Back to All Courses

Barefoot Resort - Fazio Course

    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}
    {hotel-image-caption}

The Fazio Course at Barefoot Resort & Golf is a breathtaking golf experience with many lakes, extensive trees and many elevation changes.  In 2005, Golf Digest ranked the Fazio Course #6 among the top courses to play in Myrtle Beach.  Golf Digest has also ranked this course #81 among America’s 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses in 2009.  Along with the other accolades, the Fazio Course consistently gets 4.5-star ratings in Golf Digest’s “Places to Play” guide.

Barefoot-Fazio has many great and unique holes, but the 18th stands out as one of the best finishing holes in Myrtle Beach.  With an uphill drive and narrow landing area it makes for a challenging start to this long par 4.  The 18th green is protected by water all along the left-hand side.  The fifth hole offers golfers all they can handle.  This hole plays all uphill, with water and bunkers guarding the right side of the fairway and heather on the left.

Write a Review
All Verified Professional

Add a Review for Barefoot Resort - Fazio Course

Share your thoughts on this course by completing the short review below.
+

Toby (Bedford, NS)

10/30/2016

Great course condition

Rod

09/23/2016

Contrary to many of the reviews regarding the Barefoot Courses they were all in magnificent shape. The Fazio was probably the best kept of the three. Bunkers had sharp edges and were a perfect consistency, fairways were like carpet and the greens were smooth and fast. They had just top-dressed a few days before but the sand had settled so that you could barely see it. If anything the fine layer of sand made the greens roll a little faster. Lots of memorable holes. Definitely check craigslist/Ebay for a Unaccompanied Member/Guest Pass. You can play for 1/3 the retail price.

Christopher (Marriottsville, MD)

06/20/2016

Fazio was beginning to lose their greens. Fazio, as well as a lot of other courses down here are in awful shape.

Hillard (Lewisburg, TN)

03/07/2016

Pretty course.

James

12/18/2015

Tom Fazio design was unbelievable. The most visual of the Barefoot courses. Fair design but more demanding on the tee shot. Many fairway bunkers to catch the wayward drive. The last 6 holes were memorable and very enjoyable to play.

Ian (Bedford, Ot)

09/18/2015

Played here before and it's still as tough as ever, but very fair. Love the different challenges as the round progresses. Shot to my handicap which was a major surprise.

Bill

08/07/2015

I have played this course a number of times on spring golf trips, and have always enjoyed it. This time however I was really disappointed. There was no one at the bag drop, which is no big deal but summed up the day. The putting green was closed to be redone, and we had to wait for the range cart. Then once on the golf course we were amazed at how bad the greens were. Some were more sand than grass! We had played the Dunes Cub earlier in the week and they were some of the best greens I've ever putted on, so not sure what happened here. The rest of the course was ok, I know summers can be tough in the SE, but the greens left a bad taste. Barefoot is a great facility overall. I hope they get it back to where it was.

Nick

07/29/2015

Greens were receptive and had good pace to them. From 100 yards and in the fairways were great but the rest of the fairway weren't cut and several fairways had what looked like high rye grass growing. Overall pace of play was good.

William (Meriden, CT)

07/05/2015

500 yard part 4 is crazy. I golf in Florida all the time. There is an ice machine and water to drink everywhere. Why are they cutting corners on water when everything else is excellent or outstanding. That being said I would play it again.

Ron

05/26/2015

Mid handicappers from the UK. Played the Fazio and enjoyed the layout. The main feature of the course is the vast amount of bunkers on the course. The greens were once again in poor condition due to the unseasonal cold weather. Good luck in playing around here without hitting a bunker.

Jeffrey

05/05/2015

Terrible shape ... greens look like they have a fungus.

