburg, MD)

11/15/2016

Paying for range balls at a course with $100 greens fees is a little ridiculous.

Jonathan (High Point, NC)

10/23/2016

Great course , scenic, just nice.

Wendy

10/07/2016

What a view, especially the last two holes and while enjoying a refreshment on the veranda post game. The course was very interesting with beautiful natural areas which made club selection very important. We would have liked to play this course twice as a second round should show improvement.

Ted

08/03/2016

Overall course conditions are good. A few spots in some fairways & greens. Lots of great views of the waterway. You need to be on your A game to score here. I would recommend playing.

Jim (Suwanee, GA)

04/27/2016

Glen Dornoch is a beautiful course. The finishing holes are some of the prettiest and most challenging in the Myrtle Beach area. The course was in great shape and everyone from the bag drop to the pro shop to the grill was very nice. GREAT course that I have already returned to this year and recommended to others.

Jimmy (Lexington, NC)

04/03/2016

Great layout, disappointed in overall condition given the time of year!

Mark (Park City, UT)

09/30/2015

Course in great shape despite lots of rain. Would have liked to know that Yardage Guide was under scorecard! May have hit less club on 16.

Joseph (Marlton, NJ)

09/28/2015

I played here years ago still a great venue. Greens need some work not much. Staff very professional.

Mark (Columbus, OH)

08/19/2015

Enjoyed several holes along Intracoastal Waterway. Presented good challenge.

Dave W.

02/14/2015

Great course - not in great shape.

Eric (Durham, NC)

02/08/2015

Holes 16-18 were very picturesque along the marsh/Intracoastal Waterway. For the time of year, the price was high for less than optimal customer service.

Paul (Frederick, MD)

02/03/2015

Good.

Rob (Hampton, ON)

11/17/2014

Good.

Ray (Porth, UK)

11/07/2014

Joint favourite among our group (along with Oyster Bay).

Robert

10/22/2014

I have been going to Myrtle for over 20 years and have played Dornoch every year since it opened in 1998. Used to love the place but because of my experience this past week I will never go back. Greens were absolutely the worst greens I have ever played. They had been over seeded and verti cut which all courses have to do. Unfortunately we were never told and paid full price. When we complained the manger said we were the only ones who had and refused to even apologize. it was amazing he said that because when in the Pro Shop we saw three other groups complaining. Dornoch does not care or respect their customers so they will never get another dime from me. I suggest everyone stay away and send them a clear message.

Larry

10/21/2014

Played there on 10/17/2014 & the greens were completely unplayable. The management said we were the only complainers. We saw other groups complaining as well. We are taking it off our list for next year....too bad the layout is good,

Bob (West Wareham, MA)

10/18/2014

Rain after 5 holes.

Greg (Brunswick, GA)

10/06/2014

Excellent.

Mike (Broomfield, CO)

10/03/2014

A good course layout and well worth the play. The fairways and greens were in good shape and the course played fine despite all the rain that had been in the area over the previous days. The only real blemish was the starter being very rude to some of our guys. He wouldn't allow some of our group to go over to #10 (where we started) so they could watch our guys tee off. He said doing that slowed down play, which is absurd. His entire attitude in general was that of someone trying to dictate rather than be helpful and he should probably find a different role where his bad attitude doesn't affect people that are just trying to have fun on their vacations.

Dave (Vernon Rockville, CT)

09/30/2014

Loved that one the best!!

Pat (Burke, VA)

09/18/2014

Nice course. Played 27. Course in good shape.

George

09/02/2014

Beautiful layout with great scenery. Tee boxes and fairways in excellent condition as of 8/30/2014. Greens for me are inconsistent and slow, and you really need to read the grain to get the right speed.

Douglas (Raleigh, NC)

08/19/2014

Playing in a 2some behind another 2some behind a 4some was not ideal in my mind. Might as well have paired us up.

Richard (Cranberry Township, PA)

07/29/2014

Disappointing that yardage distances are not on most of the sprinkler heads, etc. That should be an easy fix and speaks to course maintenance.

