Back to All Courses

Barefoot Resort - Norman Course

Barefoot Resort - Norman Course

Golf Digest named the Norman Course at Barefoot Resort & Golf as one of “The Top 60 Courses in Myrtle Beach” (#43 in 2010; #28 in 2005) as well as awarded the course 4 stars in its “Places to Play” guide for 2004. Also in 2006, Golfstyles Carolinas recognized the golf course as one of “100 Must Play Courses of the Carolinas.” 1-866-694-2448
4980 Barefoot Resort Bridge Road North Myrtle Beach, SC
Rated 8/5 based on 83 customer reviews 10 0
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

Golf Digest named the Norman Course at Barefoot Resort & Golf as one of “The Top 60 Courses in Myrtle Beach” (#43 in 2010;  #28 in 2005) as well as awarded the course 4 stars in its “Places to Play” guide for 2004.  Also in 2006, Golfstyles Carolinas recognized the golf course as one of “100 Must Play Courses of the Carolinas.”

The Norman Course at Barefoot is comprised of seven holes along the Intracoastal Waterway. The 203-yard 10th is a beautiful hole that measures 176 yards from the black tees and is quite possibly the most memorable on the course. The hole sits atop a bluff along the west bank of the Intracoastal Waterway and features a steep downhill tee shot to a green situated between the Waterway on the right and a large bunker front left. The wide 420-yard 11th has a waste bunker that comes across the front of the green from the left, and is followed by a pair of tough par-4s. The left portion of the green on the 438-yard 12th is tucked behind wetlands, and the 440-yard 13th has a waste bunker down the left side of the fairway and both trees and out-of-bounds stakes right of a wide fairway. The Intracoastal, which runs along the right side of the 387-yard 14th hole, sits behind the 13th green. This completes a very nice stretch of par four holes.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Barefoot Resort - Norman Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Bill

07/24/2017

We played Barefoot Love. Great condition and our group enjoyed the round.

Jerry

08/01/2015

Played Barefoot-Love in March and was disappointed. A little disappointed in Norman this week although better than the painted greens/fairways at Love in March. GPS in carts are a nice touch and it's the best layout of all the Barefoot courses. Putting green was closed as it must be under construction. More like a country club atmosphere with the staff etc. Complimentary shoe shine a nice perk.

Ed

07/26/2015

I agree with the previous review...Barefoot has ruined the 18th Hole on the Norman Course....What Was a great finishing Par 5 was ruined and is now a dull Par 4. SHAME on Barefoot for destroying the original Greg Norman Layout...It's a loss

Logan

07/22/2015

Clubhouse and staff were great. Course not up to standards compared to the times I've played Norman course before. I'd estimate I've played it 5-6 times previously.

John

07/06/2015

I've now played all of the Barefoot courses and although the Norman course is good, I would say it ranks number four for me. Layout was OK, as there were some really nice holes, but also some very forgettable ones. Some of the holes on the Intracoastal waterway had great potential but didn't seem to take full advantage of the location. The course wasn't particularly difficult, but could jump up and bite you if you lost focus. My biggest disappointment was the 18th hole, which was obviously designed as a par 5 or long par 4, but the original tee boxes seemed to be abandoned in favor of shorter ones, taking much of the drama away. Overall I was satisfied for the $55 afternoon rate, but it's not on my short list. I certainly wouldn't pay the $110 rack rate for it. Greens had not yet been punched so that was a big reason we chose this one.

Gary

06/21/2015

Nice course and clubhouse. We had 3 20-plus handicappers course was a little tight at times. It helped a lot to have GPS yardage on the course. Still had a great time.

Timothy

02/09/2015

The staff was nice and helpful but the course was not all I was expecting. Almost the whole course is lined with condos and not very visually pleasing. A couple holes near the Intracoastal were away from the condos but not many. As for the course, the fairways were painted and very thin. Not in good shape. Greens were only okay but nothing special. The layout is not exciting at all. The Fazio and Love courses are much better. I would choose this last of the Barefoot courses.

Ryan

12/29/2014

Very nice course, well kept, helpful staff. Only things I can think of that were least appealing were the prices.

Rodney

12/15/2014

We did not like the painted greens.

Jerry

12/11/2014

Excellent.

Dan

11/13/2014

Top notch experience from start to finish. Best course we played during our stay. Staff was great, course was in marvelous shape. I'll definitely be back and recommend Barefoot Resorts to my colleagues.

Don

10/27/2014

Enjoyed playing there in 2013, booked again this year.

Gary

10/16/2014

Every hole seemed to be by itself, not real crowded, able to play at a good speed, love the holes by the waterway.

Gary

08/22/2014

Played on 20th August. Course was very wet but the greens were still excellent. The 18th has been shorter not a par 4 due to maintenance on the tees.

Gary

08/21/2014

It was very wet in places and the 18th tee area is being refurbished so it plays as a par 4. Good layout and some special holes.

Larry

07/24/2014

This was a challenging course and played long. The layout is exceptional and very picturesque. Course was in excellent shape and had some risk/reward holes for great placement of drives and/or approach shots.

Jake

07/24/2014

Nice course but had a few bad areas around the greens

Roger

06/18/2014

Like all the Barefoot courses this was great. Good shape, staff was very friendly. Just a very enjoyable time

Mike

06/02/2014

Very overrated course for the price. Paid for Normans name.

Roger

06/02/2014

We played Norman today, 5/18/14. We have handicaps from 10 to 30. We all had a great time. The staff were very good. The course from tee to green was excellent. All the barefoot courses are great & I would recommend them to all who come to North Myrtle for exceptional golf.