Pat (Waxhaw, NC)

04/28/2015

After our round on a course that was not in very playable condition for a $187 green fee we discussed the playing conditions with the mgr. My playing partner questioned what had happened to the course, we've played here before, how can you charge a top dollar for a course that is in terrible shape... He stated I have not heard any complaints... THAT right there makes me question his ability and knowledge of golf... has he traveled around the course to check the conditions? We then informed him that we played behind members of the course and they, the members, apologized profusely to us for the horrific condition that the course was in. IE, 5th hole, whole fairway was ground under repair. In the end, the mgr just dismissed our comments with a hearty sorry. After going into the grill for a few minutes I then went back and pulled the mgr to the side and told him you cannot charge that price for a course that would not pay $40 to play... why did you not tell us that the course was not in tip top shape? AGAIN, a hearty sorry from him. I finished our conversation by stating that I will never spend another penny at Barefoot again. We were not looking for a free round on a course that was obviously in poor condition, but maybe a give me your email address and we'll let you know when we are back in top condition and a possible replay rate at that time... NOPE, not even that. It just felt like he told us that's the number you pay, we will fill that time no matter what, thanks for your money... next in line please It was indeed the worst golf experience I have ever had a golfer... that is 42 years of play.

Mike

04/04/2015

Do not play this course until the summer grasses emerge. Course did not overseed and grass on fairways is very thin. The greens are not much better they just paint the greens to make them look nicer than they are. It's unbelievable they charge the price they do for these conditions.

Paul

03/25/2015

Barefoot Fazio is a fun and challenging course. The course was in good shape and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint was the pin placement on 17. The green speeds were too fast to put the cup on the slope where it was placed. Even when putting from below the hole if you missed the putt the ball would roll back to your feet. It was pretty ridiculous. Overall nice course and they offer complimentary warm up balls.

Elaine (Simpsonville, SC)

12/15/2014

Okay - but was not like the Love Course.

Andy (Indianapolis, IN)

12/10/2014

OK

Bill (Plantsville, CT)

11/24/2014

Great golf course, nice people.

Robert (Andover, MA)

11/13/2014

Very good.

Fred (Newton Center, MA)

11/13/2014

Very penalizing course. Too many traps and very short from the white tees. Nice golf but not a particularly comfortable/enjoyable experience.

Brian (Ocean City, MD)

11/09/2014

Excellent.

John (Roscoe, IL)

10/27/2014

All the greens had been top dressed with sand and were very difficult to read, these greens were still very fast.

Jack (Hot Springs Village, AR)

10/14/2014

Good.

M/M Byron (Callingwood, Ontario)

10/13/2014

Excellent.

Joe (Spring City, PA)

10/09/2014

Very good.

Dennis (Goodfield, IL)

06/06/2014

A beautiful and well groomed course, but lots of sand. It's a fun course to play but I can't understand why there isn't a turn at the club house on 9. You literally finish the first round at the cabin and a soda machine. You might consider more than vending at the turn.

Jean (Montreal, QC)

06/03/2014

Really good

Gerald (North Adams, MA)

06/03/2014

Great

Rob (Sevenoaks, Kent)

06/02/2014

Tougher than Love course and in equally good shape

Youn (Potomac, MD)

12/23/2013

Great

Adrian (Pickering, ON)

11/05/2013

Excellent design, excellent conditions, very well organized and great staff

Bob (Grand Blanc, MI)

10/23/2013

We should have been told that Wed was a special day for locals. The wait was terrible....over 5.5 hours for the round.

William (Carlisle, PA)

10/03/2013

Many traps so must keep ball in fairway. All other aspects very good.

Nick (Carlisle, PA)

10/03/2013

Fair

Curt (Dillsburg, PA)

10/03/2013

The number of sand traps

Bill (Glen Rock, NJ)

09/26/2013

Good

Doug (Albaquerque, NM)

08/23/2013

Great

Paul (Pittsburgh, PA)

08/15/2013

Beautiful and challenging golf course. Bring your A game and hit it straight.