Mike (Charlotte, NC)

07/24/2014

I loved the layout of this course holes 8,9,16,17&18 are very nice holes. 16,17 & 18 are a really good set of finishing holes probably the best on the grand strand. the fairways were in great shape greens were 8 days after being aerated and in pretty good shape considering that. the course is a shot makers course.

Tass (Billerica, MA)

06/06/2014

Really enjoy playing here. the views are tremendous and the course and staff are first rate

John (Seaford, NY)

06/06/2014

Fantastic

Richard (Seneca, SC)

06/05/2014

Fantastic

Lee (Brunswick, GA)

06/03/2014

I don't think the group leader having to sign accepting responsibility for any damage to any golf cart in his group is very good for business, especially when the golf course accepts no responsibility for any damage or injury to golfers on the same sheet of paper. Will not play again.

Pat (Chicago, IL)

06/02/2014

Tough course! A bit pricey at $170, but you pay for the views. A GPS system would make this course more playable for an average golfer. Staff was great and pace of play was quick... especially for a Saturday. I think I'd enjoy the course more knowing the layout of some of the holes. Enjoy the scenery!

Ken (Penhook, VA)

06/02/2014

A must play for anyone that enjoys a real challenge and a beautiful course. People at the course were great. Really a challenge.

Herb (Baltimore, MD)

06/02/2014

Really good

Dennis (Cincinnati, OH)

05/23/2014

Really good

John (Rockaway Park, NY)

04/30/2014

Beautiful course but greens were in TERRIBLE shape, what a shame...

John (Canton, MI)

04/30/2014

OK

David (Schaumburg, IL)

03/18/2014

Not as great of shape as the other course we played on our trip. There signature holes were tough as mentioned.

Tommy (Madison, VA)

03/07/2014

Everything great, time of year was reason for not all 10's

Brian

02/25/2014

The course is very challenging for the average golfer but fair. Played on a sunny 70 degree day which added to the enjoyment. The views of the intercoastal waterway that were a backdrop for a number of the holes made it even more appealing. Will most certainly play again!

Tim (Chatham, VA)

01/28/2014

Finally some good weather and the course was in good shape. Again, we were impressed with the free lunch that was provided. A very nice course that was fun to play, that was spoiled by the Pro Shop refusing to issue rain checks when two of our group had to leave early to go home. If they stay with a policy like this, we will not be back, even though we thoroughly enjoyed the course.

Kevin (Clayton, NC)

01/23/2014

This was the worst experience I have ever had golfing. We have been coming to Myrtle Beach for 10 years and I have never been treated so badly and rudely as I was at this course. If I were the owner I would come in and clean house of every person there. There is a systemic problem here and it starts with the manager if everyone who works there exhibits the same attitude. The people were so rude and disrespectful, from the tee off to the club house to the cafeteria. The starter was a bit over aggressive. In addition, there seems to be some confusion regarding the free lunch coupons we were given upon arrival. The man inside the club house who was apparentlyin charge dismissed everything we had to say as this was business as usually. The great thing about Myrtle Beach is there are plenty of courses to go to and this one will never get our money again. As I said we have been doing this trip every tear for 10 years now, it is 8 of us, we spend lots of money, and I can assure you this course will never see us again. In addition I will make sure I tell everyone I know and meet To stay clear of this course.

Derek (Concord, NC)

01/23/2014

Golf Marshall was not smart! He was telling us to speed up because we were holding everyone up. There was 2 groups behind, the first one was our second group and the next group was a twosome that was invited to play through but said there was no need. Also, he stated that he sent us out right behind another group. First, he was not out there when a young guy loaded our cart and sent us out, next there was no other group anywhere in sight. Then on seventh hole he decided to follow us every move we made. He continued to follow until we got to the clubhouse. Then he ran in to tell the boss. Well, the boss came out and asked if we would start the back nine on hole ##12 and we agreed if he kept that Marshall away from us because he had already irritated us enough that we were off our game. Well, after we started on 12 we were then held up the rest of the round by the slow group in front of us ......To summarize, front nine holes finished in 2 hours and 5 minutes, back nine 2:45 minutes because of the hold up. Plus the course was cart paths only. So if we played the back nine at the same pace, we would have finished in 4 hours and 10 minutes which is pretty good when you gave to walk that much.....needless to say, Glen Dornoch is now off our list. We have been coming to myrtle for 15 years and have never been treated like that before....