Dane

01/30/2014

Great

Richard

11/15/2013

Best course of the week. Does have a lot of Condo's and I hit two of them. I like the layout better than the Love course. Best greens we played that week. Be sure to hit enough club on the par 3 10th, short is bad with the bunker on the front left.

Greg

10/10/2013

Really enjoyed it. Nice varity of holes, beautiful landscaping.

Stephen

05/27/2013

GPS was extremely helpful

Frank

05/01/2013

Good

John

11/05/2012

Excellent.

Richard

09/20/2012

Course was in fantastic condition. Challenging but not too bad. we were going right out for another 18, and the grill had no ready-to-go sandwiches ... really slowed us down.

John

09/04/2012

Great recreational course, in great shape ... thanks.

Ed

08/19/2012

I love this course. Awesome conditions all around. Great breakfast at clubhouse, quick service. Waterway holes are great and 18 too.

Randy

07/19/2012

The course was in excellent condition except for the greens. There weren't any dead spots, but most all of them were covered in sand. I really love this course, but here comes the downside. I should have known that play may have been a bit slow with only charging $60 to play. We arrived at 1 p.m. for our 1:33 p.m. tee time. Generally, you are able to go ahead and tee it up. We ended up waiting until 2 p.m. to tee off. Our round was 5 hours and 8 minutes. The cart GPS, which was quite informative, showed us at 43 minutes behind pace. We were not playing slow by any means. I would say that this was by far our worst experience in 20+ years of coming to the Strand.

Art

05/31/2012

GPS is on the carts. This was my first BF Norman play in 8 years, so I noticed a lot more housing around the course than I saw in the past. The new Norman golf academy is going up next to the #17 green. Tees, fairways and bunkers were in good condition. The bunker sand sucks, since it is full of pebbles and shells, that end up on the green. The new in 2011 champions greens were firm and fast. Norman has wide fairways, few traps, chipping areas, fairly level greens and pine straw under the trees. Norman is the least difficult at BF. Several holes are on the waterway with a great waterway par 3 #10.

Jeffrey

05/25/2012

Starter was very friendly. Clubhouse and restaurant were very nice. Complementary shoe shine was excellent - much better than when I clean my shoes. The course has huge waste bunkers that, after a while, become tiresome. For this reason, the course seems kind of gimmicky. The holes along the waterway are not as pretty as I expected due to businesses on the other side, but the houses on the waterway are magnificent. The greens were not in great shape; very fast, lots of sand on them, and very short grass. I was told they were replaced last year and have not come in yet. I would play the other Barefoot courses over this one.

Jeff

05/13/2012

Outstanding.

Ed

04/17/2012

This a a great course, the back nine is awesome along the Intracoastal, greens are immaculate; great, great experience. Played it three times; always on my list.

Ginette

03/30/2012

Overall it is a very nice course.

Jake

10/20/2011

Course was in outstanding shape. Only problem I had was there was nothing at the turn but a vending machine; for the money you pay you should be able to get something more. Kitchen was also closed by the time we got finished, which was only 6 p.m.

George

09/13/2011

New greens OK, good layout.

William

06/22/2011

Professional in all respects. Best condition. Norman course is playable for moderate handicap. Grill is very good although service is sometimes slow.

Rich

01/15/2011

How in the world do they charge $118 for this course @ this time of year? Just because it is part of other good courses @ Barefoot does not make it a top 25 track. The course only has a few good golf holes. The management has to wake up before it's too late.

Clay

10/26/2010

Played on Friday, October 22 and had a great time. Pace of play was excellent, everyone at the course was pleasant and the greens rolled very well and true. There were a few thin spots on the first few greens but the pin placements were in areas that were unaffected by the summer decline. I would definitely recommend this course to others. Excellent Greg Norman golf course!

Rich

10/11/2010

This the weakest of the Barefoot courses. Any time the greens are that bad there is a money problem somewhere! The Barefoot reputation is starting to come into question. Take the Barefoot name away from the Norman course and it would not be in the top 35 courses in MB.

Rick

09/27/2010

Played this course in the Golf.com World Am. The course should have been closed down and not played. They have NO GREENS. Over half of the greens were packed, painted sand. Almost impossible to putt. Of all the Barefoot courses, this one was definitely in unplayable condition.

Lazaros

04/01/2010

Very good course ... staff were great ... really enjoyed playing ... will play again ... played Fazio in the afternoon ... exceptional course ...

Bret

03/31/2010

Very nice course, superior attention from the employees.

Roger

11/10/2009

I have wanted to play this course since its inception. Was disappointed with overall condition especially the greenside bunkers. This is one course that is truly surrounded with condos.

John

11/10/2009

Excellent, beautiful course, Everything was perfect at the Norman.

Cris

09/30/2009

I like all the courses here but this year they were in bad shape.

Charles

09/17/2009

Great start to the World Am.

James

09/14/2009

The Norman course is my third favorite course at Barefoot. The design is great and the conditions are always fantastic. The par-3 along the waterway is a very memorable hole.

Bob

08/26/2009

All the Barefoot courses are nice. I think the Norman is the most underrated. It gets the least play but has the smoothest, quickest greens. They have very subtle break and tough pitch shots if you miss the green. It has 2 of the best par 3s and a couple of really nice par 5s.

Page 1 of 2 pages.
 1 2 > 

Photos and Video

Barefoot Resort - Norman Course Articles

5 Myrtle Beach-Area Golf Courses Worth an Extra Look Come Fall

It doesn’t matter if you’re a leafer who normally heads north for the fall or someone looking for something categorically different to photograph. Myrtle Beach’s golf scene provides a bevy of seasonal visuals late in the year. - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

The 5 Best Clubhouse Experiences in Myrtle Beach Golf

The positive vibes from a round on the links don’t have to evaporate as soon as the 18th pin is placed back into the cup. - Read More