Matt

08/09/2013

Greens are comparible to Grande Dunes & Blackmoor. Course layout is great, no flukes consistent through and through. Ive played throughout Hawaii, and this course reminded a little of Kapulua with how nothing surrounds and your in your own world. Played on Wednesday (they have a $63 deal in summer) and was a mistake. Round was about 5hrs 15 mins.

Dan

05/21/2013

Outstanding layout and course conditions.

Jeff

05/20/2013

Way over priced, Courses in the area for $50. a lot nicer shape. A lot of sand traps not raked, the sand was very soft & very deep.

Mike (Denver, PA)

04/29/2013

96 sand traps. Need I say more?

Bruce (Lonetree, CO)

04/23/2013

Course was in only fair condition for mid-April

Dennis (Aurora, ON)

04/08/2013

Great layout!

Scott (North East, MD)

04/02/2013

Most memorable thing about this course was the sandtraps. Way to many! Sand was very fluffy and several guys in my group of 16 actually lost balls In the traps. First time playing a Barefoot couse and was mot overly impressed.

John (Midland Park, NJ)

04/01/2013

Great layout - will remember all of the holes played. Greens were the best of 5 courses played this year. Overall condition was good / fair but one of the best of 5 played this year - with the cold weather, I would suspect most of the courses are probably a bit late greening up. We will definitely be back to try other 3 courses. Green fees are a little pricey if played on a day other than Wednesday - I don't really see what stands out about the course we played compared to others in the area that are comparable

Steven (Worcester, MA)

03/19/2013

Very difficult course. Many deep bunkers surrounding fairways and greens. Best layout of the week.

Steve

03/18/2013

Great golf course! Deep sand trap were a challenge and there were plenty of them. Top notch experience.

Chad (Sandy Risge, NC)

03/08/2013

Great

Wille

01/25/2013

Best course we played in 20 years going on our golf package! What a layout! Stay at Barefoot and drive no where to play! Free Breakfast on package. $15 relay during the winter for 9 holes. Should have left for home after 18 but could not resist! Service from start to finish was 1st class!

Ryan (Plymouth, MI)

12/04/2012

Course was fun and good shape. Greens were way too fast. Carts ran out of battery by the end. We had to push our carts up several hills.

Brian (McSherrystown, PA)

11/23/2012

Excellent.

Shane

11/07/2012

Course was perfect. Greens were perfect prob around 11. Staff was great. Everyone was very professional but laid back (chill). Golf staff was very nice and helpful. Best part was the replay for $30. Was able to play 9 holes on the Love course. Just a perfect day, and would suggest if your looking to play a real golf course with perfect conditions. I would go here ... It was well worth the $ ...

Gilles (Laval, QC)

11/01/2012

Excellent course, well done.

John

10/28/2012

Fazio was the best of the 5 courses that we played - the greens were sooooooo fast but really true. We loved everything about the course and the amenities - the clubhouse is outstanding. Barefoot Fazio deserves 5 stars..........period!

Randy (Olathe, KS)

09/21/2012

Very nice course from green to tee. The only issue was the marshall, kept trying to get us to pick up the pace when we were 3 of 6 groups on the course. Told us on 17 that we were two holes behind the group in front, funny I didn't realize that they truly have 19 holes.

James (Indian Head, MD)

08/17/2012

Course was outstanding. Played in rain. It was a great course and fun.

Max (Sylvania, OH)

06/26/2012

Great layout. Course in great condition. Nice touch with the cold towels at the end of the round.

MMH

06/21/2012

Great condition & fast greens. Stay away from the bunkers. Fazio puts them all where you can drive them off the tee. Enjoyed the round. They need to put the white tees back a little further. Too much of a difference between the white & back tees.

Andre/Helene (Repentigny, QU)

05/22/2012

Excellent.