Pete (Pasadena, MD)

01/15/2014

Good

Morales

12/17/2013

Wonderful course with the most breathtaking views in the area. A beer after the round on the back patio is the best.

James (Decatur, IL)

11/25/2013

General comment: This course played differently from Heather Glen in the types of holes played, the views on the water-sided holes, and while the greens again were not in full 'seasonal' condition, I enjoyed playing the course. The staff was very accommodating.

Bill (Pittsburgh, PA)

11/21/2013

Greens were in extremely poor condition and very inconsistant, greens fees much more than course was worth on this day!!!!

Jeff (Hagerstown, MD)

11/19/2013

Great

Stephen (Lewes, DE)

11/12/2013

A very difficult course, but manageable if you hit a decent ball. Probably the most beautiful course I've ever played. Holes 16, 17 were three of the most challenging courses I've ever played. I wish someone had better explained the layout of ##18, so I could have tried to cut across the dogleg. The greens were exceedingly fast, probably too much so. The attendants and starters were top-notch. I will definitely want to try this course again.

Peter (Parkville, MD)

11/05/2013

Too many forced carries for me; especially don't like more than one per hole.

Ray (Campbell Hall, NY)

11/05/2013

Great

Ron (Shamong, NJ)

10/22/2013

GREENS WERE SLOW ESPECIALLY AFTER PLAYING FAST GREENS FOR 4 DAYS

Bob (Delmont, PA)

10/22/2013

Good

Ralph (Browns Summit, NC)

09/30/2013

Fantastic

Ed (Ocala, FL)

09/23/2013

Fantastic

Rich

05/14/2013

Terrific

Bob

05/01/2013

Tried to get to the Glenns courses for years now,will definately play them again next year. spectacular track with awesome views and some very cool holes. worth every penny for holes 16-18. these holes are where the true shot makers come out.

Craig

04/25/2013

Great course in great condition.

Ronald

04/03/2013

I had a great time at Glen Dornoch. The course did not inhibit me whatsoever, neither in terms of compulsive challenge nor intimidation of staff. Each hole at Glen Dornoch is enjoyable and manageable, yet can play difficult from a improper tee deck. The course meanders through an attractive piece of North Myrtle Beach terrain, rubbing elbows with the intracostal waterway on three or four holes. The remaining etchings that sit inland leave their own trace on the memory. Greens are smallish with plenty of room for multiple pin locations. I felt very much at home at Glen Dornoch. I did not eat in the grill, so I gave it a perfect score.

Dave

04/01/2013

Played glen dornoch Feb 25/2013 asked the bag person if the course was in good shape he said yes,talked to person at desk she told me it was in great shape.We started on # 1 tee off grass sparse and very spotty,fairways grass very thin and ground hard ,greens lots winter kill and NO GRASS when you put the ball bounces all the way towards the hole .I asked the person behind the counter why she told me the course was in great shape told me she had not been out there,DA DA DA.DO YOURSELF A FAVOR DO NOT PLAY THIS COURSE AND WASTE YOUR MONEY

Joe (Ligonier, IN)

03/26/2013

Good

Aaron

03/25/2013

Golf course had an especially friendly staff. To say the course is challenging is an understatement. This course demands accuracy. Truly an enjoyable course with great views.

Jeff

03/18/2013

Greens were horrendous. Aeration done on course with several holes having inch wide sand trenches. Grass in fairways is sparse, tee boxes are not much better, Don't let practice green fool you,the greens are bad. The good part of the course is the layout, which is excellent, just a shame course conditioning is SO BAD

Dave (Geneseo, NY)

03/18/2013

Like the course lot of sand on greens

Nick (Coraopolis, PA)

03/18/2013

Bad greens, cost to much for the condition of course, will not play again

Jerry

03/13/2013

Again, disappointed with the conditions. Over priced. But a great layout with the last 3 holes a treat.