Chris

05/09/2012

Superb track and conditioning. Best we played of the week by far. Greens are A+ near perfect and pretty fast. Almost a perfect day until a ranger came by and stated the we need to pick it up a bit. First off we had 8 players and our 4 some was at least 3 holes ahead of the group behind us and no one in front of us from the start. No need for the ranger to say anything. Got back to my cart and the GPS said we were 20 min ahead. We ignored him. Later he said good job picking up the pace. the GPS still said 20 min ahead. He was bored I guess.

Chris

05/09/2012

Superb track and conditioning. Best we played of the week by far. Greens are A+ near perfect and pretty fast. Almost a perfect day until a ranger came by and stated the we need to pick it up a bit. First off we had 8 players and our 4 some was at least 3 holes ahead of the group behind us and no one in front of us from the start. No need for the ranger to say anything. Got back to my cart and the GPS said we were 20 min. ahead. We ignored him. Later he said good job picking up the pace. The GPS still said 20 min ahead. He was bored I guess.

Michael (La Porte, IN)

05/03/2012

Greens were outstanding. Can't say enough good about them. Rest of course was in great shape as well. I always like to know if greens are going to be aerated and top dressed prior to making a reservation.

Ian

05/02/2012

Played the course on 19/04. First time at Barefoot, great layout, great condition, nearly spoiled by a ranger telling us on the 17th tee that we were 3 minutes behind schedule, when the course was clear for two hole behind us.

Jeremy (Lakeview, OH)

05/02/2012

Excellent.

Mike

04/14/2012

Outstanding course. I am a 15 handicap and it was a challenge. Lots of water and sand but beautiful layout. Excellent condition.

William (Roanoke, Va.)

04/03/2012

The bunkers were too severe. I had 3 plugged lies, one of which was on a slope so severe that I almost fell as the sand gave way under my lower leg as I hit the ball.

Michael (Bethlehem, Penn.)

03/13/2012

This might be overall the nicest course I've ever played and one of the most difficult. It was fair, but tough. In the afternoon the greens must have been rolling bout 13 on the stimp. They let us play as a twosome for both of our rounds. While they are a bit pricey, I will probably keep playing one Barefoot course per trip at least until I've tried them all. We played on their Wednesday special for $70 (replay was $60), which was reasonable. Their regular rates of well-over-$100 seems a little steep, but the course is very, very nice. Greens, tees, fairways, traps couldn't have been in better condition.

Brian (Belphre, Ohio)

03/05/2012

Nice facility.

Drew (Hackettstown, N.J.)

03/04/2012

(Loved the) layout and challenge.

Jeff (Hackettstown, N.J.)

03/02/2012

The course goes out of their way to make your experience special.

Bruce (Lincoln, Ill.)

03/01/2012

Too hard for me, there's nothing wrong with the course.

Bill (New Rochelle, N.Y.)

11/15/2011

Great course, excellent condition. Course not crowded at all due to the prices. Would play again if our group can afford it.

John (Bel Air, Md.)

11/08/2011

Overall great time - great greens.

Michael (Buzzards Bay, Mass.)

10/30/2011

Nice course. Difficult for high handicappers.

Jim (Toronto, Ontario)

10/26/2011

Unfortunately, it had rained significantly prior to our round, so the course was a but mushy - cart path only made for a lengthy round.

Art (Methuen, Mass.)

10/21/2011

Great course, a beauty indeed.

Robert (North Easton, Mass.)

10/18/2011

All around great time.

Chuck (Sicklerville, N.J.)

10/09/2011

Excellent course, great greens, fantastic condition, starter was excellent.

Jay

09/26/2011

Beautiful course, in excellent shape. Very pricey, but a fun splurge. Free shoe cleaning was a nice amenity (only $7 + tip to get new spikes). If you want to use the driving range, allow for extra time, as a shuttle ride is needed. Well furnished pro shop and bar and grill.

Wade & Laura (New Cumberland, Penn.)

09/21/2011

We showed up at Fazio and the attendants took our bags and didn't say another word to us until our tee time. Nothing about going to the driving range (since we got there early), just talk about nothing to each other. Then we were called for our tee time. It was like we weren't even there. Others groups were stating the same thing. Course was very nice!