John (Pittsburg, PA)

03/06/2013

Great

Dean

03/05/2013

Played 2 rounds.

Ralph (Boiceville, NY)

02/26/2013

Outstanding

Chris

02/25/2013

Great course, great lay-out, good shape for February.

Ed (Tiffin, OH)

02/06/2013

Good

Thomas (Tiffin, OH)

02/04/2013

Our group felt this was the least conditioned of the courses we played. Like the course layout, but will not be played again next year. Companion course, Heatherglen was in much better shape.

Phillip (Chesterton, IN)

01/03/2013

Excellent.

Randy (Gastonia, NC)

12/31/2012

Been playing Golf in MB for 30 years. Finally played Glen Dornoch last year and have been back 3 more times including Thanksgiving weekend. Never crowded, never rushed. Last 3 holes are worth the price of admission. This is a great golf course, not too hard but not a push over. One of my top 3 courses along the Grand Strand.

John (Carlisle, PA)

12/29/2012

Last three holes are some of the most picturesque I've payed.

David (Mason, MI)

12/05/2012

Excellent.

Scott (Pineville, SC)

12/05/2012

Excellent.

Jim

11/28/2012

We played back in mid October and the course was in great shape. When you lose the thought of where you are just stop for a moment and look around at the inlet water way and the boats going by and you soon remember your in Myrtle Beach. This was our first time at Glen Dornoch but not the last time. It's on our list for next year.

Ray (Shelby, NC)

11/27/2012

Excellent.

Jim (Seguin, ON)

11/20/2012

Excellent.

Russ (Camillus, NY)

11/13/2012

Very good.

Bill (Manhattan, KS)

11/13/2012

Beautiful course, great service, friendly staff. Course was in great shape. List in the top 10 of my favorite courses. Finishing holes are excellent!!! A must to play.

Ken (Junction City, KS)

11/13/2012

Great course, interesting holes.

Randy (Alexandria, VA)

11/10/2012

Scenic course.

Don (San Antonio, TX)

11/09/2012

I played the forward tees and they had not been mowed in at least a week. I have to assume they had been overseeded and could not be mowed.

Mickey (Liverpool, NY)

11/01/2012

Good.

Harry (Uncasville, CT)

10/31/2012

Condition was somewhat compromised overseeding. Staff was wonderful.

Bill (Whitefish, MT)

10/31/2012

OK.

Larry (Louisville, KY)

10/21/2012

Loved the course.

George (Midlothian, VA)

10/18/2012

Very good.

Steve (Plano, TX)

10/15/2012

Beautiful. Bald eagle and deer were nice touches. 16, 17, 18 were outstanding visually and for playability.

Manuel (Newark, OH)

10/09/2012

Excellent.

Benny (Virginia Beach, VA)

10/07/2012

Good.

Mark (Tampa, FL)

10/01/2012

This is a fun layout. The course was in excellent condition. The only problem is if you have women in your 4-some. There are too many forced carries for them. Other than that I would highly recommend this course.

Don (Little River, SC)

09/30/2012

Greatly over priced.

David (Oakville, CT)

09/14/2012

Very good.

Tim (Lima, OH)

09/06/2012

A beautiful golf course. My favorite in the north part of Myrtle Beach.

Matthew

07/30/2012

Great views of the waterway. Last 3 holes of each nine are spectacular, while the rest seems like filler. Course was next to empty for a Saturday morning. Conditions were above average for mid July MB golf. Greens were on the slow side but rolled true.

Matthew

07/30/2012

Course was in good shape for Mid July MB golf. Next to empty for a Saturday morning and played in under 4 hours (3 players). Last 3 holes on each nine were spectacular while the rest just seem like filler. Those holes are very tight.

Daniel (Waldorf, MD)

07/29/2012

Everything about this round made this a very memorable day. Excellent service from all personnel, the condition of the course as well as its beauty made a certainty of a return next year.

Alan

07/22/2012

Played on July 17th, nice course. Good views of the boats on the Intracoastal Waterway. Tight in some places, greens were a little slow but good. A long drive from South Myrtle.

David (Odessa, FL)

07/16/2012

Course is interesting - not penal for marginal shots. Last 3 to 4 holes are special.

David (Williamsburg, VA)

05/31/2012

We've played many Myrtle Beach courses and this is the best maintained, and the most thought-provoking. It is challenging but not overwhelming for an average golfer. Number seven is my favorite since I had a hole-in-one! But 16, 17 and 18 are easily the best finishing holes due to their combination of beauty and challenge of all the courses I have played.

Craig

05/24/2012

Very good shape. Greens great.

Andre/Helene (Repentigny, QU)

05/22/2012

Too pricey. Not enough info about the holes for the first timers.

Art (Wilmington, DE)

05/15/2012

Has a Scottish flavor with pot bunkers, but is tree lined. The White tees at 6000 yards still play challenging, because it is a tricky course, with some tight and lay-up holes. The small to medium sized greens would be hard to hit/hold with longer irons in, if you play the blue or black tees. It is a scenic fun and challenging course, that requires accuracy and course management. Best to start on #1 and finish with the challenging 16-18 on the waterway. If you do start on #10, you will finish with the challenging #8 + #9 on the waterway. The first 3 holes on each side are short, making the total yardage play like it's longer than listed. Some holes become significantly harder if playing the blue/black tees. On hole #18, you have the option to drive over the marsh (easy from white, hard from blue). If you play safe to the right fairway (no bargain), you will have to hit a 180-210 shot to the narrow protected green, which is a double green with #9. They have one of the best back porch views in MB. The course was in good condition everywhere. The old style bermuda greens had more speed, less grain and a smoother roll than usually found in years past.

Paul (Glenmoore, PA)

05/13/2012

Liked the layout near the Intracoastal Waterway.

Ray (Myrtle Beach, SC)

05/09/2012

Very good.

James (Morristown, TN)

05/04/2012

Excellent.

Bob (Greer, SC)

05/03/2012

Excellent.

David (Rutland, MA)

05/03/2012

Very nice course. Cart girl very nice. Great finishing holes. But a little over priced.

Ian

05/02/2012

Played the course on 16/04. Don't care what anybody says, but the last 3 holes are the best and hardest at MB.

Doyle (Greer, SC)

05/02/2012

Very well maintained. Staff very friendly. Greens rolled nicely.

Louise (Quebec City, Canada)

04/27/2012

Exceptional golf course. Really different than that other one. Holes on the waterway are perfect. Tough holes and challenging the 16, 17 and 18. Challenging for good golfers and possibility to learn for others. Best view from the porch of the clubhouse. Great conditions, well manicured. Must-play in MB.

Ed (Scoharie, NY)

04/25/2012

Very demanding course, liked very much.

Steve

04/20/2012

Very interesting course. Enjoyed it very much and will definitely come back. Course was in very good shape. Holes 16 - 18 very challenging with great views of the Intracoastal Waterway.

Peter (Madison, Wis.)

04/18/2012

Very good.

Paul

04/01/2012

It has the wow factor. Waterway views are spectacular. 16 is the best hole in Myrtle Beach. Drinks on the deck overlooking the Intracoastal are a must.

Jong

03/29/2012

Played 3/22/12. Fairways were in great shape. Greens were good shape, couple of spots but very good overall. Scenery beautiful.

Keith

03/18/2012

Best course in MB area. Great staff. Will play on every visit.

Mike (Pittsburgh, Penn.)

02/27/2012

The course was the most enjoyable that I played. The staff made you feel at home and like you were family. Every hole is framed beauty!

Randy (Coraopolis, Penn.)

02/27/2012

Wonderful course and the staff was by far the best.

Denny

02/23/2012

Scenery second to none, greens difficult to read, tight holes, tough for higher handicaps.

Wille

01/18/2012

Great layout. Looks like the winter rye did not take on the greens or fairways completely. All of the staff from the cart guys, starter and pro shop were great! Let us replay for $20 nine holes!

Ansell

01/16/2012

The course is in great shape and Vickie at the desk was both professional and very helpful.