Joe

09/07/2011

Great greens, good layout, pricey.

George

09/07/2011

Great greens, OK layout, pricey.

Phillip (Newark, Ohio)

08/17/2011

Great.

Scupper

08/16/2011

Really nice course; greens were perfect; staff was helpful.

Steve

07/27/2011

Great new greens, super layout, but overpriced.

Jerott (Cedar Hills, Utah)

05/10/2011

The first two holes were pretty beat up. The greens had some sort of disease on the first three holes, after that conditions improved slightly. The course seemed a bit dry, and just wasn't very visually appealing at all. Not what one would expect for a Fazio. The design was great, but seemed it simply just isn't maintained.

Azlan (Grimsby, Ontario)

04/24/2011

Course was nice. Fairways and greens were in good shape.

Timothy (Upton, Mass.)

01/28/2011

We played 1/28/11 and loved the course. Very tough so choose the correct tees for you abilities. We'll go back again.

Sean (Ladson, S.C.)

01/16/2011

Great course and nice greens. Wish people would repair ball marks on greens. Very nice course and is a must-play.

Sean (Ladson, S.C.)

01/16/2011

One of my favorites of the 4 courses up there. Greens were a little soft and had a lot of ball marks that people didn't repair, but other than that it's a great course and was in very good shape even though there was a 2-hour delay for frost.

Mike (Chicago, Ill.)

10/29/2010

Greens are in bad shape. Lots of ball marks, several greens have dead spots. Some of the holes are very close to the expressway (Rt. 31); lots of road noise. Played True Blue 2 days prior, greens were immaculate.

Dannie (Maidstone, Ontario)

10/19/2010

Barefoot Fazio was nice, it too had some rough greens.

Rich (Toms River, N.J.)

09/11/2010

Played in July, was told that the course was in great shape. Found the greens were punched and in questionable condition. Talked to a member of staff and was told that the person that gave this misinfo was new ... Finally talked to the pro who gave us a greens fee for a cart fee price next time out ... The course layout is the best ...

Jack (Drexel Hill, Penn.)

06/15/2010

All was fine.

Eric (West Branch, Mich.)

06/09/2010

Loved all the sand traps. I played my best round on this course.

Stones (Parlin, N.J.)

05/26/2010

Great course, and our prior 5.5-hour round was trimmed to a tidy 4 hours 25 mins., and that's us playing as a fivesome!

Craig (Towson, Md.)

05/01/2010

Very good course. In great shape.

Peter (Land O' Lakes, Fla.)

04/13/2010

Good experience.

Neil (Rougemont, N.C.)

04/01/2010

Outstanding.

Matt (Grand Island, N.Y.)

02/24/2010

We played the Fazio course on 2/14, the day after all the snow melted, and couldn't believe it was not absolutely soaked. There were some wets spots and cart paths only on a couple holes but overall very playable. Great drainage here. This is definitely one of the best courses in the Myrtle Beach area and everything about Barefoot is top-notch!

Fraser (Toronto, Ontario)

12/03/2009

Very nice layout and extremely challenging. Beautiful clubhouse and great service.

Stewart

12/03/2009

Course much better after crossing the street. Opening and finishing holes weaker. Excellent greens.

Alexander (Fredricksburg, Va.)

11/06/2009

It was a good course in all categories. Barefoot Fazio was excellent.

Mike (Lynnfield, Mass.)

09/25/2009

Great course conditions and views, even with the fire a couple months prior to my trip. Greens were a little spotty in some areas.

Dan (Apex, N.C.)

09/03/2009

Very nice layout and typical Fazio (trouble everywhere). Great condition, pro shop tremendous.

Cliff (Union, N.J.)

09/03/2009

Outstanding layout in very good condition.

Kenneth (Westmont, N.J.)