Jay (Excelsior, Minn.)

12/15/2011

Favorite hole 16, I like the combo of water and trees on the course.

Daune (Minneapolis, Minn.)

12/15/2011

Really liked the course layout. Fairways were not in very good condition.

Ed (Bolivia, N.C.)

12/14/2011

(Liked) the waterway.

Richard

12/09/2011

Overall good, a little overpriced.

Dennis (Blacklick, Ohio)

12/03/2011

Glen Dornoch is a great golf course, my favorite. Each hole is unique requiring accurate shot making and crisp putting. It is on my list to play on each visit to Myrtle Beach. A challenge yet very enjoyable!

Jack

11/17/2011

Outstanding course but bad experience with female attendant in the pro shop. Don't play this course if one in your group is sick. They refused to give a rain check. Our group of 32 will never play this or any Glens course in the future. A shame because it is a beautiful course.

Paul

11/14/2011

Great course, especially the final three holes. Starter was outstanding, entire staff was friendly, course conditions were great. Definitely a replay for us.

Jon

11/12/2011

Had a friend drive up from Hilton Head to play with our group. Since we only had 7 with our group we welcomed an eighth golfer. The pro shop guy was very unwilling to give him any kind of discount. He charged him $113.00. This is not a $113 course especially since it was overseeded and cart path only for the 1st 7 holes.

Mike (Wilmington, Del.)

11/10/2011

Really enjoy some of the great holes they have, especially along the Waterway.

Mark (Cumming, Iowa)

11/06/2011

The attendant/starter was very friendly and helpful. The course was in great shape greens were a little slow.

Marty

11/05/2011

A great sleeper.

Patrick & Audrey (St. Thomas, Ontario)

11/02/2011

Seen it in better shape. Played Rivers Edge on a rain check because of poor conditions in 2008; was in great shape and has a lower posted rate.

Karl (Knoxville, Tenn.)

11/01/2011

Nice and tight course that demands accuracy. The starter needs to stress the tees to some groups a little more. We were paired with another pair that should have played the gold tees. That additional 800 plus yards in length brought more obstacles & hazards into play for them.

Andy (Langley, U.K.)

11/01/2011

Great course, only let down by the poor quality greens.

John (Palmyra, Va.)

10/31/2011

The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive ... best course experience I've had in years.

Jim (Toronto, Ontario)

10/26/2011

Group enjoyed the course. Felt that the greens were a little rough, though.

Mike & Dawn (Pikesville, Md.)

10/26/2011

Excellent.

Lillian (Atlanta, Ga.)

10/24/2011

There's nowhere in the world like the Noch. No houses on the course - just one stunning hole after another. Very fair, not all tricked up. Stay afterwards for a drink - sit on the porch and watch the boats cruise along the Intracoastal. Magic. This is the best clubhouse in the world.

Robert (Litchfield, N.H.)

10/11/2011

All good.

Bob (Chicago, Ill.)

10/06/2011

Staff was very nice and helpful from the pro shop, starter, concession, to the on the course cart girl. Elaine, the cart girl, knew where to be and stop when we played our next shots. Respectful.

Dan (Kitchener, Ontario)

10/03/2011

Great golf ... very different type of golf I am used to playing ... very difficult ... on-cart GPS would be nice.

Casey (St. Mary's, W. Va.)

09/13/2011

Very good shape. Greens were nice - a touch slow but nice. This course is tough.

Brian (Manchester, N.H.)

08/31/2011

Toughest three finishing holes I have seen in Myrtle Beach, excellent staff in the pro shop. Starter not very friendly.

Brian (N.H.)

08/30/2011

Good.

Rob

08/25/2011

Love this course. Not a bad hole on the course. Staff was friendly with starter waiting at bag drop. Not many people on the course and made getting around very easy. Played round in under 4 hours. As always, the course was in great shape all around. Found the tee boxes, fairways and greens well maintained. Greens were soft and receptive to high shots. One of the best courses in MB.

Stephanie (Irwin, Penn.)

08/16/2011

Nice course. Nothing spectacular. Great finishing holes.

Joe

08/08/2011

Great course with great views. Played this course after reading reviews of the course on here. I didn't think much of the pro shop, not a whole lot to look at. The course has some beautiful holes that overlook the Waterway and some really challenging holes as well. I recommend playing it. The final 3 holes are fun to play and are as good as advertised.

Randy (St. Elmo, Ill.)

07/23/2011

Best course on the Strand hands down!! We have played this course every year since the course opened. Played 7/21/2011 and we will be playing again 7/22/2011. The scenery at this course and the elevation changes make for an enjoyable round of golf. This course also features the 3 hardest finishing holes on the Grand Strand. The par 4 16th is the hardest of them all. A 220-yard layup to a 200-yard approach shot into the teeth of the wind coming off the Intracoastal Waterway makes for a tough hole. The par 5 8th is another hole that offers elevation drops playing back into the wind from the Waterway. The par 4 9th plays alongside the waterway to a two level double green. We have seen many boats and ships cruising up and down the waterway each time we have played. ADD THIS COURSE TO YOUR LIST OF COURSES TO PLAY! Best condition of any course we have played this year.

Richard (South Park, Penn.)

06/24/2011

Always a nice place to play; course in pretty good condition.

Robert (Trenton, Mich.)

05/17/2011

Nobody at bag drop.

Nick (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

05/16/2011

Great course. Will play again.

Tom

05/08/2011

Also very unique holes.

Joe (Middletown, N.J.)

04/21/2011

Great course. Tough finishing holes.

Tim (Hillsborough, N.J.)s

04/14/2011

First time we played, a repeat for sure. Shot my best round of the weekend, 84.

Tom (Loudonville, N.Y.)

03/29/2011

Very good.

Kenneth (Rockland, Mass.)

03/25/2011

Had a 9:22 tee time, got there at 8:55 and was rushed to the 1st tee. No time to relax after ride up to course or time to use men's room, stretch or get ready to golf.

Larry (Rhinecliff, N.Y.)

03/04/2011

I love the challenge. The entire course is difficult and then you get to the final 3.

Jason (Blandon, Penn.)

02/22/2011

Played last week. Not as good as I remember it from 5 years ago. Still a decent course.

Tim (Overland, Mo.)

02/14/2011

Challenging and a good experience.

William (Forest Hill, N.C.)

01/25/2011

Good.

Robert & Melissa (Lakeville, Mass.)

11/20/2010

Yep.

Bob (Louisa, Va.)

10/26/2010

Beautiful, but too difficult for 19 handicaps. Should warn to play forward tees.

Jimmy (Watertown, Mass.)

10/21/2010

The course was in great shape. The last three holes are definitely some of the finest finishing holes available. A real challenge of a course for the high handicapper.

Danny (Kings Park, N.Y.)

10/15/2010

Course was in great shape.

Lofton & Hazel (Auroroa, Ontario)

09/27/2010

Wasn't too bad of condition, and friendly staff.

Coleen (Glenshaw, Penn.)

09/22/2010

Haven't played for about 10 years and it was a great experience. Beautiful course and great conditions. Knew the course was difficult and enjoyed every bit of the challenge, great way to end a good week of golf. Starter was the friendliest of the whole week.

Chris (Crofton, Md.)

07/23/2010

One of my new favorites ... what a course!

John (Louisburg, N.C.)

06/08/2010

This course is great. I'll play it again.

Edward (E. Fallowfield, Penn.)

05/06/2010

Tough course - great finishing holes.

Dirk (Fairbanks, Alaska)

04/20/2010

I feel like all the Glens courses were the best in the package. No commercial feeling to the course, no homes on the fairways.

Tass (Billerica, Mass.)

04/20/2010

Always one of our favorites.

Dave (Chicopee, Mass.)

04/15/2010

Everything was just great!

Jim (Columbia, Md.)

03/26/2010

Need more golf balls, beautiful views of Waterway.

Paul (Lehighton, Penn.)

03/26/2010

(Would like to have known prior to play) the greens speed.

Frank (Wallkill, N.Y.)

03/03/2010

Good.