07/20/2009

Conditions were nice. Maintenance taking place all over the course. Bunkers are in play from everywhere. Don't hit it there.

Greg (Enon, Ohio)

07/18/2009

Super course and experience. Your staff at the carts do a great job of juggling three courses.

On Barefoot – Dye:

We played the back tees which probably was a mistake for me. My buddy scored an 82 from back there, so I played it with him. Your starter needs to keep his opinion of who should play back there to himself (Ace). If I want to spend my money, not slow anyone down, and torture myself, that should not be discouraged by anyone on your staff.

On Barefoot – Love:

Good enough to bring me back in future years.

On Barefoot – Norman:

Nice course to end the trip on. Go home with decent scores.

On MB National – King’s North:

My favorite course in Myrtle Beach. Beautifully maintained while providing various shots and decisions.

On Long Bay Club:

Love the course. Played it six times now and will always make it part of my golf trips.

Ed (Middletown, N.J.)

06/07/2009

Outstanding course, again forces one to strategize on shots. Greens were hard to figure out speed-wise. Well kept.

William (Davidson, N.C.)

02/14/2009

A course I've played several times; it has lost nothing. It was a relief not to see the course overrun with houses and condos.

William (Davidson, N.C.)

02/14/2009

A course I've played several times; it has lost nothing. It was a relief not to see the course overrun with houses and condos.

William (Davidson, N.C.)

02/14/2009

A course I've played several times; it has lost nothing. It was a relief not to see the course overrun with houses and condos.

Dennis (Ardmore, Okla.)

02/14/2009

excellent course

Kelly (Albuquerque, N.M.)

02/14/2009

Excellent layout; great pace of play -- we were done in 3:35 minutes; they had just sanded the greens and didn't let us know -- should be an automatic discount! We did a re-play on the Love course and really enjoyed it. Both of these courses are in the top ten in the Myrtle Beach area (that I've played so far}.

Kevin (Schwenksville, Penn.)

02/14/2009

Played Aug. 10, 2008: Barefoot courses always offer excellent conditions, play and service. Starter was a bit unorganized, but accommodating. Overall experience was built around the golfer and all staff were eager to help.

Svetlin

02/03/2009

Great course. Can't wait to play again.

Cindy (Mosinee, Wis.)

12/12/2008

Played July 28, 2008: The Fazio Couse is our favorite among the Barefoot courses. Always in excellent shape and challenging enough without being too difficult.

Photos and Video

Barefoot Resort - Fazio Course Articles

What’s in a name? Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round Designers List Says It All

The results are in, and Myrtle Beach’s Perfect Round project speak to an underlying truth more often than not. Some golf course architects have something most others do not. - Read More

Shake Off the Winter Blues and Save by Booking Golf in January

Most of the country is deep into the chill of winter. What's the best way for snow-bound and ice-weary golfers to shake off the bad weather, winter blues? Think spring — and start planning a spring golf trip to Myrtle Beach, S.C. Book during January and your spring golf rounds in America's Seaside Golf Capital will cost you less. - Read More

Golf Magazine Says 13 of SC’s Best Courses You Can Play Are in Myrtle Beach

When Golf's editors recently released their 2016/2017 “Top 100 Courses You Can Play” list and “Best In State” rankings, they confirmed the Myrtle Beach area has the best collection of golf courses in the country. - Read More

The 5 Best Clubhouse Experiences in Myrtle Beach Golf

The positive vibes from a round on the links don’t have to evaporate as soon as the 18th pin is placed back into the cup. - Read More

Golf Channel’s “Big Break” Coming to Myrtle Beach

Golf Channel announced in July that "Big Break Myrtle Beach," the 22nd season of the network's "Big Break" series, will be hosted on the Grand Strand and feature four renowned Myrtle Beach-area golf courses - including Pawleys Plantation Golf & Country Club and the Dye, Fazio and Love courses at Barefoot Resort & Golf. - Read More