Dave (Southbury, Conn.)

02/17/2010

Great golf course, lots of shot variety and challenge. The layout was carved around natural setting and the course flows through the property. One of the top 5 in MB.

Lamont (Bessemer City, N.C.)

01/23/2010

Beautiful course. Loved it. Staff, grill, everything perfect. Most definitely will play again.

Dave

12/16/2009

Beautiful scenery, but a tough course. It kicked our butts.

Ed (Forest Park, Ill.)

12/09/2009

We always have this course on our yearly schedule and once again it didn't disappoint. Had it at 2 over on the day until a less than perfect drive on 18 made it 4 over.

Robert (Webster, N.Y.)

11/21/2009

Great course, shot making required!

Larry

11/13/2009

Great course.

Michael (Wyckoff, N.J.)

11/12/2009

Poor pace for the first 18. Finished 13 holes in 4 hours. Asked starter to move use to the first hole to get in front of the slow groups. Giving up 5 holes allowed us to finish the second 18 in the afternoon.

Rocky (Charlotte, N.C.)

10/28/2009

Awesome golf course. Played it twice in 4 years.

Richard

10/22/2009

A little rain didn't stop us from enjoying the place.

Bob (Athens, Ohio)

10/19/2009

Our experience was not a good one. I do not believe that this course is designed for the type of play one should find at a resort destination like Myrtle Beach (and unlike Heather Glen or Shaftesbury Glen). The course has obstacles and hazards that seem arbitrary and it punishes poor shots, rather than just penalize.

John

09/22/2009

Very scenic.

Scott (Barberton, Ohio)

09/18/2009

Good course.

Benoit (Gatineau, Quebec)

08/30/2009

Played there first week of July. The course conditions were excellent and I truly enjoyed its design. It was my second time playing there, so I was able to remember some of the challenges even a good yardage book can't show. My dad who is a bit over 30 handicap found it too difficult for his liking, especially holes 16, 17 and 18. Be sure to bring your A game but it remains a top course that is not as busy as some others in the same league. Finally the staff was super friendly, since we were a twosome and got there early they let us start earlier so that we would not have 5 foursomes to follow.

Mark (South Park, Penn.)

07/12/2009

Very nice course! We played a late-day round and were surprised it was cart paths only since it rained only a few hours the night before. As for the course, the waste areas were in tough spots for our group. Just short enough off the tee to that the driver was too much much club to lay up but not enough to carry. We would really like to try the course from the blue tees. If your an average golfer (100's), you better take extra golf balls. The final three holes might be the hardest finishing holes I'll ever play. Side note: We were glad to see very little housing around the course! Also, watch the spiders if you go into the trees! I guess it's part of the hazard.

William (Winterville, N.C.)

05/27/2009

Love the layout

Donald

03/24/2009

Fabulous course. Greens were excellent. Rough was impressive. Almost summer conditions. The best course we played. Will recommend it to others as a must play. We will play the rest of the Glens on the next visit.

Luc

03/23/2009

What a view!

Rick

02/23/2009

Spectacular Course! Great service! We also played Heather Glen and it was excellent.

Rick (N.C.)

02/18/2009

Played Nov. 16, 2008: Spectacular course! Great service! We also played Heather Glen and it was excellent.

Deniece

02/18/2009

Commented on October 3, 2008: Glen Dornoch is an absolutely beautiful course. If you want to play a challenging and scenic course you definitely need to play this course. The staff is very friendly and professional. We will definitely recommend this course as a must-play course when in Myrtle Beach.

Christine (Columbia, S.C.)

06/14/2008

Played June 1, 2008: Glen Dornoch was in beautiful shape but with it being wet and soggy (cart path only) and the degree of difficulty it made this course impossible for a first-time player. Would probably not return.

Photos and Video

Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links Articles

3 Myrtle Beach Golf Courses Debut in State Panel’s Top 50 Ratings for 2016

Heritage Club, Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links and Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club have joined impressive company with their first-time inclusion in the South Carolina Golf Course Ratings Panel’s “Top 50 Golf Courses” rankings for 2016. - Read More